We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First class experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for 4 days at the Garza Blanca on a last minute solo trip to Mexico early March and the trip was amazing. My room was the nicest I have ever had on a south/resort styled vacation, the food on site was incredible, and to say the staff was friendly would be a massive understatement. The beach is small and rocky, but that's the geography of the Pacific coast. Paddle boarding, kayaking, and plenty of other activities on site to keep you busy in the day. I wanted more of a relax trip, but met a ton of people to have drinks with by the pool. Town is vey close and an easy/cheap bus ride away. The Fitness centre is top notch, and there is also a really cool rooftop bar. This trip felt like an adult get away. No activities people with megaphones trying to get you to do water aerobics, just friendly, awesome staff who legitimately want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Loved it. Oh and a very special shout out to Gustavo - he was mostly my poolside server and I cannot say enough about how awesome he was!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    200
    77
    30
    25
See reviews for
249
522
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Garza Blanca's accomodations, the beauty of the surroundings, and the excellent customer service made this vacation stay "off the charts." I visited with 7 girlfriends for our 50th birthdays..we loved this resort so much! We had an excellent suite that had a hot tub and hammock on the balcony, as well as a view of mountains and water. We chose the all-inclusive package and had outstanding food everyday. The resort offered fun-packed adventures, like a hiking trip to a waterfall, and a kayaking and snorkeling trip to some beautiful rocks called Los Arcos. The staff was so, so friendly and helpful. Thank you to Marisol, David, Jaime, Fernando, Alberto, Juan, Tito, and Israel, and all the others for pampering us with your hospitality and generosity. We would recommend Garza Blanca without reservation.

Room Tip: We loved the view from Tower 4! Ours was a corner 2 bedroom suite that was roomy, comfortable, and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the low rise building on the oceanfront in a lovely suite. The staff at the pool and beach are very attuned to your needs. The breakfast in the restaurant was superb with
many choices including an omelet station. The room (suite) was beautifully equipped. Our
only criticism was the charge of $10/day for each wi-fi connection(phone, laptop,etc). At a
luxury hotel like this (almost $500/day) this charge felt unfair.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the beach...if a couple try for the Moussai Hotel across the road.Shuttle service to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are surprisingly large, and each comes with a big balcony looking out upon the ocean, complete with hammock. More than standard hotel rooms, I would consider them large suites.

The rooms were the highlight, but pools, dining, and service were all very good as well. Food is above average, with a few items being exceptionally good.

The biggest negative is the exorbitant charging for WiFi access. At the time of this writing, the hotel charged $10 per day per device, and this is not included in the all-inclusive package. We found this charge troublesome and a real annoyance in an otherwise dont-have-to-think-about-it type of environment if you go all-inclusive. I would highly recommend the hotel changing this policy to one that is more fair.

Only other particular downside of our trip was that there were bulldozers present building up the reef along the beach - we were not informed that this was going to take place, nor were we compensated in any way for the inconvenience (which included noise and partial obstruction of view from the pool). That said, the experience was good enough that I didn't seem to mind, so that is probably a good testament to the overall experience at Garza Blanca.

Room Tip: Towers 4 & 5 have beautiful views, but take a walk or quick shuttle ride up the mountain to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We took our four kids on their first trip to Mexico and stayed at Garza Blanca preserve. It was our first time to this property as well and let me tell you all of us including the 3 year old, loved it!
We had a bit of a glitch when we first arrived. We booked 2 rooms. They wanted to put our family of 6 on separate floors. I wasn't happy about that, we had 4 kids with us and I didnt think going up and down the stairs/elevator between the 3rd and 6th floors was something we wanted to do our entire stay. We talked Diana, I guess a manager at the front desk and she assured us she would move us to the same floor after a couple of days. It was Easter weekend and they were booked solid. Well, she did as she promised and had us all on the same floor and next to each other. Super!
We had the deluxe rooms which were more than adequate. The ocean view was lovely and we fell asleep in the hammock on the balcony a few times. That was glorious! The beds were big and comfortable. A pillow menu would have been a nice touch. The bathrooms were nice and clean with l'occitane toiletries. Our rooms were cleaned everyday. Towels changed when we wanted and a turndown service every night. The ladies at house keeping did an amazing job. They ALWAYS greeted us with a smile. I remember Patty was one of them.
The kids/family pool was nice. kids and adults alike were seen having a great time. Even though the hotel was full it didn't seem overly crowded at the pool. On our first morning we were worried we wouldn't get any loungers/umbrellas because we took our time rolling out of bed and having breakfast. But we got to the pool between 10/11 and we still found open spots. They definitely make sure there aren't any towel games going on here. Aldyk...the concierge at the pool was very nice and made sure everyone was comfortable and had everything they needed. He even went around cleaning sunglasses and
offering magazines and books. Nice touch.
The bar/lounge by the pool had some excellent food for lunch and snacks.
We had dinner at Bocados the steak house and it was awesome! My kids had the short ribs and they wanted more. There really wasn't anything on the menu for my toddler though so they offered to make something for him. They made Mac n cheese for him and he gobbled that right up. We had breakfast and dinner at Blanca blue. That too was a lovely experience. Dinner was delicious! I had the pork x4...very good. The food at breakfast wasn't very extensive but it really didn't need to be. There was always toast. An omlete station was available. A selection of traditional Mexican food. Some cereal/yogurt etc.. A little something for everyone.
I cant say enough good things about this establishment but the only negative thing in my opinion is how long it took for room service to deliver food to the room. It took over an hour at one point.
We loved our vacation at Garza Blanca and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Simply remarkable. This destination of chance for a friendship reunion is now a certain destination of choice in the future! The accommodations, genuine-friendly-attentive service, food and beverage quality and overall amenities are seldom surpassed! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed last week in March on an inclusive package booked through Expedia. This is a great property with some great pools, a superb new gym at the top of the main tower with fantastic views. But the main event was the restaurants. Especially the Steak House and the main restaurant off the reception. The food is truly excellent and the inclusive package included a complete a-la-carte dining experience with a negligible number of items that need a premium - you really don't need to select these. Great cocktails in the restaurants all included in the package. Japanese restaurant is new and that's still bedding in we felt. Special mention to the staff - they are really really attentive and professional which we have not always found in Mexico but these folks are great. The property is spread over the hill side but there are frequent trolley buses to take you around but we tended to walk everywhere. We ended up on the ground floor in tower 5 which didn't have the best view so you may wish to ask for a higher floor when you check in if you would like more of a view. Main tower is the newest and would be the ideal place to stay. Although 3 towers on the hill side it still feels intimate. Go visit the infinity pool on the top of the highest tower - really beautiful pool and area and awesome view.

There is a sell on taking an ownership package - but you can refuse this. There are some strong incentives to take this presentation though so we accepted but it was worth it for the 90 minutes and it was interesting to see more the property. Did not buy anything and they were OK with that.

If I have a niggle it was paying for wi-fi per device - although discounted if you take the presentation.

In summary, great property, plenty of facilities, truly attentive staff, fantastic dining and food. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get the new main tower if not at the beach property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico's most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta's most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.