We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't come back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Mazatlan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Save
You added Sea Garden Mazatlan to your Saves list
Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Won't come back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We aren't a picky traveling family ~ as long as there is a pool and a beach we are good! But I have to say we were disappointed with the sea garden. The hotel is very old and dated looking, like out of the 80's. the rooms were small, very peiced together, paint chipping, DIRTY toilet bases. The bathroom was the size of an outhouse. Seriously. They say there are 3 pools. However--one wasn't even functioning. The other dirty. And the one we used had tiles chipping off of it and a terrible gravel/concrete walking area that killed your feet.
You aren't allowed to even get into the ocean. It is a rocky area and the best you can do is let the waves hit your legs.
The hotel is a good 10 minute cab ride to anything remotely interesting to do or eat. You are at the very end of the hotel strip.
I could go on, but I think we get the point, right?
If someone were to ask my opinion--i would say, take your vacation to a better hotel, even if you have to pay a little more for what a vacation should be :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    68
    41
    54
See reviews for
90
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

2 of us took a trip here march 2012 it was awesome staff was so nice ocean was amazing looking forward to coming back this year with my kids and loved the food clean enviroment great location hoped on a bus and just a short ride to down town malls parks cant wait to come back


Candice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just stayed at the Mayan Sea Garden, in Mazatlan! My first Mexican experience. The room smelled mildewey/musty....it does have a tropical climate, after all! We kept the windows open, then it was fine! And beautiful, high above the ocean and pools, great view of the sunset. The restaurant was fine, 'Americanized' so no food was too hot. It was a little more costly than nearby restaurants. The pools were lovely, the staff friendly. But just say NO to their pressure for a "short" sales pitch....they take 3 hours! And the discount, or the city tour, are not worth your time! Unless you want to buy in to this industry. They keep pressing you, lowering the price, just like the walking jewelry vendors, push push, not at al relaxing! The acre-wide King Sized bed was wonderful. The van tour of a nearby village was lovely, and the hotel staff can organize tours, etc.

Room Tip: High up, ocean view, with balcony in Sea Garden was choice. We turned off air conditioning, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warm friendly people, beautiful beach, beautiful pool and grounds. Shopping is great and I love the pulmonias... The converted golf carts that act as taxis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the best week vacation at the mayan sea garden. Clean rooms, large pool, great beach. You must try this place. Great location from town, 10 min bus ride from town. No wi-fi but not a deal breaker. My experience with the mayan was a good one. Thank you mayan palace for makeing my vacation experience enjoyeble.

Room Tip: A must,Stay in the newer tower, Clean, new, third floor and above great vews of the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Well, first time we've ever been to Mazatlan for Holy Week, and we won't do it again! Crazy crazy busy with young ones partying on the beach. Local families flock to Mazatlan for Holy Week and all hotels are filled to capacity. Hard to find room at the pool at the Mayan as they allow people to put down towels at 7:00 in the morning to reserve for the day - sometimes the people don't show up until after supper becasue they've been at the ocean for the day! And, can't get a chair on the beach as the grandmas and grandpas are there before 7:00 am reserving every single chair (and there are over 100)! So unfair.

Food is mediocre at best, and pricey because there really is no competition close by. First room we stayed in was not nice. Overtop the laundry and parking lot. I did not feel safe in this room, and I ALWAYS feel safe in Mazatlan! Had problems with the safe, the coffee maker, the room keys, the towel card keys. After 2 days they did move us to a palatial room on the 12th floor. Thank you!

Staff were all wonderful. I did have issues with a 15% tip being added on automatically, when we ordered food while around the pool. I didn't like that. We always tip well, but I resent it being added onto the bill.

Room Tip: Insist on ocean view or you'll end up over the laundry like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from our first ever visit to Mazatlan. We stayed at the Sea Garden, the grounds were great, the one thing we found while staying there was a great little massage place just a short bus ride from the resort. Marina Massage is located in the Golden Zone just across the street from Pueblo Bonito. Very clean, and great price. $20 an hour for a massage. The owner has been a massage therapist for 15 years and has just recently opened her own shop. The therapists she has working for her are wonderful. We had two appointments and would have made more if we had the time. If you get a chance check it out. Marina Massage is on the same side of the street as the Fish Market and the Meat Market. Wonderful way to spend part of your vacation!!!!

Room Tip: When checking in and you have reservations for the Mayan Palace have them show you the room prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
0.5 mi away
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#38 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#29 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#2 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Address: Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.