We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was lacking during restaurant week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Isabel, Madison South

Casa Isabel, Madison South
483 Del Bosque | Col. Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
322-222-1451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 737 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Madison South is part of the Casa Isabel resort. Overlooking Banderas Bay enjoy romantic dinners while watching the sunset. Watch NFL, NHL and NBA on one of our 10 large screen televisions. Daily happy hour specials and use of our infinity pool while at the restaurant.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Food was lacking during restaurant week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is always one of my favorite spots. However, during Restaurant Week in May, the food just wasn't that good. It started with crab cakes (which were tasty). The main entree of Veal Osso Buco with risotto was extremely fatty. My friends could barely eat it without getting lots of fat in every bite. I tried the Mar y Tierra - tenderloin that was ordered medium, had no pink and was tough. The small lobster tail was just ok. The Crème Brulee for dessert was good but overly sweet. I've had much better meals at this restaurant in the past so hopefully was just an off night for the chef. Yes, I could have sent the steak back but my meal would have lagged everyone elses. The best thing about this restaurant is the fabulous view. I took a couple of Mexican friends to dinner here so hopefully they will come back and try it again. Will I go back? Yes, but will definitely order different food choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    116
    71
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great view and food but...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We finally decided to give this place a try during Restaurant week. No one can argue that the view is spectacular. It is a shame that some of the tables are oriented so that only those on one side get to see the view while the others face the hill and/or interior of the restaurant. The food was much better than we'd anticipated. Some have written that the food is bland but we didn't find that to be the case. Our crab cake appetizer was liberally sprinkled with a red spice condiment and the cake was full of crab and perfectly cooked. For our entrees we had the surf and turf, a real bargain on the special menu, and again, it was perfectly cooked and nicely paired with a hibiscus "mole". Deserts of flan and crème brulee were very good. We like the fact that the portions are smaller and nicely presented. The regular menu looks quite good too with reasonable prices.

So you wonder why only rated average? For starters, the place seems to be struggling with its identity. Fine dining food but sort of sports bar environment. Thankfully the TVs were not turned on, but they are looming in the center of the room. Be aware that smoking is permitted and so are dogs. We are not anti-pet but don't enjoy having a small dog roaming under our table and rubbing on our legs while we eat. I came home with a few bites that may have been mosquitoes but who knows. We never felt welcomed by the hostess or other staff. The service was only average. The restaurant was not particularly busy but our server seemed to be rushing us, asking if we were finished when it was obvious by the food on our plates that we were merely taking a break. He never noticed that our water needed to be refilled.

The wine list is fairly limited with 2 reds and 2 whites by the glass. We ordered a bottle of one of those reds and the waiter returned with a higher priced wine claiming they were all out of the both of the other reds. He did not offer to give us the bottle at the lower price. Guess anyone who wanted a glass of wine would be out of luck that night.

So even though we liked the view and the food, we won't be returning to Casa Isabel anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Returned for third year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Returned for third year in a row. Went during Restaurant Week again. Still go eats, service and city/bay views. Only suggestion is that they replace their steak knives. Think they got theirs at Dollar Store.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a find!!! This restaurant was recommended by a frequent visitor to PV and when we asked others about it, we received an "excellent" review or "never heard of it". We saved dining there for our "special dinner" night and absolutely loved it!

The cab ride to the restaurant was exhilarating as we climbed a steep, tight, winding road. Upon arrival we walked up a couple flights of stairs to a stunning dining area overlooking the city and the bay. The view (we were there and 45 minutes before sunset and an hour after) was fantastic! Great service and a diverse and intriguing menu. Could have easily picked 4-5 menu items. Food presentation was wonderful, very artistic. Order the mexican coffee if you want a special treat! And the best part...the meal was VERY REASONABLY PRICED.

I have absolutely no hesitation recommending this restaurant to others. It will be a regular stop on future visits to PV.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent rooms, view, restaurant and service like few other places in Puerto Vallarta) and this city is fabulous with many special places.. The ownership and management and very attentive and ensure your stay is the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Isabel, Madison South also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Isabel, Madison South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Isabel, Madison South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.