We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap booze meets good eats on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Monkey

Sea Monkey
Aquiles Serdan 174, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Epoca)
322-222-2174
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 737 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Cheap booze meets good eats on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We gave the Sea Monkey a pass last time we were in PVR but went this time upon a recommendation …and were glad we did. The impressions from the boardwalk don't match the food and service experience.

The dollar-Margaritias are quite good, I actually preferred them over the ones made with the premium tequila at four times the price. Maybe the raunchy tequila makes the lime shine. The guacamole and service were very good so we’ll be giving Sea Monkey another go while in town.

If you want fast, good and cheap you have found your spot.

Only downside of the cheap drinks is the energetic atmosphere – the obnoxious, boozy people. We will make a point of going earlier when they’re just obnoxious:-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    160
    62
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“$1 Beer and margaritas on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Need I say more? Wind down from walking the Market with a stop here. Good attentive staff, lots of regulars

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills,Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Saved Me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was so hot and humid in Puerto and walking the Malecon we spotted a sign right by the beach beers $1.00 and wow they give you a ice cold hand towel as soon as you sit down and yes ice cold beer at $1.00 and great nachos but the best thing is the servive and their smiling faces. They actually want your business. fun place and great view.Will be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuque, iowa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great prices on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Same owners as Cheeky Monkey and same $1 drink prices. We've had appetizers here a few times and they were good. Service is good, nice place to view the ocean and people watch. I also like that you sit back a little so the vendors aren't constantlly on you.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salsa, Chips and Guac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the restaurant closest to our condo. Great for the $1 coronas and margheritas. Also had the chips and salsa with a side of guacamole a few times and it was really great. The staff is also very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Monkey also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Sea Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Monkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.