We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Barracuda

El Barracuda
Paraguay 1290 | colonia 5 de diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
52 322 22 24034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This unassuming beach front restaurant on the North side past the north end of the Malecon has some of the best seafood in Puerto Vallarta.
The moment you sit you are presented with a fairly large tin bucked filled to the top with crispy tortilla chips and a combination of delicious salsas. I had the shrimp an chorizo tacos, three generously filled corn tortillas that are almost hard to maneuver they are so packed with shrimp.
Great place for a casual lunch watching the waves with your feet on the sand. They also have indoor seating which is an open room overlooking the beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    89
    26
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach Hang Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great kick back type restaurant on the beach. Has two bars, one mainly for drinks and snacks and one in the dining area. Serves up good appetizer type food during the afternoon and very good dinner menu. You can sit on beach tables or in the raised restaurant area overlooking the beach which gets you away from beach vendors. Garlic shrimp dinner served with one side and garlic bread is great. The fish dinner cooked in an aluminum foil tent is very good also. Located on the south, side street next to the Buenaventura Hotel which is located between the Sheraton Resort and the Malecon,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant is right on the beach, tucked away at the north end of Paraguay Street. Elegant and casual at the same time, it is open-air to the bay, with some seating under umbrellas a few steps down right on the beach. We just wanted a quick bite to eat, so I ordered the sword fish tacos and my wife ordered a salad, with a plate of guacamole. We were stuffed when we left!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A find is PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Met a friend who lives in PV and he took us here. For being in the city, you feel as though you are off the beaten path. Quiet with a great beach view. Nice breeze too.
The food is true, honest Mexican fare. Lots of seafood options. The tacos are a must. Great atmosphere and helpful staff. They understand English. Ordering is no big deal.
We left saying, we have to return. Do yourself a favor, have lunch here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We love this place. Great fish taco's. Sitting and watching the ocean is so nice. We always stop here when in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barracuda also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to El Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Barracuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.