We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fish crusted with almonds....to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Marina Sol Local 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 221 0003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 737 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The fish crusted with almonds....to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After staying at the Grand Luxxe and thinking that Puerta Vallarta didn't know how to prepare fish (their fish was all very fishy except for their ceviches). I was SO happy to order the snapper at the Marina location. It was probably one of the best fish dishes I have ever had (and I am a foodie).

This place restored my faith and we were SO happy to travel 30 minutes for dinner. It is definitely a must restaurant to visit and I preferred the original restaurant in the Marina over the one in Nueva Vallarta (solely because the NV did not have that same fish dish i loved so dearly).

The staff at both places were truly incredible too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    71
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“An Italian Must Have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Service. Large well flavored portions. Would definitely recommend this little gem to everyone coming to PV. We had the calamari with their "tarter sauce", which was more like a spicy aioli then I had the linguine with small clams and shrimp in a cream sauce (Linguine Vongole & Gamberi) and my wife had the spaghetti with fish, mussels, scallops, and shrimp in a cream sauce (Spaghetti al cartoccio). Food plus 3 bottled waters and bottle of wine ($380 MXN). Total bill $1100 MXN. The staffs attention to detail and exceptional service made this a must have every trip to PV.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Dined here yesterday. A bit expensive but good. The ministrone soup and cesar salad were top notch($90 & $95p). Fish alla toscana was delicious and the wife's eggplant parmigiano was also very good($260 & $195p). Nice views of the marina too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great food, excellent prices in May on their "specials menu". Love the location, great service and prices were wonderful for their off season specials. A little pricey at high season, but worth the splurge

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Got a recommendation from our cabbie and it paid off! Great food! Great service! Great atmosphere! Will definitely be back next year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.