We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and margaritas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeky Monkey

Cheeky Monkey
Diaz Ordaz 556 | Malecon, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
322-222-8938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 696 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $3 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view and margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We probably would never have stopped at this place except that we were told it was $1 margarita day. So who could pass this up? We enjoyed the view sitting above the Malecon where there were no beach vendors. Our waiter, Christobon, was great. Very personable and he shared a lot of his knowledge about PV where he was born and raised. Really enjoyed just relaxing and watching the activities and people on the Malecon. We will go back every time we visit PV!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    191
    58
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandstone
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“COLD beer,Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

cold beer, reasonable prices, good food..
a must every time we arrive in PV,first place we go and relax after the hustle of traveling!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEST BAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

first went to cheeky monkey five years ago and loved its atmosphere the best bar in vallarta am going back next year for 1 or 10 coronas ,the brits are back hasta luego

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I <3 Cheeky Monkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When my husband and I visited Puerto Vallarta earlier this year, this was probably one of our favorite spots when we wanted some good ol' American cheeseburgers. The drinks are CHEAP, it's right on the Malecon strip overlooking the ocean, and the burgers hit the spot.

I really wish I had a Cheeky Monkey t-shirt right now. I would rock that. Sure its touristy, but for the price and what you get, this is definitely a place you must visit when you are in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Margaritas with an excellent view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed a drink and supper while enjoying the view of the pre sunset skies over Banderas Bay. Service was good as well as the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheeky Monkey also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cheeky Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeky Monkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.