We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique concept with delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Leche

La Leche
Av. Fco. Medina Ascensio Km. 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
(55) 5326 6900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique concept with delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The thing that drew my attention to this restaurant is the unique decor and atmosphere. As it its name, Le Leche (milk), the entire restaurant is decorated in white, every piece of furniture is white and the walls are decorated with milk canisters from floor to ceiling.

The food is more European than Mexican. We were told that the chef source all the ingredients locally and the menu changes everyday. The handwritten menu is presented on blackboards posted throughout the restaurant.That explains why there isn't a menu on the website, which is only in Spanish. Dishes ranges from 150MXN for appetizers to 400MXN for entrees. When we were dining there, we were the only foreigners there and the waiter had to translate each of the menu items for us. This shows that this restaurant is proud to be serving locals in a very touristy town.

Because the menu changes often, I won't go into the specific dishes. But I had the beef carpaccio and pork tenderloin. The carpaccio was presented almost in a tartare fashion with the meat pounded paper thin and drizzled with a trio of sauces (no arugula, not like presented in traditional Tuscany style). There were two pieces of pork tenderloin that were accompanied with both a sweet fig jam and salted sweet potatoes. Some of the dishes might be a bit too salty, but we were also told that the chef does not modify his dishes except for food allergies.

I think Le Leche represents the great culinary potential that is still developing in Puerto Vallarta. Food is on the right track, improvements could be made to the overall service and the wait staff could be a bit friendlier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    76
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The restaurant and staff exceeded out expectations and created a very memorable dining experience. The design of the restaurant is incredible and the food matches. The chef presentations are so creative and delicious. The chile relleno appetizer and duck entre were outstanding. This is a great place for cocktails and appetizers, or for a full dinner, with a great value. Do not hesitate about going to La Leche, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant because it was close to our Hotel - what a great find. First of all we didn't have a reservation and they accommodated us even though it was Mexican Independence Day. The service was great, the waiter took his time to explain all the menu items to us. Everything we had was excellent and the presentation was unique. The sorbet between courses was a nice touch. I just wish I'd left room for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We dined here twice during our stay in PV. The first time we had our dinner here, we were blown away by the food. We had the Seared Tuna, Duck and Mahi-Mahi. Everything was cooked to perfection. What I don't understand is why they had to resort to "antics" like pink risotto or steak being served in a tin can. Just let the food speak for itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow! PVR next GRAND experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Not just good.. It's the next new big thing in PVR!
Rarely you get tricked, La Leche gets you there. No overpromises, no flashy offers, just let us welcome you seems to be their motto. The place have a defiant spirit. Seems to tell: "come if you dare!" No matter is full of empty, we're inspired not. You customer will be shocked in every sense we can and we will join you in your culinary journey without you even notice us!
Bottom line, you can jell you're the best.. This place I urge them not to jell, because they the most intriguing cuisine I tried in years!
Dare to be amazed before they're a chain!!!!
Any dish will be a experience, for me Alfonso Cadena food and specialty his duck, will be a totally new benchmark!!! I'm from Mexico City and I never try a duck better done than this!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Leche also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Leche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Leche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.