We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time + money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Unique ATV Tours

Unique ATV Tours
429 Basilio Badillo, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 212 Activities in Puerto Vallarta
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are rated by Trip Advisor as one of the top tour companies in Puerto Vallarta. We are a tour company specializing in atv, rhino, dune buggy, and atv/canopy combo tours. We are the only American owned atv company in Vallarta, and feature more tour choices than any company in Vallarta.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Yorkton, Canada
1 review
“Waste of time + money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Being an experienced quad operator we took the 3.5hr tour expecting to quad most of that time but turned out to be maybe a hour of quading and the balance sitting in a couple pubs where you can buy some booze or a pop. The quad I was given was nothing more than a piece of junk with no front brake and in serious need of a wheel alignment. I got a played out trying to steer this piece of garbage. You might just as well grab a taxi as anywhere they took you on the tour a taxi would be just as easily have taken you and you would have been able to see more and pick and choose where and what you want to see. Not be led around like a bunch of sheep to the next watering hole that you wouldn't .recommend to your worst enemy. Anyone that enjoyed this quad adventure in previous reviews could have never rode a quad before in there life. Guess if I ever rode a camel in the dessert it would be an adventure, but not very entertaining. Just like what UNIQUE offers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcosmo, Owner at Unique ATV Tours, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Actually, the 3 1/2 tour is nearly 2 hours of quading. We know that because last year we offered this same tour with no stops, and called it the "EXPRESS" tour, and it took approx 2 hours to complete. And the 2 restaurants we stop at that you said that "you wouldn't recommend to your worst enemy", are actually 2 of the top rated restaurants in Vallarta. The primary restaurant we stop at is Moro Paraiso, and it is always ranked very high on Trip Advisor because it offers great food, and a beautiful riverfront setting up in the Sierra Madre mountains. In 5 years of stopping at this restaurant we have never had one complaint about the restaurant, and hundreds of rave reviews.The 2nd restuarant is a hidden gem located in jungle with a man made river water fed pool for a quick dip, a small river running alonside, and views to die for. We only stop there for a short stop so people can take pictures, get a drink, and take a cool swim in the pool.

Furthermore, you purchased our least expensive tour, and our most popular tour, but we do offer 3 other tours that are almost 100 % quading. One is 4 hours, one is 7 hours, and the last one is 9 hours long. They are all on our web-site, and the site clearly states that these tours are for serious quaders. If you wanted more quading, our company offers that with various choices, but you can't purchase the least expensive tour and expect the same amount of quading that our more expensive tours provide.

We are sorry if the atv you rode that day was not up to par. We have over 30 atv's, keep 3 mechanics on staff, and the atv's are usually 100% sound. Maybe something happened to the atv you rode on the previous tour, and we were not aware of the problem yet.

Last, over 80% of the people who take our tours have ridden atv"s before, and we have every customer fill out an evaluation sheet after they complete our tours. In 5 years we have had over 15,000 evaluations filled out and nearly all of them gave us an "excellent" tour rating. We have also had approx 200 Trip Advisor reviews, and the majority rated the tours as "excellent" or "good".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

You know, I really expected an ADVENTURE when I booked this excursion. Unfortunately we went around somewhat paved roads, and the people guiding us were lackluster. This did not blow me away, it just blew dust in my face. The "waterfall" and "jungle pool" were MAN MADE. I've had better ATV adventures. The base camp was nice. The photos were over priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“Good for family bad for adventure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If your an experienced driver, or are looking for some off road fun! Look somewhere else! We were sup post to ride for 3.5 hours, but had to come back after 2 because we ran out of gas! When we asked to keep going the guide told us we drove the tour fast!???? I paid for 3.5 hours! I also understand tour facilities don't offer the safest equipment, however my bike had front brakes only that worked horrible! The tires are bald, on most of the bikes! When my friends bike transmission blew half way through the tour the tour guide gave me his bike which had front brakes only!!! Make sure you check the bikes before you ride! Tires, brakes, at a minimum! Anyway, there are multiple companies, if you want to see some scenery, I'm sure they would be ok. Just check the safety of your vehicle, because after a visit of there facility, there are some obvious maintenance problems! If your an experienced driver, I would look carefully else ware. It looks like everyone is offering the same tour!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally Extreme!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Amazing trip into the Sierra Madre's. Our guide was the best, he spoke great english, gave us great information about the area. It was raining on our way down the mountain and still found it to be an amazing trip. Winding roads down the mountain side, saw pigs, wild turkeys, loaded down donkey and even a pet dear! Saw the Agave fields and learned about how tequila is made. Final stop at a fun resturant and had great Seafood Soup and real tequila! Must have and must do! Worth every penny. We will do it again, hopefully no rain next time :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
“Excellent tour...lots of hands on ATV time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We did the Extreme 7 hour tour up into the Sierra Madre. We had a nice small group...4 family members and 2 guides. Our guides Deme and Enrique checked to make sure we were all comfortable driving our ATV's and then left us to enjoy ourselves. Their English was perfect. We had one guide ahead of us and one behind us all the way. The scenery along the way was awesome, the lifestyle simple, the weather perfect. It had rained the night before, so the dust was minimal. We covered about 60 miles, and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting a lot of ATVing. Not recommended for people with fear of heights, as there are some very steep drop-offs along the way. The only downside was that some of the ATV's could stand a little more maintenance. Two of the ATV's had very bald tires which caused problems in areas where you needed good traction, and one of them had a very loose steering column, which made control on tight turns tough. The exhaust shield was missing on one ATV which resulted in a tender, burned leg, but overall it was awesome! A little more maintenance on their vehicles would raise this company from 'very good' to 'excellent'. I would highly recommend Unique ATV Tours and will definitely be back to do some of the other tours they offer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unique ATV Tours also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco

Been to Unique ATV Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unique ATV Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.