We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have really enjoyed my stay at this Hostel.
Owner really takes an interest in his business as well as with his guests.
Excellent PR skills. Even participates with guests at times for outings.
Excellent situation. Nice and quiet even if you're a few hundred meters from the main drag.
Lots of hot water.
It was the last Hostel that I've visited in Mexico on my 3 week stay and by far the most enjoyable of them all.
Thanks again Ricardo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
24
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for three weeks in the hotel, very happy with everything. Ricardo is great, and the staff very friendly and efficient. The room was clean, quiet, and as nice as the pictures show, with a good view from the balcony. The bed is firm but comfortable, and my back felt better on it than at home - going to get one like it for the house. And the location is great.

Definitely would stay again, or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the floors above the pool, with separate balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I picked the Vallarta Sun because of reviews on this site. I was not disappointed. It is important to note, however, that there are actually 3 separate places - the suites, the hotel and the hostel. I stayed in the hotel where there was a mix of people staying for a week or two and some staying a month or two. With less than 20 rooms, and a pool in the middle, if you want to mix with the other vacationers it is easy. I met some great folks there. All 3 places are a 3 minute walk to the beach, shopping and lots of restaurants. I definitely would stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really nice and quiet hotel. even tho me and my friends booked a 6 mixed room for 3 they make us an upgrade to the hotel because we were 3. the rooms are very clean and have microwave a coffee machine, a/c and fridge. if more towels are need you just have to ask. we also can access the hostal area in case we want to use the facilities. the guy in the front door was very nice and show us different activities to do in the area. excellent location, 2 blocks away from the beach and 10 min walking to the bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks at the Vallarta Sun Suites to attend the wedding of our son to a local PV girl. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious and was serviced daily. The pool was beautiful and we certainly made good use of it! Free wifi was appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we return we will definitely be contacting Ricardo again. The surrounding area was very safe and we had many terrific meals and margueritas!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in October for $15 USD/$195 MXN per night (there may have been a 1 week rate but I paid day to day). Unlike a previous review, I WASN'T able to pay by credit card, but both pesos and American cash was fine. Also I think the owners were spending more time in their newer hostel in Sayulita so I never saw them. The staff here, however, were FANTASTIC, incredibly helpful and friendly.

The hostel itself is in the Romantic Zone (Old Town) in a safe and convenient (and pride-friendly) location--two blocks from the beach, and less than that to cafes, restaurants, a convenience store, etc. It was very clean, and my 6-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The air circulation could have been better in the bathroom but there's another shower and toilet option that you're also free to use. The beds were comfy with reading lights, and they provide HUGE lockers although in a pretty high traffic area.. at least for my particular room. The A/C came on from 8pm-8am. :)

The common area was really conducive to meeting people, the kitchen spacious and with filtered water, the front door always locked (hooray security!), but the cherry on top was the incredible pool located upstairs (shared with the people at the Vallarta Sun Hotel and Suites). Medium sized, gorgeous, and great lounging area there too..

I'd highly recommend this hostel. Also, save yourself some cash and take the public bus here rather than a taxi--it's only $6.50 MXN and the bus stops only a few blocks away. Both El Centro and Tunel work.

Downside? No free breakfast although some literature says they offer this. Instead they have a deal with a family owned restaurant a few doors down for a $20 MXN breakfast of tea/coffee, fresh fruit and bread with jam. It would've been nice if I could pay by card as well, and a little table in the room would be handy if you get stuck with a (very high) top bunk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Romantic weekend surprise, Vallarta Sun suites and Hotel was a surprise weekend from my husband. We had a wonderful room very clean and only about $45.00 a night. There were great cafes to enjoy when we were not on the beach. With only 15 rooms, this was a nice peaceful place to enjoy each other.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Hotel
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel
Address: Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.