We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Hostel

Save Saved
You added Oasis Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis Hostel
Libramiento 222 | Colonia Benito Juarez, Puerto Vallarta 48389, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks earlier this year, Guillermo is such an amazing and fun host, showed us the town in style, really overall, we had an amazing time in Vallarta, and this hostel was our go-to. Unbeatable rates if you buy a week at a time.

Room Tip: The building has amazing ventilation, and always stays very cool, but it lets in the sound from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A friend and I spent 2 nights at Oasis. The location is great and the rooms & bathrooms were very clean. The bathrooms and shower area are coed, so don't be surprised. They are in shower stalls so there is no real bathroom or shower privacy. Also there is no A/C.

The hostel is next to a cathedral which doesn't sound bad; however the bells begin to ring quite early, especially on Sunday. If you want peace and quiet this is not the place for you - this is more of a party hostel, at least when I was there.

The upside of this hostel is location - there are banks, coffee shops, shopping & restaurants just steps away. Also the manager is awesome! He had great suggestions on restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perg, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved this hostel very much. People there are nice and you can have lots of fun partying with them. They also help you with planning trips etc. The hostel is very clean. Price is good. There are some different rooms for watching TV, using the personal computer... I really loved chilling at the terrace. I really enjouyed my stay at oasis!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wow. I have never stayed in a hostel before and if they are all like this one then I may just try it again. I accompanied some students on a university study abroad trip and found myself at Oasis for a few days. Guillermo is wonderful. He cooks well, is a gracious and knowledgeable host and goes above and beyond to ensure your trip is hassle free. Did I mention he is also an awesome tour guide?!?! Love you Oasis AND Guillermo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hostel is much more than just that, it is an institution. I have so much fun while staying here that I plan my trips to Mexico just to come hang out and have a blast. The owner is a fantastic guy who goes way out of his way to ensure that every has a great time, and that no one is left out. Whether you want to volunteer in the community, set up some adventures, or just go party on the Malicon, Oasis is the place that can organize it all for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here with some friends and it felt like a home away from home. Couldn't have asked for a better hostel with nights out organised a family bbq and everything you could need including a roof top awesome for sunbathing! Def reccomend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have visited this hostel 3 times and have found it to be consistently friendly, safe, clean, convenient and a wonderful home away from home. Being on the hill and a 15 minute walk to the beach is a good thing. Puerto Vallarta has constant and VERY LOUD construction that you can get some relief from at Oasis. The rooftop patio is a wonderful place to take a break from the city. Thanks Oasis!

Room Tip: No real choice available, but you won't spend any time in your room anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hostel

Address: Libramiento 222 | Colonia Benito Juarez, Puerto Vallarta 48389, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 Specialty lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Oasis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.