We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Panorama

El Panorama
Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez y Miramar | 3 blocks from the Malecon boardwalk., Puerto Vallarta 11111, Mexico
322 222 1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 696 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Josefa Ortiz de Dominques & Matamoros
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Have been to this old treasure many many times for dinner.
Don't let the drive or walk up the hill scare you off. This restaurant is located up the hill at the top of the La Siesta Hotel. It has been the same for years and continues to operate like an old fine dining establishment.
They still have table side prep service which isn't really "IN" anymore but it works here.
Make reservations just in case it's busy. The windows facing the bay open up and you can feel the breeze and watch amazing sunsets while you dine. The servers are very friendly and never rush you.
Now for the food. I've been here many times and have enjoyed so many dishes. The catch of the day is always fresh. I have had Dorado, another time Shrimps Cooper (they are like scampi) all was delicious. On other visits we have tried the duck, chicken Kiev, stroganoff, you get the idea... It was all good.
Really loved the palate cleanser they served after the salad.
Take your camera and enjoy yourselves. The hotel staff can call a cab for you to ride back down the hill so no worries about returning to your hotel. 2 thumbs up!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    28
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sunset and a wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For a romantic evening viewing a sunset and having a fantastic dinner make sure to go to El Panorama Resturant in Puerto Vallarta. The view from above the city, tucked in the mountainside, at night is awesome! The staff is very attentive and friendly. The food was absolutely delicious! Two entrees, four cocktails and an after dinner dessert drink cost $58.00 American dollars. It was the best meal value we had while visiting Puerto Vallarta. The one staff member said he has been working in this resturant for 40 years and is an absoult delight to converse with. They also had an organist playing during dinner to add to the atmsophere. You will not be disappointed with the food, service or view!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Class, Quality, Ambiance, Romance, Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is as good as any place we have been. The decor is beautiful. The view is the best in the area. The greetings from staff leave you feeling at home. A menu that has enough variety to satisfy just about anyone, but not overwhelming in choices. Good wine list. Generous servings. Well prepared and wonderful presentations. Loved the Totillia Soup and Shrimp Bisque. Servers are pros! Sexxxy Coffee was fun! Flambé dishes and desserts are spectacular. Gotta go topside for sunset photos. Go if you are in the area! Can't wait to go back. And we had wonderful friends who are returnees every time they visit!

Birt and Gina

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been vacationing in Puerto Vallarta since 1995 and always go to El Panorama at least once during our time there. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking as the restaurant sits atop the Hotel Siesta on the mountainside overlooking the city of Puerto Vallarta. The food and service are always excellent and the waiters flambe a special coffee at the end of the meal, dimming the lights while doing so. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our dinner in March 2013 was great. The shrimp "El Panorama" are terrific. We also had the rib eye steak which was very tasty. They have chicken nuggets and spaghetti for the kids too.

We love the ambiance of Panorama. The old wood complimented by large open windows is truly elegant. This is our 7th trip to PVR and Panorama is still at the top of our list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Panorama also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.