We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I don't normally go to the same place twice, with all the options out there. But this place is fantastic. I would like to check out the turtles! We were lucky to see wild dolphin and a new baby whale. There was lots of activities in the area. We could be as busy as wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    151
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
192
408
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pipe Creek, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an experience. We stayed in the new Torre 5 on the 6th floor and the Junior Suite was amazing! I think I took 12 tub baths in 4 days, just to enjoy the view from the egg-shaped tub.
The service was, as usual in Mexico, kind, considerate and thoughtful. And the room even had a small fridge so you could bring in snacks. In general the restaurants were good, especially for breakfast and brunch. The location, far south, means a lot of taxi rides if you do excursions or shopping or dining in town, but that's just the price to pay for being just a short view from Los Arcos, the beautiful rocks along the coast. We shopped in May (and the weather was fresh and lovely this year) and got a great package deal for the room and airfare.

Room Tip: The towers are above the ocean with great views. The tower Junior Suites are attached to full suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After choosing the Garza for our honeymoon resort a year ago and being so impressed, my husband and I recently returned this April (weather was perfect) to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Of course we anticipated the wonderful amenities, the gourmet food, the stellar drinks, the comfortable rooms and all the other kudos mentioned in various reviews on this site - but what we didn't anticipate was how even more AMAZING the staff has become! It was like coming home and catching up with friends! It was encouraging to see how much of the original staff has been retained – and felt amazing that they remembered US and recognized that it was our wedding anniversary!
If you’re wondering if the Garza is LGBT friendly, the answer is yes (but not in a cheesy, touristy Blue Chairs way). We’ve always been treated with love and respect and ALL of the staff went out of their way to ensure that our wedding anniversary was special! Vanessa at the front desk was wonderful and took great care of us upon arrival (the cucumber mojitos are EVERYTHING – and very refreshing after our travels). Jaime and Ezekiel at the pool bar/restaurant were all wonderful – and Victor was especially helpful and went out of his way each time we saw him. Ramon at the steakhouse was equally great – and the steaks are the best I’ve ever had! He really made sure that our meal was special. What great guys. All the staff are friendly – but not in a “generic” way – they actually stop to chat with you about how your experience has been and what they can do to make it better. They really care that you are having the best time possible while on vacation and you can tell that they truly love their jobs and representing the Garza – which makes all the difference. We also met the new manager who was especially welcoming and went above and beyond to make our anniversary amazing!
The grounds are kept immaculate and housekeeping kept our room clean and romantic at all times with candles, bubble baths and rose petals. It's hard to leave the resort since they make it so comfortable but if you’re looking to get away for a day and don’t want to travel far, there’s the PVR Zoo and Olas Atlas – which is a cute strip of stores and restaurants that lead to the Malecon (boardwalk) if you keep walking. Taking a boat ride to Las Caletas is also a great way to spend the day – the Vallarta Adventures staff are all great. For quiet days in at the resort there’s always the beach and now 2 infinity pools to choose from. With great staff, great food and the natural beauty of the Garza – there’s just no reason to stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - all are designed to have a great ocean view. If you can score a room w/ a j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The goal of our vacation was total relaxation. Garza Blanca exceeded our expectations. As a twenty-something married couple, we could not have asked for a better time. The views were spectacular, the service was incredible, and weather was unbeatable.

Service:
From start to finish, our service was incredible. We were greeted at the door with margaritas and a short informational session with our concierge, where we were educated on services and amenities etc. Both restaurants were fantastic. The food was good, but the service was great. We chose to spend most dinners at Blanca Blue because of our service. Oscar and Alejandro (Alex), and Jassiel were always on top of things. We never sat with an empty glass, and never waited long on food. Jassiel also provided us an excellent education in tequila! Our waiters always knew when to come to the table, and when to let us sit and talk. We adored the view and the service alike.

The Room:
The room was clean and up-to-date. The bed was firm and the sheets were a bit rough, but not bad. Overall, the room was everything I needed in paradise. The hammock on the balcony was perfect for two people, and the closet was great for keeping luggage and clothing out of sight! House keeping was great, and we loved the cookies at turn-down (the little things!).

Location:
About a 35 minute cab ride from the airport, we were just far enough out of the city. We chose to stay parked at the resort for this vacation, so it all came down to the view for us. Needless to say, we were satisfied customers. The infinity pool and ocean view were second to none. That being said, the beach is not long. This was fine for us, but if you are looking for a daily beach jog, you won't be able to do it at this resort.

