We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch -great atmosphere; excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fredys Tucan

Fredys Tucan
Basillo Badillo 245 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata Codigo, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 223 0778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Mexican, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A casual place with typical Vallarta Mexican and international food, good selection of coffee and bakery, strategically located in the downtown area in the romance area.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch -great atmosphere; excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Bright cheery atmosphere; attentive and friendly staff and very tasty food. I had the fish taco's and I would have them again. The batter was light and very crispy, large serving and reasonably priced. The juice is freshly squeezed, I had the grapefruit juice which was served in a marguerite iglass. My friend had the BLT and really enjoyed it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    224
    56
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We decided to try Fredy's Tucan because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor, as well as people in PVR telling us how good the food is. We were however looking for Mexican breakfast, but it seemed that people were only commenting on the North American breakfast options. I checked their website, and they do have a Mexican Specialities section so we went.

We were definitely not disappointed. Service is impeccable, my husband had the Yelapa eggs (motulenos eggs), and they were fantastic. I had the Monteray Onelet (chorizo and ranchero sauce). Delicious.

The prices are very afforable. We'll be back the next time we are Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tuk tuk Freddys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

mexican breakfast selections, at a modest price! service staff is very accommodating, friendly, and willing to help without being pushy. vallarta locals are great when it comes to taking care of tourists without being aggressive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Old Town's best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Excellent food, from the bread and rolls to the entrees, everything I had over the course of a week was delicious, with generous servings, and best of all, impeccable service! Friendly, attentive, fast, coffee cup never empty, I will definitely return!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I was disappointed since Fredy's Tucan is rated so high. The breakfast was typical American quality of breakfast (average) atmosphere was good however when Log Cabin syrup is served with the crepes this is what one expects at an American chain breakfast joint. There so many better breakfast options like La Hacenda that serve Mexican breakfasts that you can do better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredys Tucan also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Fredys Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fredys Tucan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.