We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Sea Garden Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Gering, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dated Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed with my extended family in two different rooms one with an ocean view and another without. The rooms are older and do need refurbishing; however, were clean. The beds were okay but the shower was really small. The water in our room had two temperatures scalding hot and cold. We were not in the room very much and the grounds and lobby were very nice. The pool was large but the first few days we were there it was not cleaned very well. The internet was very pricey $70 a week per device! If you do the sales presentation they give you a free city tour, don't bother. It was just a ride through downtown showing you where the places are. They do stop at the cathedral, a jewelry shop and a restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    86
    62
    37
    49
See reviews for
65
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in February 2014. The bedroom is so small that you have to squeeze between the king sized bed and the dresser. The tiny bathroom is 2 doors down to the front of the unit. It has a tiny tub and one light in the ceiling. The water pressure was fine. There is an extra room that has a pull out bed but no TV. The pillows were stuffed with cotton I think as they were hard as a rock. All TVs are the old style tube TVs. It had a nice ocean view but a balcony too small for any chairs. It had a new coffee pot and new toaster but no supplies of coffee, sugar or anything so bring your own. There were no paper towels either. No dishwasher and only a microwave oven. Small dorm sized refrigerator.
We did this as a "free" RCI exchange but I've never stayed at poorer time share.
So why didn't I rate only 1 star? Well the staff is wonderful and in fact is the same staff as the neighboring Mayan Palace next door which is a lot newer and quite nice. The lobby is beautiful as is the entire downstairs and pool areas and bars, etc. There was daily maid service and she even brought us Hershey's kisses around 9pm every night.
Did I mention the usual high pressure timeshare sales pitch? They make it sound like they are just going to give you a free breakfast and show you around, oh and would you like to buy a $49,900 timeshare while you are at it? Oh don't want to spend that much, well we can bring the price down to only $9,000 and then $2,000 for a 2 year trial.
Surely you can do better than this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. We asked to switch rooms and the one they showed us was identical to the dump we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Although I have been a timeshare owner at Sea Garden for 30 years, we last visited the resort 10 years ago.
I'm happy to report that little has changed.
Sea Garden is the older, more modest part of the Mayan property. The units are simple, clean, and comfortable. For those who are looking for luxury hotel accomodation...this is not for you!
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Others have commented on the friendliness of staff and that is not an exaggeration.
The fact that the resort is remote from the action of the Golden Zone and other high density properties is a huge plus for us. Lots of unoccupied beach. A short walk to Mr Lionso's for the best food around. And only a 10 peso bus ride to anywhere downtown (if you take the newer bus)
Can't comment on the food on site. Menu didn't look very creative so we didn't bother. Bought breakfast supplies at a grocery store, although the onsite store is quite well stocked.
Downside to most resorts is the timeshare sales pressure. It was pretty full-on as we checked in. Reluctantly agreed to go to only a short owner info update (no breakfast, etc.) I admit that the session was informative and low pressure to upgrade. (In the end we decided that upgrading wasn't in our best interest at this time)
In the end, it was a quiet, relaxing vacation. Just what was needed to break up this cold North American winter! Resort seemed nearly deserted. Maybe things are different during high-season weeks?
Recommend eating at Mr Lionso's down the beach at Playa Bruja. Also at Pancho's in the Golden Zone.
Must activity: A day (or evening) of sailing on Mi Casa with Captain Eduardo
Biggest surprise: the massive flock of black birds that swarm to the resort every day at sun set, to roost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear RoryandStella:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at Sea Garden. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our facilities, the accommodations, the pools, grounds and really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Despite the fact that this property is most likely the least attractive of all Mayan properties, it is still GOLD STAR material. Staff are very friendly, accomodating and just great. Drawback, smokers at the pool area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the sea AND high enough to watch the endless array of great sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Kevin O :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Sea Garden. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were there in January of 2014. The facility is nice, clean, and attractive. A big plus is that half of the big pool was heated making it usable because this time of year it is really too cold to swim and most hotels don't have heated pools that are warm enough to actually get in. The food was good and there was no charge for parking. There is a nice little supermarket on the premises.
The drawbacks were that the bathroom was a little dark, the kitchen had no sponge for dishwashing, and we paid almost 20 dollars for a day of internet service, but it did not work. Well, it barely worked. It could not support loading a picture on Facebook. The support people were in a different city and could not correct the problem, but the hotel did refund our money. We did miss having access to internet.

Room Tip: A view of the ocean overlooking to pool is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear JKRV :
Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Sea Garden. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, the facilities and accommodations.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

We appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Happily,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We are Mayan timeshare owners and our favorite property is in Mazatlan. The staff are consistently accommodating and friendly. The grounds are groomed daily and housekeeping keeps common areas clean.

Karen and Greg Wojtanowicz

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Ktwardrn:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked the grounds.

Your comments are always welcomed.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is our third trip to Mazatlan at the Mayan Sea Garden. This time we went alone, as we decided we needed a relaxing trip before Christmas. We love walking the beach and standing in the surf, and spent some time at the pool cooling off on the hottest days. The resort is very clean and staff are friendly. There is a small store for snacks, some food and some alcohol, and a restaurant for meals, and the new lobby was almost ready to open at the end of November. We took an all day tour which included the Tequila Factory and then in the afternoon, the El Quelite tour to a small village 1/2 hour outside Mazatlan and I would really recommend that for all the history and old Mazatlan culture. I really enjoyed the tour of downtown Old Mazatlan which took us along the Malacon, to historical sites, and through the old part of Mazatlan and the beautiful cathedral. You must take a "pneumonia cart" while you are there, which is really just a golf cart with a gas motor. It's so fun zipping through traffic. Beware some of the drivers who will really only want to have you attend timeshare presentations. Just be firm and tell them you are not interested if you aren't.
You must go to the Playa Bruja for the best shrimp in town! We went there twice and would have gone back more had we not run out of time. It's also a good place to buy your flavored tequila - think Vanilla Flavored - yummy! The staff are great, there's often a Mexican band playing, and the prices are very reasonable...but the best part is that you will be having your meal in an open air restaurant on the beach! You can see and hear the waves coming in, and families on the beach. It's lovely!
You may see Police Tourista vehicles parked along the busy Gold Zone. These officers speak English and are the people to ask if you do need help.
We could see that the city has cleaned up and made a real effort to show tourists that we are safe, and our tour guide said the first cruise ships were expected back to Mazatlan at the end of November. We enjoyed our time in Mazatlan and we will be going back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Lucybar4 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at Sea Garden. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and we really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Address: Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.