We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mazatlan's Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loro de Oro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loro de Oro Inn
Save Saved
You added Loro de Oro Inn to your Saves list
Constitucion 622 | Centro Histórico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mazatlan's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was the third year we stayed at the INN for a month in January. The room we booked was overbooked for 2 days, so they put us up in their best room which was a super start to our "get-away-from-winter-blues vacation. Loro de Oro is half a block from the Machada Square which features local Mexican artists and good restuarants, yet is the quietest hotel we have stayed at in Mazatlan. Tony and Lucy run a very friendly establishment and the food is muy bueno! Extras are a barbecue, pool and heated jacuzzi and a fabulous rooftop. We have really enjoyed our stays here and hopefully will continue to enjoy many, many more holidays at Loro de Oro. Tony is an American, Lucy is Mexican, so both languages are covered.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whidbey island washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Tony and Lucy are great hosts and own Te Amo Lucy located in the front of the B and B. Centrally located in the heart of the Plaza Machado area. The room was very spacious and clean. They were very accomodating provided us with great info. He is American and she is Mexican.
The food at the Te Amo Lucy is fabulous.
We were there for 5 nights and loved the location and feeling of saftey. Unfortunately the press is giving Mazatlan a bad name. We were out walking every evening and never had a problem. We love this Centro Historical area as there is something going on every night in the Machado.

Room Tip: Our room was the largest with a living room and kitchen for extended stays. Walter (the cat) lets h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You can get anything you want at Loro de Oro Inn. I just stayed there for a month. The owners, Tony and Lucy, are welcoming and extremely helpful and respond to requests immediately. It has a large jacuzzi and a common room. WIFI is available throughout. The rooms even have cooking facilities, fans, TVs, and air conditioners. Mine had a balcony. The rooms are comfortable and quiet so you get to be in the middle of El Centro and less than a block from Plaza Machado and yet have your own quiet escape. It is also a safe place in a safe neighborhood. It is convenient to many, many places in Mazatlan including Olas Altas beach, the theatre, Nidart, Casa Etnica, Plaza Machado, Plaza Republica, the Mercado, a full service quick stop store, a lavenderia, and buses that go everywhere in Mazatlan stop 1/2 block away. The price is excellent and better than competitive. It is a charming place to stay and I would choose it again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in April. Tony upgraded us to the beautiful suite. The decor in the suite is wonderful, from the furnishings to the gorgeous leaded doors opening into the bedroom. Yes, there are a few 'niceties' that could be added and are usually provided at most inns and B&B's: a hairdryer, some nicer bath soap, maybe some lotion and shampoo. The kitchen was well equipped with glassware, toaster, large fridge and cook stove, however we would have loved a blender for making fruit smoothies and drinks. Very quiet at night, but the bed had one of those thick foam pads which proved to be too soft and warm for us, so we took it off completely the 2nd night. However some people that like a soft cushy bed might really like it. Otherwise we slept soundly. The upstairs top deck is great for afternoon lounging and reading and looking over the city. Close to everything, great art galleries nearby and a great restaurant on site. PLUS, really reasonable prices and free Internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is an adorable establishment in the delightful historic center of Mazatlán. It is a half block from Plaza Machado, a lively area with many things to see and do. The inn is run by an American named Tony. When we arrived we were disappointed that things were not exactly as Tony had led us to believe. For example, by our fourth day we still had not had our rooms cleaned. When we asked, Tony dismissively told us that the maid was on her way and sarcastically asked if we wanted him to empty the garbage for us? We needed to make a local call and were told to walk to the nearest pay phone on the corner. We were asked to make no noise as there was a permanent boarder who slept late each day. We were told if we used towels for makeup removal we would be charged for them. Asking for an additional roll of toilet paper, Tony begrudgingly delivered one to our room. When we asked him for recommendations of an authentic place for a meal we were told that he (Tony) never ate anywhere in the area as he was very selective about food.

A positive note was his wife's restaurant, I Love Lucy's, adjacent to the inn. Wonderful food and charming surroundings and Lucy herself was delightful and an outstanding cook.

During our stay in this section of town we did investigate other places that seemed to be very well received by travelers we ran into and perhaps, all things considered a better value.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Tony and Lucy are the most generous and wonderful hosts --ever. We spent 7 days in December, the suite was beautiful, plenty of room to move around, the food at Te Amo Lucy's was fabulolus. We would go again in a heartbeat, if we could. We will definitely go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week in Mazatlan, staying at the Loro de Oro Inn. Our accommodations were excellent! The inn is on a quiet street, 1/2 block from the Plaza Machado and a short walk to the Malecon and beach, Plaza Republica, and any number of shops, restaurants, markets, etc. The inn surrounds a lovely enclosed courtyard with pool and jacuzzi. Tony and Lucy are the perfect hosts. They were more than accommodating to our needs and were great fun to talk with. Our suite was beautifully decorated and included a very comfortable living area, large bedroom, and a complete kitchen for those moments one might feel the need to heat up something (leftovers?). Our timing was perfect as we were there for the grand re-opening of Te Amo Lucy, the on-site restaurant. The menu is large and varied and the food is excellent! We plan on returning to Loro de Oro on our next trip to Mazatlan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loro de Oro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loro de Oro Inn

Address: Constitucion 622 | Centro Histórico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loro de Oro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.