We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser Maximilian

Kaiser Maximilian
Olas Altas 380 B, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 0760
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kaiser Maximilian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Basilio Badillo and Manuel M. Dieguez
Description: If you enjoy European sidewalk cafés and fine continental cuisine, this award-winning eatery evoking Old Vienna at its heyday is sure to charm you. A longtime Vallarta favorite, Austrian owner Andreas Rupprechter named the place in honor of fellow countryman, Mexico’s former emperor. And Maximilian himself would have loved dining here, perhaps, choosing hearty comfort food like Wienerschnitzel with potatoes and Austrian salad. Or delving into gourmet renditions of contemporary European fare, like Duo of duck breast and duck confit with Spätzle, mushrooms and sugar snap peas. And while the menu is constantly being tweaked, it’s nice knowing that some things don’t change, and for a dozen of years we’ve been able to count on enjoying our favorite plates here. So whether dining al fresco with unparalleled people watching, or in an intimate, air-conditioned, Old World milieu, when a fabulous meal or just a perfect pastry and a special coffee is what you crave, this is the place to be.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great Service - you feel like you are in Europe. Fresh squeezed OJ and great coffee. I love the pastries - I had an omlette - Great! My husband had the ranchero eggs. He said they are done differently than elsewhere but the end outcome is they are really good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    39
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargersville, In
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great old restaurant and a great dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We are repeat diners over several years at this fine restautant. We always sit inside as we prefer to avoid the fumes and noise of dining outside. A more than ample menu surely will provide you with a delicous choice at a reasonable price. The waiter staff is very courteous and efficient in the prompt delivery of your meal. Please save room for the decadent desserts served here...all are great! Overall, a very enjoyable evening of dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, IN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A REGULAR STOP WHEN WE ARE IN PV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been visiting Puerto Vallarta regularly since 1980. This is always one of our stops for several reasons: the service is good, the ambiance is pleasant and the food is wonderful . After several days of eating the wonderful seafood and steaks in PV the Austrian cusine here is a pleasant change of pace. This year was no exception. When we arrived the head waiter asked if we had dined with them before and we said, "yes, many times". Not long after we were seated the owner, Andreas, stopped by to say hello and welcome and we ended up talking for about 10 minutes. We felt very welcome and at home to say the least!

We always choose to dine inside rather than on the sidewalk. The people watching is slightly better outside, but we prefer to be away from the noise, the exhaust smells and the hustle and bustle. This is a fine restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Puerto Vallarta's Best Restaurant, hands down!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recently returned from two weeks in Puerto Vallarta and had the opportunity to visit this fabulous restaurant two times. Andreas, the owner, runs a first class establishment. My husband and I began dining here a few years ago after many trips to Vallarta and each time have been most impressed with every aspect of the restaurant. The food is gourmet, and although the menu has a huge selection of tantalizing choices, I always end up having my favorite roasted duck. The service is beyond anything we have experienced at home in the finest restaurants, with Luis, our waiter, remembering details...from which table we sat at last year, to delivering our drinks (without us even having to order them) when we are just seated. Every one of the staff, including Andreas, makes you feel at home and anxious for your next visit. In addition to a visit here early in our stays, we now have a tradition of having our last dinner out before returning home at Kaiser Maximilian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We're sent there by a good costumer. Not good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Although a good friend sent us there, and we have always wondered about the place, we went and had the pork crop and the ram schnitzel. The pork chop was perfect. The veal was very dry and, of course, tough.

We told the waiter we wanted to pass on regards to the owner from a regular customer, but it took two requests before the owner showed up.

Not pleased with the meal nor the alleged great parsonel service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiser Maximilian also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Kaiser Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiser Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.