We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marisco's Cuetos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cueto's

Cueto's
Brasilia 469 Centro, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
(322) 223-0363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kasson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Marisco's Cuetos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Best fresh seafood in town (along with Victor's) It is located a couple blocks behind the soccer field towards downtown. It is authentic mexican decor and I ordered fresh lobster & my husband had fresh shrimp. They were awesome & reasonably priced. A "must" visit restaurant when you are in Puerto Vallarta.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We love Cueto's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been going to Cuetos #1 (there is another one but we don't like its location) for about 20 years and have known Leon & his family all that time. This is a little "out-of-the-way" place in a real Mexican neighborhood with great seafood & fantastic service. You won't be disappointed in anything you order - they have really great coconut ice cream also. Enjoy… try the Jaiva tacos (crab tacos)! We love the 2 lb seabass amazing. Perfectly cooked, moist, and flavorful. Not "fishy" at all. Before our meal came, we were given the usual chips and salsa. Also some saltines. We were served some slices of toasted garlic/butter bread with The fish came to 300 pesos for two (about $24 US at the current exchange rate). Beers were 25 pesos (about $2 US) each. Nice and cold.

Service is friendly and attentive. The menu is straight forward, with fish and shellfish prepared in different styles. While we were looking at the menu, our server brought a platter with raw shrimp, lobster, clams, crayfish, sea bass, and snapper. All looked very fresh and I wouldn't have hesitated in ordering any one of them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sullen waiter + high drink prices = Disappointing evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We dined at Cueto's tonight (1/27/13). The restaurant was full and the noise level at this restaurant can't be tolerated. My husband and I could not even carry on a conversation at a very small table. The noise from the crowd bounces off the walls and made our evening very unpleasant. This is the first meal we have had in PV in over two weeks where we were rushing to get the check and leave the restaurant. The real kicker came when we received our bill. We were charged $200 for two pina colada's. This is the highest price we've had on our trip. We plan to return tomorrow to verify our bill since none of the drink prices are listed on their menu. The food was good but overshadowed by the noise and our waiters sullen attitude the entire meal. He never once came back to check on us, and never asked how we enjoyed our food. BUYER BEWARE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were here last night, 1/15/13. Exactly what we were hoping for, incredibly fresh and well-prepared seafood in a casual and non-touristy atmosphere. Cueto's is off the beaten path and well worth finding. Looks like several reviewers walked there from the Sheraton.

My husband and I shared a 2 kg sea bass, broiled with butter and garlic. Each plate came with a small portion of steamed vegetables and rice. The fish was amazing. Perfectly cooked, moist, and flavorful. Not "fishy" at all. Before our meal came, we were given the usual chips and salsa. Also some saltines. We were served some slices of toasted garlic/butter bread when our fish came. We were so full that we didn't make it to dessert and declined the house offer of a shot of tequila. The fish came to 300 pesos for two (about $24 US at the current exchange rate). Beers were 25 pesos (about $2 US) each. Nice and cold.

Service is friendly and attentive. The menu is straight forward, with fish and shellfish prepared in different styles. While we were looking at the menu, our server brought a platter with raw shrimp, lobster, clams, crayfish, sea bass, and snapper. All looked very fresh and I wouldn't have hesitated in ordering any one of them.

One of the few places we've been in PV where the background music was truly in the background. We enjoyed our conversation as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've been eating at Cueto's for almost 20years and the food and service never disappoint us. Tonight my red snapper in garlic chili sauce was a simple but excellent dish, as was my wife's seabass in curry. Prices here are reasonable; staff are always friendly. It's a good example of PV at its best!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cueto's also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cueto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cueto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.