We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bonita

Save Saved
You added Playa Bonita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Bonita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Avenida Playa Gaviotas | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Regina Sask Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Back for 5 weeks this year and great as usual and booked for 5 weeks next year all ready. Ate at Mango's and their shrimp deablo is terrific. One of the best that we've had. Elevators still working fine. I really can't add too much since my last review as it pretty much sums up what happened this year. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 8th floor and get a corner room as you'd be able to see 2 directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina Sask Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The place keeps getting better after all these years. Most of the staff have been there for years and have gotten to know them quite well. Any time we had a problem re burnt out light , replaced the stove top etc was done quick and effictient. They have new elevators and hopefully they can stay that way as the sign says 4 ppl max and of course they try to pile in and then they wonder why somethings happened when they drop. We have had a t/s with them since 2001 and yes there were years where you wonder why you stay there but seems to be back on track, somewhat. The pool is not heated and is in the shade most of the day so that's why no one uses it.
As for the hotel rooms you would have to rely on the ppl that have stayed in them recently as I haven't stayed in one of their rooms since 2001 but the pics look the same. Ate at the cafe, Mangoes, twice and was very satisfied. As I said the staff in all parts of the hotel are great. There is always someone cleaning somewhere. I wanted to take the girl that looks after the lobby home. That was her job all day keeping the lobby clean and I mean clean. Came out of the elevator and here she was using a scrub pad in the corners.
All ready booked for next year at our place we call our second home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My boyfriend, daughter and I stayed at Playa Bonita for 2 nights at the beginning of January. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we were walk up guests that just wanted somewhere safe to sleep for a decent price. We paid $59 CAD a night.
I asked to see the room before making a decision and we were brought up to large, clean, simple room on the 8th floor. The view is beautiful as long as you can ignore the Ramada parking lot across the street. We agreed to take the room and I informed the girl at the front desk that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom. When we got back from picking up our belongings, the shower curtain had been replaced. It was the only request we had and it was taken care of immediately.
There was signage in the room stating that it had a safe however, there was none to be found. We appreciated the complimentary bottled water. Lots of electrical outlets for my hair dryer and cell phones. The hot water was hit or miss. The tub was beautiful. Not white ceramic but, a pink tiled creation. I loved the very large mirror on the wall of the room. It had a ledge which was very useful to put all our girly stuff. Nobody had to fight over the bathroom mirror. We did not use the pool and we didn't see anyone else use it either. We did take the short stroll to the beach (across the street and through some very deep sand). It is quieter than the areas in front of resorts but, those pesky peddlers still found us. On the Saturday night, there was a restaurant nearby that had very loud music until very late but, that is pretty typical in the Golden Zone. Parking was free and secure. I loved the hotel lobby. Extremely open and airy. I felt a little bad for the girl at the desk as she shivered in a coat.
Playa Bonita is nothing spectacular but, it met our needs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british colombia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

This was our first stay in mexico. All the staff including the restaurant is exellent. We took the bus tour from yuma and would'nt think twice about going again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

This was the worst hotel in Mexico my mother and I have ever stayed at. The hotel was listed on a website that we have time shares through, but everything that the hotel said in its overview was a complete lie. There was no on site anything, the kitchen was dirty, the air conditioning didn't work, we didn't have any hot water, the refrigerator didn't work, and the shower didn't even have a shower curtain. The woman at the desk did not speak english so we weren't sure what was going exactly except that we were led to the top floor of the hotel and the elevator didn't work either. We only saw one other woman there the whole time we were there which wasn't long because the day we arrived we called the air line and got our tickets changed. This is a complete sham! Do not stay at this hotel no matter how cheap it is!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Sask Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

Yes I agree with the other person. we have a timeshare there also. The timeshare units are very nice. The problem with the hotel is that it doesn't have a cafe, or swimming pool. They took that out to have an underground parking lot, which they allready had but with only 1`exit. The elevator, there used to be 2, doesn't work properly at all. You could hear the chain slip around the 3rd floor so you knew that you didn't have far to fall. One day a 14 yr old and about a 2 yr old got stuck in the elevator and yelled for help. We tried to open the door but couldn't. ran downstairs to let them know and told them that a baby was in the elevator. boy did they move. they actually shut it down one night as you could tell something wasn't right. Took a chance the next day and was back to the usual. Didn't have any water 1 day so just warmed up a face cloth in the mic and did what we had to do. It finally came on later that aft. It was sold a couple of years ago and they said that they were going to do great things with the hotel but nothing has happened.
When we got to the hotel and had some problems with some thigs they were fixed right away which was nice. Allready booked for next year and hope that they've done something with the place. Need any more info feel free to mail me and mention Playa Bonita

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

Playa Bonita needs major renovation. We stayed in the penthouse, even so the shower didn't work, bathroom smelled of sewer, and had no hot water for 3 of the 7 days. Beds were good. Hotel has no amenities at all. 3 of the 11 floors are closed and no renovation work seems to be going on. Look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Bonita

Address: 27 Avenida Playa Gaviotas | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Bonita 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Playa Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Bonita Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.