We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club

Save Saved
You added Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo 709 Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Coos Bay, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable and decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is geared more toward nationals than international tourists. Thus, the staff didn't speak any English. The amenities are not necessarily what you might be used to in the US--our first day we didn't have any shampoo/soap in the bathroom, and our second day we didn't get any towels (this was remedied upon our request). The water is not potable. As others have said, the beds were a bit hard. The internet is not free.

That said, it was a decent and very affordable place to stay in Mazatlán. We felt safe. The kids loved the pool. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

stayed for a week, the place was very clean and comfortable. the pool was great. The hotel is centrally located which was great for getting around. Most of all the tennis was great. the tennis pro gave lessons very inexpensive and he was very knowledgable. I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

i would not recommend this hotel at all, i was in room #302 on the first day i asked to change the room because on the back off the hotel (just on the other side of the room were the aircondtioner) for the hotel but they never transfer me to a nother room. Than i had a nice mold growing in the bathroom. There is no internet at all, there is no restaurante in the hotel,the hotel is not at the beach, the pool in the hotel is allways full off native kids and grandmas from the area not from the hotel ( the best thing was the kids where to lasy to go to the bathroom so they just use the shower ) and towels you get from time to time not every day. i don`t know for what they get the 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Margaritas is right in the Golden Zone of Mazatlan. We had easy access to great restaurants, small shops, and the beach across the street. I felt secure throughout my stay, and enjoyed staying in a smaller hotel, which local people recomended.

The pool is quite small, but well kept. We would often just go across the street and use acess to some of the other pools avaliable or jump in the amazing ocean. The whole hotel is very clean, and the maids are friendly and efficient.

The rooms are cool and provide relief from the heat. We found that rooms on the third floor are typically more roomy, than those on the second floor. If you need wheel chair access this might not be the best, as there are only stairs avaliable. Insteed it would be best to stay on the ground level.

We were told that the plumbing is not the same as we are used to in the US or Canada, so to ensure no problems it is best not to flush any paper products down the toliet (incld. toliet paper). Instead put paper in the waste basket, which is emplied daily. We had problems with one of our showers which would spray water all over the bathroom if the pressure was at max. But it wasn't a problem once we figured that out. Don't drink the water from the tap! Instead bottled water is provided outside your room on each floor in a water cooler (remember to bring a water bottle to fill up!) But fill up before the evening, because on busy days the water bottles usually get pretty empty by the end of the day. Bottled water is also provided in the rooms at a cost...but it's pretty expensive, instead just go to the corner store next door and get more for your money!

The beds were quite hard and short. If you're really tall this might be uncomfortable for you. Everything was quite clean though. The rooms were quite a good deal, and the hotel worked well to host larger groups of people, wedding parties, and youth groups at a very affordable cost.

My favorite place to go all week was Gus Gus restaruant and bar just next door to Margaritas Hotel. It had great food, very friendly service, and had live music every night! It was a perk to be so close to it!

Overall, I would return to Margaritas because it is quite a good deal, good location, secure, and clean.

  • Liked — Affordable and good service
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We have been to Mazatlan for 6 years in a row. Margarita's is a great place to stay because it is inexpensive. If you just rent the room and do your own thing it's great. if your a newbe to Mazatlan you can get suckered into all the time share crap. The best thing to do is just walk away, I went to relax and spend time on the beach. It is part of the Hotel across the street Costa de Oro and you can use all the facilities there at Costa de Oro. It is a very inexpensive way to go and you can spend your money on what is really important to you like great food and drinks and gifts.

  • Liked — clean and close to the beach
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Bought the room online. arrived and clerk didnt check id or copy my credit card. clean pretty tiled room, hard bed. pretty pool, no info in the room, just telephone book, no info whatso ever. wasnt told that the hotel was recently acquired by the mega hotel across the street. so unless you are told, you can use the facilities at the mega hotel. plenty of gnats and mosquitos which i couldnt get rid of. no matter what i did. the bathroom seemed to have a window which i assume was to let odors and air in. but you can hear everyone on the outside and they can hear you. but have to admit, it is a pretty hotel, lots of ambiance..good location, you have to go to the store down the street to get sodas or snacks. overall actually it was a nice hotel other than the fact of no info and some of the other inconvinces. i have to tell ou that when i went, i saw less pretty hotels who took credit cards, had more animenties, that were more convieneint with just as good location for a full third to half off of what i paid., but they werent that pretty. they just werent available on the internet.

  • Liked — they tried to be helpful
  • Disliked — lack of information
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Nice court yard. No ammenities such as coffee,ask for a wash cloth. You get a FREE welcome Package from the hotel across the street which is more time share crap. Rooms are clean,maid service was great.
Beds are pretty hard and it seemed if you booked with anyone but them you will be on the 2nd floor.
Location is in the golden zone good eateries and drinkeries close,well located,off the street with security....noisy until about 2 am unless you request and get a room past the pool...oh pool not heated so in winter months it is just for looks.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — hard bed music till2 am
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo 709 Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaritas Hotel And Tennis Club
Margaritas Hotel Tennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaritas Hotel & Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.