We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horses in PVC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho El Charro

Rancho El Charro
Puerto Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 (322) 224-0114
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Attraction Details
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horses in PVC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Horses were nice and very well taken care of. Owner was American and was very nice. Ride was along a river and was scenic. Downside is that it is a little far from where we were staying (Mismaloya) - but all in all it was a fun

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    13
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a discount coupon 3 hour ride. I had expected to ride through the jungle and come out to a water fall. they have now paved most of the road and water fall was less then expected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“I love Confetti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

First time travelling solo to PV and thought it might be nice to ride a horse for the first time! Saw excellent reviews on tripadvisor so I booked directly via the Rancho el charro website and got 10% off. 3 hours ride for $55 is a really good value! Pamela met me and another party of 4 at a meeting point not far from our hotels, and called a van to take us to the ranch. It was my first time riding so I was assigned to a young gentle horse named Confetti. She's beautiful, but also easily distracted by yummy plants along the trail, very cute. I was expecting a stop at the restaurant to rest my sore butt, but unfortunately it was closed. Remember to use a cushion!! I used one but my butt still hurts :P We had a little break at a small waterfall and took some pics. After the tour, we got a free ride back to the hotel. The other party asked Pamela for fish market recommendations and she offered to drop them off there. :-) If I ever go back to PV, I would definitely do it again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Pam picked us up on time but then we had to go to the gas station. Yes its a bumpy ride to her place. Not pams fault. It took about 25 minutes to get the horses ready after we arrived. No breakfast was offered. On the website it says free breakfast. The ride was nice and long and definitely not your typical stateside trail ride by any means. The horses worked hard! The horses are well cared for. The guide was ok. The mointains were pretty. The lunch at the pool was ok. For a 5 hour ride the price is well worth the money! We went in july and it was hot! I reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Day We'll Never Forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booking this was the best thing we did our entire trip! Tomas was also our guide and was super friendly, knowledgable and patient. We saw some beautiful scenery and had a wonderful experience. Went outside of my comfort zone, but was so glad I did. If you're looking to get away from the resort scene for a day and see a little bit of the *real* Mexico, I would highly suggest one of El Charros fabulous trail rides!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho El Charro also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Rancho El Charro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho El Charro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.