The only negatives of our entire trip were the cost/quality of our massage, and the "tour" of the new towers. While it is presented as an opportunity to view what is happening at the resort, it ended up being a 2-hour presentation on timeshares, for which we certainly are not in the market.

Overall, however, it seemed to me that the priority of GB was service and integrity. The upkeep of the resort appeared paramount. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This really is a great resort. Probably the nicest place we have ever stayed. The room was fantastic and housekeeping did an
amazing job of keeping the room in great shape. The deck was also amazing. One of the toughest things is deciding to spend time on that deck, the pool, or the beach. The pool really is incredible as are the staff that work it. The beach and sand are great. There are a few rocks but easily negotiable and is great for swimming. Genaro did a great job with the kayaks and paddleboards. He not only helped us out but was incredibly helpful with everyone who wanted to use the toys. We kayaked out to Los arcos. Once again, incredible
We took the bus into town and into some other spots along the coast. Having the bus outside the resort was really easy and convenient.
We went up and spent some time in the upper pool next to the new towers. Some of the best views I have ever seen. Wish we were still there but certainly plan on returning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

PV is a delicious sundae of a town and Graza Blanca is the cherry on top! My two adult daughters and I stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was outfitted in the best of quality and felt fantastically comfortable. We grocery shopped so we could breakfast "at home" which just added to the charm. The staff were all pleasant and most accommodating. I had heard grumblings about the food in the restaurant but we were delighted with It. Priced perfect for the quality and service. It's a small resort and that's just lovely. There was plenty enough beach, pool et c. without ever feeling crowded or imposed upon. I can imagine it suiting couples, families or even single travelers. Comfortably posh and not at all snooty. It is away from the insane bustle of the PV hotel strip but just a short and interesting cab ride into town.; I can't imagine how anyone could be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

You Can't Go Wrong with this hotel!!! It is simply perfection in paradise...

It's superb location in the jungle part of PV and having the best white sandy beach combined with gorgeous suites and excellent food and service makes it a jewel in Puerto Vallarta.

This time we stayed in a new two bedroom panorama suite on the building that is across the bridge from the main lobby. A bit big and pricey for just my husband and me but well worth it and still less expensive than what you would pay for a similar suite in Punta Mita resorts.
I can't say enough on how beautiful our suite was... the sliding windows open from wall to wall turning your huge terrace and your stunning living room into one magnificent open space with a view that melts away your thoughts into one continuos bliss.... There were always on the door chauffeured golf carts available to take you down/up into the next building.

Taking advantage of our full kitchen we visited a supermarket in downtown and had great tequila (Herradura Reposado) and sangrita on our freezer ready for those unforgettable sunsets on our terrace hot tub. The linens on the bed are great quality as well as the towels. The bed is comfy but maybe too soft for some. For me it was perfect. I loved the shower on the master bath because it also worked as a steam room with a separate control.

We had breakfast brought up to our terrace every morning it was delicious and not expensive ($35 for 2). We visited the two pools. The lower next to the beach is my favorite. Both are infinity and beautiful. But if you prefer a more quiet and private spot at the pool visit the new one on the panoramic towers.

We tried the new restaurant Bocados STK because we were too tired to go out into one of the many gourmet restaurants PV has to offer, and boy were we surprised! You walk in to a trendy-casual-beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view (loved the bar area) with many options on the menu but decided to go with the waiter's suggestions "aged Filet Mignon" and "aged New York". We were both "wowed"!!! They were much better than Mortton's, Ruth Chri's or Flemings...It was truly a memorable dining experience. You should definitely have dinner there even if you are not staying at the hotel. Blanca Blue is also a good restaurant comparable with any other gourmet restaurant in PV. It has a nice ambience and view, the food is good and the service is excellent.
The grill at the lower pool has great ceviches and burgers. I recommend you try a cool smoothie called "mono sucio" (pineapple juice, coconut juice, banana, cocoa, rum and kahlua)

Saved the best part for last... "The Service"...If it's not perfection; it's the closest it will ever get.. From the moment you are greeted at the door, to the moment when you personal butler leaves your room for your stay; you ask yourself if they are confusing you with a vip?...But it's just the way they treat all their guests. Kudos to the manager! They are all doing more than a marvelous job in the service department and also in keeping the place spotless and looking like new. Outstanding Service!

Do not hesitate to stay here! It's beautiful, luxurious, romantic, convenient and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico’s most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta’s most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.