We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation with Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Mazatlan to your Saves list
The Inn at Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6291 Avenida Camaron Sabalo | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation with Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Mazatlan for two weeks and had an amazing time. The service was unbelievable, from the front desk to poolside. Everything was super clean and the deck overlooking the ocean was a great way to start and end each day. Elias took us on a tour of the city which encompassed every part of the city and he had lots of stories and information to share. Staff recommended great restaurants and there are two pools and the beach is right there. An older crowd on the whole but you're not far from Valentino's, Panchos, Gus y Gus if you want some entertainment. We had a fantastic trip and would highly recommend the Inn at Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Linda H


Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent stay in our Resort, it is great to have this kind of incentive in our jobs and encourage our team to keep on doing it even better next time; we know Elias does a great job being a tour guide around the city as well as the rest of the staff in their own areas; The Inn has a great location that becomes very convenient to go just about anywhere in the golden zone, plus you can have a beautiful beach scenario to enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets in town. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the Inn at Mazatlán.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    105
    32
    22
    8
See reviews for
102
111
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

With respect to timeshares and "talking" beach destinations, there are lots of beautiful resorts around the world. Some are breathtakingly spectacular with turquois waters, tropical gardens and exotic birds and wildlife. Some are in the midst of cultural, dining, and shopper's paradise and, some are just hotels stuck off somewhere on a piece of sand, the developer bought cheaply.

The Inn at Mazatlan doesn't have the exotic wildlife and turquois tropical waters, but it has what most timeshares don't have; flavor (or "sabor" in Spanish). The hotel is situated in the Zona Dorada (Gold Zone), which is about 4 miles north of "old Mazatlan" and, it's in the middle of where all the action is... the best shopping, the best restaurants, and most beach activities.

The hotel district started to grow north along a 10 mile stretch of white sandy beach and The Hotel Cantamar was purchased (some 35 years ago), renovated, and stands today as The Inn at Mazatlan. Renovations are literally on-going all the time.

The hotel is a diamond in the rough. The gardens in the courtyard are pristine. Two crystal clear swimming pools and a gourmet restaurant and bar, El Papagayo, faces the beach, between the palapas and decks around the pools. El Papagayo serves breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices and, the food and presentation are top notch.

The hotel, facilities, lobby, rooms and grounds are immaculate, but what sets the Inn at Mazatlan apart from most other hotels, is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

We've been using 2 weeks (or more) of our timeshare(s) every year for 35 years and, not once have we ever had a bad experience. The staff, including Manuel, Rafael (bellhops), Eduardo (manager), Kathia and Monica (reception), Dago (concierge), Theresa (director of timeshares management) and, Victoria (timeshare sales) literally go out of their way to accommodate any need the guests have.

We've stayed at many other resorts around Mexico and the Caribbean, including Los Cabos, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Ixtapa, Manzanillo, Acapulco, Huatulco, Martinique, St. Maarten, St. Bart's, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, U.S. and British Virgins, AND the Inn at Mazatlan stands out ahead of all of any of the "beautiful" places in terms of cleanliness, moderate prices, and especially... the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

It isn't the most expensive luxurious hotel in Mazatlan, but we can do without the snobbiness at those anyway. Your stay at the Inn at Mazatlan will not disappoint you!

Room Tip: Suites in the north wing are to die for and overlook the gardens, pools and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear longtime timeshare owner


Reading such a nice review of The Inn on Trip Advisor opens a great opportunity to many readers worldwide to capture the scent of our property, since you just described it perfectly; the staff is always willing to deliver the warmest possible service to every visitor and to continue the tradition on creating a special place to spend some of the best moments for you and your beloved ones. Our resort welcome you anytime of the year to enjoy some of the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific ocean and to let yourself be pampered by the great Mexican cuisine our Chef creates passionately every day for you. I will share your comments with our team to put a smile on their faces wishing you already a quick return to your home away from home The Inn at Mazatlan.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Feels like family! Haven.t been down for 6 years but some staff remembered us. Special thx to Rafael and his boys....job well done! Any problems solved fairly quickly. B**** at front desk had a problem with me, it seems, waited 1 1/2 hours for an empty room they had offered to move us in the day before or by 8 am. She wouldn't give me reservations or coupons on Dago's day off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear djc155


We are happy to hear you came back home after being away a few years, our loyal staff always have a smile to share with you and anticipate to your requirements, that is certainly an asset to be proud of, however I am sorry you had an incident with your room move, actually the standard before reallocation another unit is to verify the physical status by maintenance, housekeeping and front desk in order to guarantee it would be perfect, and apparently this was not the case, so I will put hands on that to prevent it happens again to another guest; regarding coupons or any other activity it is always handled by the concierge.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Durango, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

With only one day before our reservations, we found this hotel. What a great stay, and a lucky find. All the other hotels we completely booked, except for The Inn at Mazatlan. Located in the Zona Dorada, close to nice restaurants, shopping, beach and just about everything else. The hotel is one of the older hotels, but the service and upkeep of the hotel are beyond par. Check in was a breeze, with a room overlooking the beach and pool area. The restaurant is excellent. Great service, great food, great time. And the beach, very clean, very warm, very safe, and lots of fun. I think we will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Don Roberto 8021


