We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Olas Altas 366 | Col. Emiliano Zapata (Zona Romantica), Puerto Vallarta 48380 , Mexico
+52 322 223 1840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 772 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Blue Shrimp Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta is the best seafood restaurant in the area, long time established. Situated off Olas Altas Beach, on the ocean with spectacular daily view of the sunset, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant is a fun atmosphere with occasional live entertainment, under a large palapa roof and ‘boat-deck’ feel. Open for lunch and dinner, The Blue Shrimp Restaurant serves mouth-watering seafood and shrimp concoctions that you cannot find anywhere else! The restaurant is a great place to bring the family, celebrate a birthday, romantic dinner, or special event. Come sit down with us, right at the end of the Malecon and feel the breeze of the Banderas Bay, it’s Shrimply The Best!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The food was very good but the view was spectacular! The service was great too but it's a little on the pricey side. Will have to wait for a special occasion to go again. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    209
    90
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The Blue Shrimp is a culinary delight with an amazing view of the ocean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Shrimp restaurant is what Puerto Vallarta is all about! The atmosphere is trendy and relaxed with awesome views of the ocean, and an incredible menu. Situated right on the beach, The Blue Shrimp has an excellent menu to choose from with more than reasonable prices....particularly considering the large portion sizes!!! Be hungry when you go! I had the shrimp tacos. The waiter was the best. My drink was never empty, my order taken quickly and then food served hot and fast. The shrimp tacos were mouth watering and served with two different sauces (I wanted to bottle the sauces and take them home they were so good!). The food was SO good I couldn't stop eating even though I was full....and I ordered from the appetizer portion of the menu. The owner has hit the bullseye with this restaurant!!!! The food is simply fabulous...I can't say enough about how good it was. The staff was efficient, friendly, and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The atmosphere was incredible. the overall decor and design of the restaurant was fabulous! The Blue Shrimp is a definite GO TO on my lists of restaurants in Puerto Vallarta. I will take friends and family there when I return to Puerto Vallarta on my next vacation. I plan to tell everyone about this amazing diamond of a restaurant when I get home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Sunsets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Know for their tasty shrimp, my husband and I couldn't resist a visit to Playa Muertos to sit beach side,watching the world of Puerto Vallarta pass us by as we dined by the setting sun. Hubby ordered shrimp, [you order by the kilo, 1/2, 1/4, etc.], and his chosen preparation was battered and fried. I'm partial to red snapper, [huachinango], in garlic sauce. Both entrees were served with rice and sauteed vegi's, and came with the salad bar. The salad bar was small, but the selections very fresh. The shrimp were excellent!!! The huachinango...was not. Well, the fish I was served was great, it just wasn't snapper! After years spent in Vallarta, I know shark when I taste it. I love the popular fish-on-a-stick, [usually thresher shark], served along the beaches, and I was definitely served shark. The waiter assured me it was snapper, a flaky white fish, but I didn't put up much of a fight since I actually loved the shark I was served. It's unfortunate that the restaurant would try to pull a switch, but they did. Because of this, I can't in good conscious give the restaurant more than an average rating. It appears than integrity isn't high on the chef's menu. Would we return? Yes, but only for shrimp. Shrimp look like shrimp!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Waukomis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Shrimp-ly Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Once merely a small fishing village famed for tacos and the making of "The Night of the Iguana", Puerto Vallarta has grown up! It's now a busy tourist destination, a gastronomic delight enticing foodies world-wide.

My husband and I have been traveling to Puerto Vallarta for over 20 years, and make it a point on each of our travels to seek out new additions to the thriving restaurant scene. One of our absolute favorite restaurants is The Blue Shrimp (and its partner, Si Senor).

Located in Olas Altas on Los Muertos Beach under a huge palapa, The Blue Shrimp interior is airy and open to the gentle P.V. breezes. Owner Martin is an awesome restaurateur; he exudes P.V. charm, and graciously welcomes his guests.

The seafood is amazing. This is up-scale gourmet Mexican, made in-house from scratch.

Even if you're just out and about, stop in for an appetizer and one of their famous mango margaritas -- the tequila is added table-side, and is, of course, topped with a colorful umbrella! Can't get much more tropical than that!

One of our favorite appetizers is the mouth-watering Calamari Arriero. Not your typical fried calamari, the Arriero consists of calamari strips, sautéed in butter, with fresh garlic, baby potatoes, and guajillo chiles. Portioned enough for sharing.

Although guacamole is available almost everywhere in Puerto Vallarta, Blue Shrimp Guacamole is made table-side, and served with an array of tri-colored corn tortilla chips.

Caesar salad is of course a classic, originating in Tijuana by the Italian immigrant, Caesar Cardini.
Blue Shrimp's version is crisp chilled romaine, with a tasty dressing, fresh grated parmesan, and served with a cheese crisp, and garlic bread topped with an anchovy.

The entree fare is of course .... seafood -- headed up by shrimp ordered by size and weight, and offered up with over a dozen options. Followed closely by red snapper, "como te gusta", or, as you like it. And if for some reason seafood is not your dining choice, Blue Shrimp offers steaks, pasta, and several traditional Mexican favorites.

Open daily for lunch and dinner, you can sit inside, or on the beach with your toes in the sand.
Dine by Day, in view of the vivid colors and beach-bustle of the Bay of Banderas, or Dine by Evening, and take in one of P.V.'s romantic and magnificent sunsets. The Blue Shrimp won't disappoint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
1,113 reviews 1,113 reviews
707 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
548 helpful votes 548 helpful votes
“Love this beautiful restaraunt right on the beach comfortable relaxed and makes one feel on top of the heap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Where else but the places on the beach like this can you sit on the beach in comfortable chairs for just the price of a couple drinks for all day?
Help service high quality and helpful with those big beautiful smiles.
Oh not of that. Do you need your change sir or señor, depending on who the help is?
Hate baggers for a tip! It is trashy!
If a waiter is that desperate they should go to the many churches who give to the under resourced because they cannot support themselves. Tip appropriately for good service, but to have service people beg for tips is ghetto.
Refreshing that does not happen here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Shrimp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.