We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it doesn't get much better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Barracuda

El Barracuda
Paraguay 1290 | colonia 5 de diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
52 322 22 24034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 670 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“it doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been enjoying El Barracuda for the past five years and it never disappoints. Starting with the best margarita in PV, to fresh fish and shrimp done anyway you want it - the staff try to accommodate everyone's wishes. We have taken numerous friends and family over the years and its rare to hear a complaint. And if you aren't a fish fan, their ribs are great! They are open for breakfast and stay open long after the sun sets. Its also a great place to spend the day at the beach, great service and loungers for guests. Just bring your bathing suit and a towel. It use to be the best kept secret in PV but no longer given the line ups for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    169
    76
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

after a few days of us eating the "ok" food at our resort right next door my husband decided to run next door to el barracuda to try some of their food. he ordered himself the breaded mahi mahi and loved it so much he ordered me a meal of grilled mahi mahi to bring up to our room (i had a sick kid so i couldn't leave ) the mahi mahi was sooo fresh and so delicious that over the next three days we ate there almost every meal. their seafood is amazing and so fresh and when you sit down you get a bucket of fresh made tortilla chips and four different sauces to dip in... the prices were VERY affordable. i HIGHLY recommend their dynamite seafood which is a bed of rice covered in shrimp, mahi mahi and octopus with dynamite sauce which is delicious. i love their food... would HIGHLY recommend this place.... as well as the food being great, the drinks being awesome this place is also right on the beach... eat and watch the waves... YUM YUM

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed so much we had to make a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose El Barracuda for our first night in PV. We wanted a "toes in the sand" restaurant, and El Barracuda did not disappoint. We shared the ceviche and molacajete. Both were delicious and the margaritas did not disappoint. Our adult kids joined us for a few days and we returned to El Barracuda for another enjoyable meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

A MUST DO....There are 6 of us traveling together & we were recommended this place by a random person on our shuttle bus so we took a shot let me tell you we were all blown away. We are foodies & this place had probably the best fish I've ever had not to mention all the other great food!! The staff is very friendly & the service was impeccable. Small & unassuming but worth going!! We've been twice already & plan to hit it again before we leave Puerto Vallarta :) !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location, food, service... top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Been here several times now. I've never had a bad experience. Possibly the best dish is the Camarones Molcajete. Enough there to share with whomever you're with for dinner.

The restaurant is a bit off the beaten path near the Malecon and on the beach. You can eat on the beach or inside which is not much different from being on the beach. The staff is great as well.

I really think El Barracuda is worth finding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barracuda also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Barracuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.