We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fanatastic and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Cora Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vallarta Cora Hotel
Save
You added Vallarta Cora Hotel to your Saves list
Pilitas #174 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
edinburgh leith
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fanatastic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

wow just got back from a 17 night stay here it was my first visit to pv and the place is great, the rooms are great cleaned everyday with unlimited hot water i never went without once, the place is clean and the bar fanataic, theres lots of fun to be had down stairs and the staff are brill, almondo one of the waiter boys is a fab lad , looks after u all the time and it is a place to meet good new friends as i did, rodrigo on reception even brought in his adapter for me to borrow as id forgot mine and mario the owner is great ive already rebooked my room for next year. If you are going to pv stay here but book early as its very popular and there are only 12 apartments. Dont know where the bad comments come from about this place but take it from me its FANTASTIC . THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF AND SEE YOU IN JANUARY 2013

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a combination bar-pool-jacuzzi-hotel. There are 12 rooms available on four floor levels, all overlooking either the cruisy front street or the cruisy back courtyard. This place is for men only, or, as all the sheets and towels and their advertising logo states, "Solo para hombres." And that is great. You will find all the Mexican boys here in the afternoons and evenings playing in the pool, jacuzzi and backroom. The rooms are clean, very basic but very well maintained. There is nothing unsafe about this place whatsoever. The owner is a jovial Canadian guy who cares for his customers. If you don't leave this place satisfied, well, there's something wrong with you!

Room Tip: 203, 303, 403 overlook the jacuzzi - excellent sightseeing is all I will say ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is small with only a few rooms (12 units) and in need of some TLC but the service is second to none. Mario the owner is very helpful and the staff at the bar is always ready to serve you cold drinks which are reasonable priced! Housekeeping makes sure the rooms are clean with plenty of towels and amenities.

The Jacuzzi in the back is where most of the action happens with guys of all types (locals and guests) having a good time. There are plenty of dark and quiet corners for a more intimate moment with your partner or the new friend you just met in the Jacuzzi. For the more adventurous, there is dark room where everything can happen (I had so many hands and mouths on me the Sunday I was there!!!).

Room rates are attractive for the low season ($55 USD) and there is a gate which prevents gawkers to get to the room areas unless they are invited. In all, I had fun at this place and will recommend it if you don't mind an older property

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Not sure why some people have a problem with this place or with Mario. I stayed 7 days, never saw a single hustler, in fact Mario doesn't tolerate them on the place and suggested that you shouldn't offer a "friend" more than cab fare home, and only if asked.

The rooms are great, never ran out of hot-water, great pressure, and the air-conditioning worked - I've stayed other places where some or all of those things didn't work.

It is an older property, but it was clean and the staff was wonderful. The bar opens promptly at 3pm, and at the stroke of midnight the music ends and it stays quiet through mid-morning at least. I slept great.

Yes, there is a back-room where anything goes, and there it can get pretty steamy in the hot-tub. In the low-season, particularly on the weekends, the place crawls with locals, most of them at least interesting, quite a few tipping the scale towards downright hot. You don't have to venture back to the darker areas - but if you do, keep an open mind towards being groped.

It's a 5 minute slow stroll to the Blue Chairs, and not more than 10 minutes walking to pretty much any other bar or nightclub you would want to visit. There are plenty of restaurants of all sorts, also within a five to 10 minute stroll.

After staying at a number of different hotels in the area, I think the Cora is the best of them and does not deserve the reputation it seems to have.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

The rooms are ok. But the place is more about the owner enjoying his hustlers, which must give him a discount or other favors. I found the staff to be nice, but when money was concerned, they had no authority to "make things right". Watch your wallet. Keep cash and valuables elsewhere and enter with the understanding that this is more of a bath house than hotel. I changed hotels. I found Torre Malibu to offer a discount that gave me a condo for only $30 a night more than the bath house.

I'd pass if I were you. You can always visit and pay the cover charge for the day. That way to can have your fun, but also relax and enjoy PV. This owner exploits the hustlers and clients, he is not the typical businessman.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FERNANDO VALLEY , CA
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

There is nothing else I can tell you but heed my words, a nightmare if you are not able to conform to the liking of the owners rules. It is ALL about your money, he will get it any way he can, especially if you get so drunk you do not remember...lol.........I saw him take advantage of those who felt safe partying within the confines of the property, they were ripped off by the owner! This place is a shame for the midle aged promised a great time with "the boys" only to be a bank for the hustlers and the owner. Christ, it is too bad people cannot treat their guests with respect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This hotel is strictly for gay men and the "fun" of staying here is the nighttime activities in the bar, pool, and jacuzzi. The hotel itself is fairly basic - 12 units, I think, in a kind of odd architectural arrangement. Try for a room overlooking the jacuzzi and sundeck if you can - that would be rooms 203, 204, 303, 304, 403, and 404. The rooms ending in -1 and -2 overlook a fairly isolated, boring street. The hotel is very clean. The housekeeper, Manuel, does an amazing job of cleaning each day.

The staff is entertaining and, I have to add, very much an example of stunning "eye candy" for the guests and visitors to Cora Vallarta. Locals come to visit the pool and jacuzzi starting around 4pm each day and it can be quite, quite lively once the sun goes down in the evening. If you're in the right place at the right time, you'll be treated to one of the staff members who likes to peel off his clothes and climb the ropes hanging over the back patio. This little fellow is quite the acrobat!

Drinks prices are very reasonable. Room rates are also attractive, even in "high" season which runs roughly from Oct 15 to about Apr 15. Summer rates are amazing - around $55/USD per night, but the trade off, I suppose, is the deadly hot weather and the scorching humidity. (In PVR, you can step out of your hotel room and you will be soaked with sweat within ten minutes, between July 1 and Sept 1.)

If you are going to PVR for all it offers, and don't mind staying in an older property, do consider the Cora Vallarta!

Room Tip: Ask for room 403 or 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vallarta Cora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Cora Hotel

Address: Pilitas #174 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Cora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.