We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gay Friendly Condo complex in PV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boana Torre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boana Torre to your Saves list
Boana Torre
Amapas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Gay Friendly Condo complex in PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I had to wright a review of this place since i have probably stayed there over 20 times ever since it has been under the current management dating about 11 years back.

I have always enjoyed my stay. They have done an excellent job of re-doing most of the condos in this building. The office staff is very friendly and helpful.

This is an excellent place to stay but I will advise you on three things:

1. This is definately a gay friendly establishment. If you are not comfortable being around gays, don't even think of staying here as you will be very disappointed in your choice.

2. If you are there during the low seasons (which is an awesome value) be prepared for work to be done on the empty units during that time. Hammering, sawing, etc. etc. If you are up high, it will not bother you as much, but if you are a pool person this may affect your enjoyment level. They are however courteous not to do it early in the morning or after a set time in the evening (like 5 pm.). This type of "work during the low season" is common in most large condo complexes in Mexico as they are not as croweded as in high season.

3. If you get sick, don't hesitate to seek advise from a Dr. or pharmacists immediately. They know a doctor that can be seen really cheap. Don't let an infection or bug reuin your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My partner and I have been coming to Puerto Vallarta for 4 yrs, and I have to say, I really enjoyed my stay at Torre Malibu. we rented 501 which was newly remodeled. The bathrooms was very spacious and our view of the bay was great. The pool was awesome and kept very clean. Our maid was great and suzanne was great. We will be back next year to torre Malibu! Well woth the money we have paid much more and the condos were not as clean or nice.. Hats Off to Boana Torree Malibu!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

the place is for me the best choice for gay in puerto vallarta
close to the beach and nightlife
nice condos with nice view
very friendly and helpfull staff

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Great rooms. Great pool. Very gay friendly and walk to everything

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This condo property is by no means the Ritz - However it never claims to be. All the condos are owned by different persons and are in different states of repair and at different rates. We satyed in one of the cheapest - room 102. Firstly, let me say the room was dated - yet spotless. Whoever does their cleaning should be complimented. The check-in staff was in a word - lovely. Each day as we passed reception she would greet us by name and have a small chat.
The hotel itself dates from the 60´s / 70´s - and this shows in the mexican design, however it is well maintained and close to the action. There is a long stairwell straight to the gay beach, however, even for a fit 33yo, these can be quite a challenge after an afternoon at the sunset bar. There is however a slightly longer - yet easier way back to the property by avoiding the stairs and following the road.
Look, as mentioned, this place is not glam - however for the price paid, it is extreme value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Located in the Los Muertos area of Puerto Vallarta, this efficiency apartment hotel is a great value. We had 2 newly renovated rooms which were clean and suited us perfectly. The beds are on the hard side, but then that's often the case in budget-priced hotels! the staff are friendly and helpful, the view of the bay is gorgeous and the pool is fabulous!

Although meals are not offered, it is an easy stroll to many, many restaurants and the beach!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My partner and our friend rented one of the two bedroom condos on the 7th floor and loved it. The layout was great (other than the smaller of the two bedrooms not having the sink situated inside the bathroom but rather in the hallway); open plan with lights of windows and light! An extra long balcony allowed us to grab some beer, liquor, wine etc.. and sit out in the evenings enjoying the fun at Blue Chairs (could even see some of the drag shows/strippers etc..). Sometimes we even managed to hit a few bars (got to see PV's first Mardi Gras!)

The service was terrific; the staff friendly and chambermaids did an excellent job. Tip well!

Our condo was tastefully decorated and as in another review we never had to shut our windows and turn on the air conditioning. The gentle breezes kept everything at a really nice temperature.

Hold on everyone. This was the best. Almost every morning between 9am and 10am we, as well as others from the neighbouring condo building would be floored by the shows put on by the mama humpback whale and her young calf breaching (diving) in and our of the water about 200ft off shore. Simply amazing. I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone gay or straight of any age. The pool area is very inviting and friendly. This is not for rough partiers and is in an excellent location. Steps though but you get used to it and a corner store with all that you need just down the street. Close to the beach and bars (what more could you ask for) Take the daytime booze crooze with a certain female French Canadian and you'll have a blast!

Hola Gloria and Suzanne!!! and Diana! see you either January or February of 2011

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boana Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boana Torre

Address: Amapas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Boana Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boana Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.