We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda San Angel Gourmet

Hacienda San Angel Gourmet
Miramar 336 | Hacienda San Angel, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
322 222 2692
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the most beautiful restaurant I have ever been to. I went with my mother-in-law and her friend. I ordered the filet mingon and it was amazing. The atmosphere is beautiful, and it looks over "the romantic zone", which is a part of town in PV. This is a boutique hotel that Elizabeth Taylor designed. If you get a chance to go, GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will be taking my husband here as a surprise on our honeymoon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    28
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptionally fine establishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have dined here 3 times on our trips to Puerto Vallarta, and there is nothing like it :) It's located on a hillside overlooking the bay in a breathtakingly romantic inn, and the food and service is exemplary. Ask for rail-side seating and watch the sun set over the bay, sip wine & marvel at the gorgeous Hacienda San Angel! The prices are a bit high, so we reserve for special occasions, but it's a 'not to be missed' destination restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

3 couples shared a beautiful dinner rail side at the gorgeous Hacienda San Angel. Every meal was wonderful. A jewel of a restaurant attached to a jewel of a small inn. The ambiance of old Mexico is coupled with an amazing view of the city and bay. The food and service are exemplary. Although the prices are as high or higher than most of the upscale restaurants in Puerto Vallarta, this restaurant is definitely worth it. Careful ordering can keep the bill within reason. It is a not to be missed destination restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An annual must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had been encouraged by a friend to dine at this beautiful restaurant. All of Vallarta's wonderful dining options kept our calendar too full to accommodate her recommendations. Until two years ago. Our only regret is that we waited so long!

HSA is now on our list of must go to restaurants each year during our month stay. The moment you enter the main building you know you have found a treasure. Just walking through the beautifully angelic themed rooms and courtyard to the dining room is magical. The view of the Bandaras Bay from above the Guadelupe church is spectacular, only improved if you experience one of PV's colorful sunsets.

The table linens are lovely, with lace-edged, embroidered napkins. The formally attired servers have offered courteous and prompt attention on our visits. The food is good, not always excellent, but certainly on par with any number of local upscale dining options.

What puts HSA over the top is the early evening presence of the classically trained Mariachi. These musicians add a delightful touch to a dining experience that is already memorable.

The hundreds of candles glowing in the courtyard as you leave is a final memory to hold onto until you return to this lovely place again, on your next visit to beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“First time visit during Restaurant Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A wonderful visit during May's restaurant week. With a set menu of $299 pesos,($25 US) the dinner was excellent. I started with tomatillo soup, a main course of New York steak with Portobello mushrooms and a double chocolate tart for dessert. The view of the city was very nice, service was amazing and we had a large mariachi band to entertain us during dinner. This restaurant is one of the more expensive ones in Vallarta but it was great to try it during a set menu time. I ordered a lemonade and the price was 65 pesos ($5.50 US) for a small glass with no refill. Prices for wine started around $150 pesos per glass. A special place to celebrate a birthday or anniversary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda San Angel Gourmet also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Hacienda San Angel Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda San Angel Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.