We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Jetsetter.com
and 12 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
los angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for four days in late Sept. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool area is stunning visuals. The staff was helpful and the guys out by the pool and beach are very attentive to getting your food and drinks all day. I loved that we could swim in the roped off area of the ocean and it was big enough to enjoy but the rocks had been cleared away. There were a couple of vendors but they stayed away once you said yes or no, and didn't bother you if you had told them no the day before. Since it was slow season the main restaurant was open every other night. I will write a separate review of the STK property, but the breakfasts at BlancaBlue were outstanding. Fantastic food every morning with an array of fresh juices. I did not have a good meal there the one night we ate there for dinner though their cocktails were great and my husband's meal was fine. The food by the pool, Aquazul was good for lunch and my only complaint was they were usually closed at night when we came in from dinner. We ordered room service once which was also good. I was a huge fan of STK so that's where we had two of our dinners when we didn't go off the property.

I highly recommend visiting the zoo if you are going to this property as it's about a 10 cab drive there and there are cabs waiting to take you back. If you have a car it's a fairly easy straight drive there and back.

I didn't try the spa this trip, but we did use the gym.

We had a gorgeous view from our room and got a special on a site where we had an outdoor jacuzzi on our balcony. I loved this hotel, for the grounds, food, pool, beach area, rooms, and views. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    133
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
142
359
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved Garza Blanca so much the first time that we went right back five months later. First dates where June, second dates were early November (end of and beginning of season.) General observations: The first new time share tower is finished and they are opening it on November 22, 2012. There are two more towers under constructions right now. We had no issues with the noise. There is an endless stream of prospective buyers flowing through the hotel at all times. The room was perfect and well tended to. The beach fabulous, the pool area to die for. I noticed that as this second week got busier that things got a little bit more inconsistent. When the restaurant was full(er) the service was not as attentive. We sat inside instead of outside and while we were trying to have dinner they adjusted the lights, build a breakfast buffet for the following day (??) at 7PM. There was a group of local celebrities and this group of six got a lot of attention which took away from the other guests. Also pool chaises are suddenly reserved (which I hate with a passion.) Just small things that they need to pay attention to if they want to continue to be a 5 Star. The food was very good, we love our Chef Kori Sutton who runs Bocca, the upstairs restaurant with the killer view. In the beach restaurant Blance Blue we like the consistency of the dinner but for breakfast they can't get the eggs right. Poached eggs are always stone hard and over-easy floats of your plate. We noticed this on both visits. Try the French Toast instead - fabulous. We have gone twice now all inclusive and have not regretted it. While the pool and beaches are great and obviously time-shares are geared toward families it is more of a romantic getaway for two. Solid performance on all ends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything about this resort went above and beyond our expectations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The views are amazing. The pools and beaches are the best around. Both of the restaurants were 5 star and served amazing food. We especially recommend Boca which not only had great food, but a wonderful view over the ocean from higher up the mountain. We will definitely be back in the future and have recommended Garza Blanca to many friends.

Room Tip: If you are uneasy with heights and open spaces, I recommend taking a room on floor 3 or lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port townsend
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you want to nothing more than to rest and enjoy the sun, luxurious comfort, and gracious service - look no further. You have found your destination. Bring ear-plugs if you are disturbed by the sound of the sea at night. Cyril, Washington State.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Garza Blanca is a beautiful place. A new restaurant on the very top with breathtaking view. BocaDos
Quite a drive from downtown PV but worth the trip.
You can buy a day pass too! The cleanest nicest beach in the area.
The rooms are magnificent.
Time share, full time properties and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After looking for so many different options in Puerto Vallarta to do our wedding; we decided on Garza Blanca: It's a dream location for a destination wedding!! the view is breathtaking, the hotel is beautiful , the service was phenomenal, the staff was so accommodating and friendly, the wedding coordinators did an amazing job, and the food was excellent! We still receive compliments from our guests saying that it was the best wedding ever! If you are planning to have a wedding at the beach, don’t spend more time looking for the perfect place… we definitely recommend you Garza Blanca at Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

While on a cruise last week 10/25/2012, I had the good fortune of stumbling upon a gem. My son, his fiancee and I had rented mopeds in Puerto Vallarta and headed south along the beach road. After about 5 kilometers, I saw a beautiful property right on the ocean. At the gate I asked if we could use the beach for awhile. We were welcomed in and were pleased to find a pristine beach of white sand and beautiful rock formations. The resort was more than happy to allow us to use their facilities- beautiful pool and beach club. We had a great lunch of smoked chicken tacos and ceviche. The mojitos were outstanding.The water was turquoise and perfect. What a nice afternoon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa
Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico’s most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta’s most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.