We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playita

La Playita
K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico
011-52-322-22-15511
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 736 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

La Playita has the BEST view of the Bay of Banderas - tables right above the beach and rocks. Sunset there is amazing! We love the friendly service and the margaritas and the food! One of our favorite restaurants in PV!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for good food and a fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Having just spent a week at the Lindo Mar, our group ate quite a few meals at La Playita. Of particular note are the breakfasts. The Saturday and Sunday brunch buffets are great. But even better are their daily breakfast choices, in particular the pancakes, French toast and omelets. Lunch and dinner are good as well and the view onto the beach, with it's tidal pools and rocks, is amazing. I can't wait to go back next year. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merto Ny
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Extraodinary views on tidal pools and wonderful local ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have been going to La Playita at the Lindo Mar resort for over 10 years! It sits on these beautiful tidal pools and is built into a series of elevated levels around trees growing in the restaurant. The food is simple and very good. I especially recommend the traditional and unbelievably popular Sunday brunch and lunches any day. You will see a mix of locals with families, mansion owners from the Conchas China area, and repeat tourists [like us!] The views are stunning and many times we have seen whales and dolphins go right by!
Jesus the restaurant manager [we met us at a different hotel restaurant he managed years ago] always makes everyone feel welcome and important. The staff is very friendly and some have been there for years & always recognize you!! Make this a definate destination when in PV!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, Good Value, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 4 days next door to the LaPlayita, a happy chance! We became known to the excellent wait staff, as we appeared for most breakfasts, late lunches and a few dinners. With twice daily happy hours, our selections were hurried to us. We skipped the weekend bunch, because of the crowd, and joined the many Mexican families at the semi secluded beach. The view, at Sunset can't be beat. It was here at La Playita that we decided to start our Official Self Guided Tortilla Soup Tour, with an off hand remark from Saul, our waiter. The tortilla soup is good, but lacking something. I make better at home! The Elote soup is devine, creamy and full flavored. We well be returning to the neighborhood again, and will try the weekend buffet at some point.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Fajitas and Margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Such a quaint, clean and welcoming spot. Ask for Roberto, he serves with a smile, skill and humor. The chef will make sure you get what you want and the food is delicious and fresh. The view is so pretty and relaxing, even coming for margaritas is worth it. Plus the margaritas are yummy. We ate here every day of our vacation. Try the breakfast buffet on the weekend. Homemade and fresh tortillas are to die for! Eat here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.