We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, amazing views, shallow pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selva Romantica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Selva Romantica to your Saves list
Selva Romantica
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Francisca Rodriquez 203 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, amazing views, shallow pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here last January with our family and had a wonderful time. The apartment was beautifully furnished with balconies overlooking the sea. The only thing I would have likes was at least one bathtub in the apartment which has two showers, one a sit down. I a place like that I am surprised all units only have showers. Is this the norm in Mexico?
Also the swimming pool, as gorgeous as it is doesn't get deeper than my neck. Is this a new liability issue? I noticed this in Las Vegas as well. Really too bad, but still impressive nevertheless.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I live at Selva Romantica part-time and own a unit here. Just wanted to let everyone know that we have now heated the pool, so the cold pool issue is not a problem any longer! It is a wonderful, quiet oasis convenient to everything and you will not be disappointed. We now have free wi-fi at the pool, too!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is not a hotel but a series of buildings with condos in them. We stayed in the Casa de Dante in the Amazonas building and it was wonderful. The views from this corner, 2 bedroom unit were spectacular as you could see all of the city and Banderas Bay, and the pools, hot tub and gardens are what sold us on renting in this place. And now we here that it has been approved to have the pool heated next year FOR SURE!! It is located up the hill from the El Dorado beach area. A great escape from the hustle and bustle of Old Town and the Beach, peaceful and quiet during the day. At night....well that all depends on which unit you are in as to your location. For us, it was very noisy at night, as we were fairly high up in the building and facing the city. BUT still worth it. We are returning for 3 weeks next year, already booked, so I figured I would let the secret out of one of the most beautiful places to stay in Old Town in my opinion.

Room Tip: Our third week here we moved to a studio on the side facing the hill....very quiet at night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

2012 was our second time at Selva Romantica. We used PVRPV.com to book our suite (Iguanas 6) and they were an excellent property manager.

As in 2011, this condo development did not disappoint on our second visit. This complex has excellent views, a nice infinity pool / sun deck, is secure and private.

UPS:

-New condo complex so all the units are nice (built in last 5 or 6 years)
-Secure - there is a night watchman, locked gates, and steel security doors on many suites
-Many suites are owner-occupied so it is quiet and well cared for
-Excellent grounds keepers - the grounds are always clean and well attended to
-All units should be equipped with air conditioning
-Nice pool - amazing views
-Hot tub is nice at night - good place to watch the stars
-Has a gym (although dumbells only go up to 30 lbs)
-Iguanas 6: has a safe, stereo, flat screen tv, DVD player, water cooler, etc. Very nice suite.


DOWNS:

-3 blocks from the beach - UPHILL

-Pool isn't heated - WAY too cold to swim in - BUT: They had a strata meeting this month and are planning on heating the pool. My guess is that this will be done sometime in 2012.

-Iguanas 6: The pipes in this building have some kind of problem - they squeal sometimes when other tenants use their water. It's only happens occasionally but is loud enough to wake up even the heaviest of sleepers. We brought this to the attention of the property manager so hopfully it will be dealt with.

-Iguanas building is on the north side - there is a chicken koop nearby and so there are roosters at all hours - keep your windows closed and it's not a problem. Iguanas 6 also didn't have a nice view (too low down in the building).

-No elevators - you have to go up several flights of stairs to access some of them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Just returned after 10 days in Paraiso #9. Overall we really liked the location of the property and weren't put off by it being up on the hill with stairs or a climb. The views were as spectacular as reported.

The studio unit was spacious enough for a studio and had a fairly upscale feel. The owner's taste in decor was pleasing and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything one would need to cook/eat in, which we did on several nights.
Having access to laundry facility was a big plus. How nice to return home with clean clothes!
Two issues: There's construction going on on I.L. Vallarta which is a street that's backed up to the rear of the property. We were on the other side, so it wasn't too bad for us, but if we'd been in another building, it would've been an irritant.
Also, the pool, although beautiful and providing a panoramic view of the bay is FREEZZING! I don't mean "cool" or "refreshing" I mean "both eyes in the same socket, OMG am I having a stroke?" freezing. It's my understanding that adding heat to it has been voted down by the owners but continues to make the voting agenda. If it passes we'll be back in a second. Otherwise it's a big consideration for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Lovely suite in a lovely place. Very well kept and easy access to many things--we'll be back, and have recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Beware the "rooster of the perpetual dawn" who can't tell time (to the north). Nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We just completed a one week stay in condo Paraiso 3 in the Selva Romantica complex. This studio condo is around 700 square feet with more square footage and open feel than condo Safari 9, which we rented in 2010. the condo is located on the same level as the pool, hot tub and common areas, which is a major convenience. It is significantly upgraded, with granite counters, modern grey shower tiles, comfortable modern sectional couch and most important of all, the most comfortable memory foam pillow top mattress we've ever encountered in Mexico. Other upscale upgrades are the many reading lamps, high wattage bulbs, air conditioning and 3 ceiling fans. The owner supplies plush towels in the bathroom, and a fully stocked kitchen with sharp knives and everything needed to prepare meals. Kitchen faucet has water purifier but mineral water is also supplied. Windows on two sides make this unit bright and pleasant during the day. The entire complex is build on a hill overlooking the city, with terrific views from the infinity pool and hot tub. But the cost of the view is a vigorous uphill walk with many stairs (depending on the location of your condo) that would be a challenge for anyone with physical limitations. Parking is provided, which helps, but does not eliminate stairs. This unit is a significant upgrade from other studios in the complex, and we will stay here exclusively in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selva Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Romantica

Address: Francisca Rodriquez 203 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Selva Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Romantica Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selva Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.