We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We moved around a couple times while spending a few weeks in the area, but that stopped once we discovered Vallarta Sun. The staff couldn't have been better, the room was small but comfortable and the location fantastic. Good kitchen, cold A/C in the room, pool access and wifi. During the end of our stay we got moved to the fancier section, overlooking the ocean, which was much more than we were expecting. No complaints whatsoever and can't say enough about the helpfulness of the owners who helped make our trip through Mexico (especially) DF even better than it would have been.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
25
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Vallarta sun is the perfect location for those who wish to be in the Romantic Zone of Vallarta. It is a quiet, cozy hotel. We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. It is within walking distance of Muertes Beach many restaurants, bank and shopping. The only difficulty might be the steep walk of one block to the entrance. Cabs are always nearby and there is a good sidewalk and stairs to reach the entrance. The staff are helpful and friendly with information on local amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Wa.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have stayed at Vallarta Sun Hotel and also the Suites many times. BEST kept secret in old town Puerto Vallarta. Clean, safe, pool, TV, air conditioned, refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, toaster, WiFi, etc. close to everything. Only 2 blocks from Los Muertos beach, and close to some of the best restaurants in PV. The owners, Ricardo and Kathy are the best. (They also did very well in the Latino Amazing Race) This hotel is much better than the big all inclusive plastic hotels. This is real Mexico friendly experience. We very highly recomend this small hotel.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Top floor has city and a little ocean view. Lower rooms are pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel right in the perfect location (downtown). 2 minutes from the beach. Rooms were fine, clean etc. air con and fans in the rooms.
Nice hang out areas, table tennis, hammock chairs, chill out pillow corner with tv, chairs and tables, kitchen etc.
Owner, racquel, was so friendly and helpful with info etc.
Cheap awesome hostel, would recommend.
Ps if you are in this area I would highly recommend a short side trip (can be a day trip but overnight is better!) to a little cosy beach town called yelapa. No cars just donkeys and walking! Need to get a water taxi there from Vallarta or boca.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Last March my wife and I spent several wonderful days at the Vallarta Sun. The hotel is great: clean rooms, quiet, nice courtyard, pool, and located in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta. No need for a taxi to reach the board walk, great restaurants nearby, and fun shops. But what really makes a stay at the Vallarta Sun such a treat is the manager, Ricardo. He held our hands as we worked through a mini financial crisis (don't even ask!). When we asked inane question, Ricardo answered with a smile, as though he had never been asked a question like that before. We highly recommend this place. And Ricardo was the bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was only needing a place to sleep since I would be out on business all day and didn't want to pay for bells and whistles I wouldn't use. Vallarta Sun was perfect! They do have all the amenities one expects to find in a nice upscale hostel as well as a very nice pool and sun deck. What I liked best: spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, and great location (one block from the beach and many good restaurants within a one block area) Oh yes, and all-night air conditioning which is badly needed in PV this time of year! My only negative is that the bed was too hard (for me) to be perfectly comfortable. Would I go there again, Yes!

Room Tip: I took the large suite on the top (2nd) floor, room 201. It has a partial view of the Bay and was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

A nice and clean hostel, only 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and 4 blocks from the party area. The owners Ricardo and his wife were very friendly and hospitable. I would describe them as delightful, helpful and having knowledge about interesting sights and how to get there. The rooms in the basement have no windows, but if you’ll leave the door open you can have some fresh air while sleeping. The rooms have their own badrooms, which is not common for hostels. There is also a comfortable kitchen and a ping-pong table. I definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Address: Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.