We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michel's

Michel's
Calle Olas Altas 507 | Zona Romantica Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
(322) 223 20 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 772 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining in a casual environment featuring classic and contemporary Italian and French favorites such as homemade pastas and risottos. In the heart of the Romantic Zone of Puerto Vallarta. Enjoy the people watching while sipping a glass of wine from our extensive Mexican and International wine list. Great ambiance, wonderful cuisine and superb service. Come visit us! Proud participant in the International Gourmet Festiva
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

You'll hear some complaints that it's a bit pricey, but the homemade pasta and risotto dishes are delicious. The mushroom risotto is especially rich. And, you can't beat the charming location in Old Town. Inside the lighting is romantic and outside there's great people watching to accompany your meal. Ask for Omar, he's an especially good server. . .and try the chocolate dessert.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while because the owner sales fresh made ravioli's in the Puerto Vallarta's farmer's market and they are pretty good! So we decided to go and eat at the restaurant my husband had the special which was Beef stroganoff served over pasta, sounded good but wasn't very tasty and I had the linguini with seafood, I swear I could not taste any flavor it was very bland, the bread was a day old and hard! I know they could probably do better! And I will be willing to try it again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“overpriced and bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

the food is okay, but tends toward flavorless. I've tried it a few times, each time hoping it will be better, and each time being disappointed. There is much better Italian food in Vallarta, for much lower prices

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service from Halim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We are taking full advantage of restaurant week here in PV and last night has been the highlight of it so far. Food and service was excellente.

I started with the shaved celery salad with citrus and grated cheese, Mr.QT had a simple mixed veg salad.....both sound boring right?? Salads were flavourful and the dressings (mine was citrus and Mr.QT was a balsamic honey) had us wiping our bowls out with the good chewy italian bread offered.
My main course was the spinach ricotta stuffed ravalio's with a tomato sauce......totally out of this world.....I also wiped my plate down with more of that wonderful bread. YUM
Mr.Qt has the chicken breast cutlet with the caper lemon sauce on top of a lentil confit and Veg. He loved the chicken and sauce.....was not crazy about the confit....said it was good just not what he was craving.

For dessert I had the chocolate cake with homemade vanilla ice cream (very rich and yummy) my SO had the Panna Cotta which was over the top tasty.

We each had a carafe of a nice Sauvagon Blanc (160 pesos each so a little pricy) our set menus were 299 pesos each. By far our most expensive meal of the trip but also the best. We could not have had that wonderful meal in Victoria at that price point.

Our server Halim deserves a very special mention as he was an excellent server, always there when we needed him but with out the hovering that some tend to do.

We will be back here again

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian in 'Old Town'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

good menu, great assortment, great presentation, excellent food

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michel's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Michel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.