We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Reasonably Priced Family Joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa's

Melissa's
Josefa O. De Dominguez, No. 223-A,, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
322-2230766
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 670 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Dear Custoers and Friends:Melissas's Restaurant is sorry to say we will be closing our doors for the summer season.We will reopen in the Fall.Looking forward to seeing you all again in the Fall,Warm regards,M & J.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonably Priced Family Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Been to this place last year and loved it though we over ordered. The place is family run and Melissa is usually there. Jose her waiter was there the last time and this time he was home with his grandma. Nonetheless we sat down and asked some friends to meet us. Which they did. One a frequenter of every place in PV and his lovely local girlfriend. we started with avocado and shrimp salad followed by tostados and mahi mahi. The red snapper was so fresh but I wanted it veracruse style and the girlfriend Yma wanted it laplacnha - no problem whatever you want. Well that was one of the best pieces of fish Me and the girlfriend had in a long time anywhere. That includes the south of Italy. My friend's girlfriend it turned out is the daughter of a local fosherman and she said that that was very fresh fish. I am not yet leaving PV and I know that there is one more dinner at Melissa's in the cards and another one at Barcelona Tapas yet to come. If you want local cusine and love fish though this Mellisa is your place - take it from this New Yorker. I ain't foolin round.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    232
    53
    22
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We met friends for dinner and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. The seafood was very fresh and I am not usually a seafood person, but it was amazing. The service was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Had dinner with a group of 8. The food was interesting and excellent. The staff was very friendly and focused on all of our needs.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Food We Had in PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about our meal here. The seafood VERY fresh. We had the shrimp that were cooked 3 ways- all amazing. We also had the steak, shrimp and steak fajitas- so so good! We ate everything on our plates. Even their beans were the best I have ever had. Our server was extremely friendly. We finished our meal with a tequilla on the house- I dont love tequilla but this was very good- I could actually sip it like you are supposed to. Great place!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our annual vacation to Puerto Vallarta always includes dinner at Melissa's. Located several blocks from the Malecon, Melissa's is a family run restaurant that has excellent seafood and traditional Mexican fare. Had the whole red snapper with garlic that was grilled to perfection, while my wife had the coconut shrimp. Both were outstanding! Service is very friendly and efficient and prices are very reasonable. Add a couple of cervezas or margaritas and you have a perfect dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Melissa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.