Your review of the Inn give us a reason to feel we are on the right path to satisfy our guests needs and meet their expectations, our resort is one of the pioneers on the hotel industry in Mazatlan and that is tradition in hospitality we must continue nowadays. Offering the best possible attention to every visitor in our lovely destination is our main goal, we will share your kind comments with our team and please accept an invitation to come back anytime to Paradise.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The people at The Inn are superb. Maria, Eduardo, All of the Bell Men, Waiters and Housekeeping. I've never met a friendlier bunch.We have been going down for 25 yrs. and haven't had a bad experience, ever. The venue is to die for. We have stayed in all of their buildings over the years and watched the tower being built, I'd have to say our favorite room is 4109.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Wesley D


Thank you for expressing such beautiful comments of your recent stay at the Inn, on behalf of our entire team let us be the ones to thank you for your loyalty and kindness over all this time to our resort; your Mexican family(Maria, Eduardo, etc) wish you a nice return and we hope to see you again next year.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had a great two weeks at the Inn at Mazatlan. Service was great on all levels from Reservations, Front Desk, Bell Staff, Food and Beverage. One of the best views of the ocean from nearly all of the rooms/suites. I have been going to the Inn for the past 15 years and hope to continue this trip another 15 years. Oh, and the weather was perfect, mid-80's daily.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms have great ocean views but a little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear TravelAboutSue


Definitely this a perfect time of the year to enjoy the beauty of Mazatlan at the Inn, our friendly staff takes a real passion on pampering guest and owners every year, we feel honored to receive your comments and help us do things better for you. Thank you again for taking the opportunity to share your review on Trip Advisor.

Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I would like to start by saying I choose The Inn at Mazatlan based on ALL the positive reviews on tripadvisor. With that said here is my opinion of the Hotel. My family and I arrived at the Inn at around 1:30pm, yes I know check in isn't until 4:00pm. That I guess was our first mistake but what do you do when your flight arrives at noon. When I approached the front desk the young lady (Kathia) looked at me like I was lost? No welcome or hello, none of the friendly comments you would expect from a nice hotel? She looked up our reservation and said our room was not ready that it would be 30 minutes. So we left our bags with the doorman and went out to the restaurant for a late lunch. I have to admit the food at the restaurant was great and the atmosphere very relaxing. At 3:00 we decided to go back to the front desk for our room. Again, it will be 30 minutes until it is ready so we waited in the lobby area. At exactly 4:00pm the doorman notified us room was ready. Bottom line here is "Don't arrive a minute before check in".

We made reservations for a Jr. Suite and found it to be pretty accurately described (room T-1103). It was a larger room with the typical beach style furnishings and a small kitchen area. The best part of the room was by far the beautiful view. The only down side was the bathroom was not very clean. There was mold/mildew all along the ceiling of the shower but I guess that is common in the area.

The things we liked best here was the beautiful view, beautiful grounds and goodt food at the restaurant. The pools were great too, warm and clean.

The things we didn't like! The attitude of some of the staff. I hope they realize people/guests do have a choice of were they spend their money. The internet! What top tier hotel makes you pay for the internet now days? I did purchase the internet and found that is was a waste of money. It is very slow and freezes frequently. But my favorite was the beach towels. The beach towels cannot be used on the beach! Security will come for them if you try! So take your own beach towel if you want to sit on a towel at the beach.

Note on the beach: The water is great but if you stay on the beach be prepared for the swarm of beach vendors! Be prepared to tell each on No at least a dozen times each time you hit the beach.

Overall I enjoyed my stay in Mazatlan but I think I will definitely try another hotel when I return. I'm not sure if it was timing or time share that makes the difference?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEINNATMAZATLAN, Director General at The Inn at Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Landontf


Your honesty is very much appreciated when it comes to personal attention, this a field that we are constantly working on, I am sorry to hear that the first impression of the Inn was not the best one for you, definitely there is always room for improvement, however the staff friendliness must be constant at any time; room check in before 4pm is sometimes quite complicated due to the amount of work of certain days, however the housekeeping staff always do their best to have a room ready earlier than the established time; although the weather in Mazatlan does not help much to reduce it we will reinforce the cleaning system to prevent any sight of mold. It is always helpful to know when something is not working properly as you deserve for the money you are paying, so I wonder if you ever mentioned to anyone of the front desk staff about the internet malfunction in order to fix it right away and allow you to enjoy the service properly. The beach area is federal jurisdiction so the Inn has no power over the beach vendors but just ask them not to bother you.
We certainly feel grateful with you for the opportunity you gave us to serve and hopefully in some other time you might consider staying with in the near future.


Best regards


Alberto Andrade
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mazatlan

Address: 6291 Avenida Camaron Sabalo | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful beach of the Mexican Rivera, overlooking the Sea of Cortez, The Inn at Mazatlan offers a relaxed and elegant atmosphere. Whether you are here on vacation, a romantic honeymoon, or attending a convention, take advantage of the tranquility, wonderful dining, exciting beach and ocean adventures. Just relax and enjoy warm golden sunsets and miles of pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.