We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Azteca Hotel to your Saves list
Azteca Hotel
Francisco I. Madero 473, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in a small but very clean room with a hard bed and small pillows, I slept fine regardless. The staff was accommodating in allowing me to move when I found my original room at the top of the stairs too noisy. The location was great: very close to buses, restaurants, cafes. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 7 minute walk to the market. I stayed for a week and paid about $20/night during Spring Break, no less!

NB: Nearby there is a launderer (as you leave the hotel turn right and walk a very short distance; it's a small hole in the wall place. They charge by weight and do good work at a low price).

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Of the many budget hotels on Madero Street in Puerto Vallarta, the Azteca is the best deal. One or two of the others may be less basic, but they charge twice as much. The daily rate for two people in April 2013 was 350 pesos. There's hot water all day, you get new towels every morning, and every room now has a TV (if that matters to you).

Room Tip: Madero Street is noisy, so try to get a room in the back and on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel Azteca is one of dozens of budget hotels in Puerto Vallarta. It is a short walking distance from most place in central Puerto Vallarta. The hotel is basic; bed, toilet and shower. The free wifi works very well in the rooms but sporadically on the roof. This is a no frills kind of place for those on a budget. The staff is friendly and the desk manager speaks excellent English. He was very accommodating when our fan did not work. The rooms are cleaned daily and there is no smoking except on the room. Good view of the hills from up there. Deals can be made for longer stays. The pillows are lumpy as they are filled with tufts of wool.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Room 33: the fan doesn't work properly and the whole mechanism wigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very cheap and worth for money hotel Azteca is located in spacious three-storey building with a courtyard, terrace, decorated with palm trees and plants. Location is far from the beach, so it can be inconvenient for tourists whose main purpose is beach vacation. However the area is quite vibrant and colorful, near the historic city center. Nearby you can find all kinds of restaurants and shops. The hotel did not provide breakfast although tea or coffee were available in the morning at the lobby. My room was small, but quite adequate for the price, with a shower, toilet and TV. The reception staff were friendly. I was satisfied with my brief stay at the hotel and would recommend it for budget travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peresvet
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Azteca is a budget hotel situated in Zona Romantica. Location is rather far from the beach, but it was not a problem for me, still in walking distance. City`s downtown, many cafes and restaurants were also easy accessible. I hadn`t booked this hotel in advance, found them and checked in there having already arrived to Puerto Vallarta. As a cheap hotel it provided quite appropriate facilities and comfort. I stayed in a twin room with ensuite bathroom with hot shower. There was TV in a room and sunny terrace on a roof. They didn`t serve breakfast but guests could take some coffee in hotel`s lobby in the morning. Manager and reception staff were very friendly and welcoming to me and to my friend. Considering their inexpensive rates I regard this hotel as a fortunate choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Azteca in Feb 2012. I was travelling alone and looking for the budget hotel.It's a 10 minute walk to the beach ( Los Muertos) in Old Town and located on a quiet street. It was clean,hard beds and the pillows are flat, the bathrooms basic with showers but what more do you need....this is a budget hotel. My room was towards the back of the courtyard so very quiet at nite from the street traffic. The only noise I encountered was from other people on holiday coming home later than me.There is not alot of quiet if this happens as there is not much of a sound buffer between your room window that is into the courtyard, but the hotel staff are so diplomatic in trying to instill respect for your fellow travellers into everyone who stays there and it does not happen often.For a small hotel the staff are friendly and professional and I cannot believe that someone suggested on their review here that they had stuff stolen from their room by a hotel staff member. Small hotels in PV are very family oriented and their success relys on satisfied customers and I cannot imagine them employing someone who would steal from a visitor. I wish the person who suggested this had elaborated on how they reported this to the desk and how the hotel dealt with the incident or the employee. My material stuff that I brought with me to the Azteca was always intact as I came & went from my room.Salute !

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I have been coming to the Azteca Hotel for about 15 years and love the location, the people who work here and meet lots of nice interesting people in the lobby. It is a basic hotel, very clean and many good places to eat in the neighborhood. If you are on a budget this is the place. I consider it my second home as I live here six months a year. It has lots of hot water and wi-fi along with cable tv.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Hotel

Address: Francisco I. Madero 473, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azteca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.