We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This place was terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks at the Vallarta Sun Suites to attend the wedding of our son to a local PV girl. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious and was serviced daily. The pool was beautiful and we certainly made good use of it! Free wifi was appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we return we will definitely be contacting Ricardo again. The surrounding area was very safe and we had many terrific meals and margueritas!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Vallarta Sun as your place to stay during the festivities of the marriage of your son! We appreciate you posting such a lovely review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, and of course our swimming pool. We hope you'll return to Puerto Vallarta and stay with us again. There's so many new great restaurants to try and more delicious margaritas to sip on while watching the sunset! Cheers and best wishes to you and your family!
Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
26
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in October for $15 USD/$195 MXN per night (there may have been a 1 week rate but I paid day to day). Unlike a previous review, I WASN'T able to pay by credit card, but both pesos and American cash was fine. Also I think the owners were spending more time in their newer hostel in Sayulita so I never saw them. The staff here, however, were FANTASTIC, incredibly helpful and friendly.

The hostel itself is in the Romantic Zone (Old Town) in a safe and convenient (and pride-friendly) location--two blocks from the beach, and less than that to cafes, restaurants, a convenience store, etc. It was very clean, and my 6-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The air circulation could have been better in the bathroom but there's another shower and toilet option that you're also free to use. The beds were comfy with reading lights, and they provide HUGE lockers although in a pretty high traffic area.. at least for my particular room. The A/C came on from 8pm-8am. :)

The common area was really conducive to meeting people, the kitchen spacious and with filtered water, the front door always locked (hooray security!), but the cherry on top was the incredible pool located upstairs (shared with the people at the Vallarta Sun Hotel and Suites). Medium sized, gorgeous, and great lounging area there too..

I'd highly recommend this hostel. Also, save yourself some cash and take the public bus here rather than a taxi--it's only $6.50 MXN and the bus stops only a few blocks away. Both El Centro and Tunel work.

Downside? No free breakfast although some literature says they offer this. Instead they have a deal with a family owned restaurant a few doors down for a $20 MXN breakfast of tea/coffee, fresh fruit and bread with jam. It would've been nice if I could pay by card as well, and a little table in the room would be handy if you get stuck with a (very high) top bunk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Romantic weekend surprise, Vallarta Sun suites and Hotel was a surprise weekend from my husband. We had a wonderful room very clean and only about $45.00 a night. There were great cafes to enjoy when we were not on the beach. With only 15 rooms, this was a nice peaceful place to enjoy each other.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esquimalt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Right from the entry into the gated area, I felt good, and felt like a friendly , safe, clean, convenient place, with pool right outside our room! A flight of stairs going down to where the action was, meaning restaurants, shopping, bars, and the beach! A wonderful place to spend time before coming home to Vancouver Island after being away for 2 months. Will make arrangement to stay again! On way home to the rain! Loved it!

Room Tip: Good that it also had a small fridge to keep drinks! Centre room to pool on ground floor, we liked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay good spot close to everything clean and good value for money I would defintly stay there again the staff were very friendly and helpfull room was spacious well priced free Internet with a pc free tequila party had a great time

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Sun Suites in Puerto Vallarta for over 10 years now. It is a fine establishment that is always clean, safe, convenient, and the perfect choice for me. I have found the staff to be excellent in every respect and look forward to seeing them every year like long lost friends. There are over 30 restaurants located within a few block of the Sun Suites. There are other stores and the beach within a block and a half. I think the view from my suite is just perfect for relaxing and enjoying the Mexican neighborhood and atmosphere. I plan to be staying there every December for as long as possible and consider it my "second home." I can't say enough positive things about this fine location and staff!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Ricardo is sooo friendly and helpful. Our stay in this hostel was extremely pleasant. Ricardo also provided excellent travel advice. The place was pretty quiet during our stay and Ricardo made every effort to place people in all of the available dorms so everyone was spread out instead of placing everyone into one room! Location is great and so close to the main street and beach whilst still being super quiet!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Address: Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.