We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loro de Oro "An Exquisite Inn" That should not be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loro de Oro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loro de Oro Inn
Save Saved
You added Loro de Oro Inn to your Saves list
Constitucion 622 | Centro Histórico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Loro de Oro "An Exquisite Inn" That should not be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Hidden from the street behind Te Amo Lucy’s is the Loro de Oro Inn – My wife and I have vacationed here for the past five years and we look forward to many years to come. Behind the restaurant and through a gate and walkway – a gorgeous interior courtyard complete with a newly renovated swimming pool, hot tub and lavish garden, as well as a myriad of plants including cacti and spider plants of amazing size. Vines adorn the walls and entrances with beautiful peach, coral, and white blossoms. A BBQ grill and comfortable eating area under a red, stone-tiled roof beckon you to a quieter life where the simple pleasures are equally important. A custom mural depicts old world craftsmanship as well as a spirit of land and culture; an original oil by Jose Duarte Gomez, the center of the piece depicts Mary over the image of a cathedral. It is an oasis in the midst of a disheveled, age worn, yet intriguing city. Art and architecture enhance the senses. Our bungalow was exquisite! Every inch speaks to the finest of Mexican architecture mixed with state of the art American standards all of the amenities of home, but in Mazatlan. There is a roof top deck where you can catch the sun’s rays, look out over the city and on some days, watch the cruise ships come-in to port.
We highly recommend staying at this charming Inn. The Inn is conveniently located one block from Plaza Machado within walking distance from great shopping and restaurants. The Loro de Oro benefits from having its own restaurant on site called "Te Amo Lucy's". The restaurant is operated by the same owners as the Inn. The food is consistently excellent. Authentic Mexican recipes, freshly prepared. Your hosts Tony & Lucy are warm and welcoming. Tony is a great source of knowledge about Mazatlan and he seems to know everyone. The rooms are clean, well serviced and there is Wifi internet on site and purified water. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The other reviews are correct. We couldn't ask for more. We have been to Maz many times and have stayed in a different place each time but will come back to the 'Golden Parrot' (Loro de Oro) and visit Lucy and Tony from now on. The location in the historic center is ideal. We walked to the open air market, the old cathedral and the plaza with the theater and many open air restaurants. The beach is a few short blocks away and uncrowded and without pestering peddlers. The room was large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. The courtyard with hot tub and pool are a great place to relax and sip on a frozen cocktail. The food is authentic and some of the best we have eaten anywhere. Even if you stay somewhere else, you should have at least one meal at the I Love Lucy cafe. The only thing we didn't like was having to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

One of the best stays in my many visits to Mazatlan. Tony is a considerate and attentive host, quick to attend to any questions or requests I had. I stayed ten days and had a great time.
Of course, Lucy's food is among the best available. If you consider Taco Bell to be Mexican food, you will be disappointed, of course. But if you want real Mexican cuisine, Lucy and her staff provide wonderful tastes and textures. Mazatlan has many great restaurants and one would want to try many of them, but for delicious Mexican cuisine, it will be difficult to improve on Te Amo Lucy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

If you are looking for a wonderful small getaway, stay at the Loro de Oro Inn in downtown Mazatlan. The studios are a wonderful bargain and the interior courtyard/pool area is an amazing oasis. It's is a short walk to the beach, and very close to the Plaza Machado which often has nightly music. The Central Plaza and Cathedral are only 2 blocks away. Tony and Lucy are gracious hosts and will make you feel welcome. The restaurant "Te Amo Lucy's" has spectacular food and nightly live music. We loved our visit and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hidden from the street, behind Te Amo Lucy’s is the Loro de Oro Inn. We recently stayed 2 week in their Luxury suite and can highly recommend the place. From the newly renovated pool in the outdoor common area, to the roof top deck where you catch the sun’s rays and finally the 2 cats which will adopt you, Loro de Oro provides a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast AZ.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I spent four relaxing nights here with my wife and would definately do so again. I'ts just a small place, only 4 or 5 rooms with kitchenettes that open into a pleasant courtyard with a swimming pool. It is very quiet and secluded and yet it is right in the heart of the Centro Historico and less than a block from the wonderful Plazuela Machado. Owners Tony and Lucy live in a beautiful place right across the courtyard and will see to your every need while providing a wealth of information. They have a couple of cats and three really cute chihuahuas that you may see on occasion.
A big plus here is Te Amo Lucy's, the superb little onsite restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lucy's cooking will knock your socks off and the coffee is great too. Also when I was there, Tony was just putting the finishing touches on the coolest little cantina / bar you've ever seen. Just a really charming place all around and very affordable. Why anyone would want to stay at large hotel when they can stay someplace like this is a mystery to me.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Beautiful villa with wonderful restaurant called Lucy's.

Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loro de Oro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loro de Oro Inn

Address: Constitucion 622 | Centro Histórico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loro de Oro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.