We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just say "NO" to the sales presentation, otherwise it is fine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Sea Garden Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just say "NO" to the sales presentation, otherwise it is fine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just stayed at the Mayan Sea Garden, in Mazatlan! My first Mexican experience. The room smelled mildewey/musty....it does have a tropical climate, after all! We kept the windows open, then it was fine! And beautiful, high above the ocean and pools, great view of the sunset. The restaurant was fine, 'Americanized' so no food was too hot. It was a little more costly than nearby restaurants. The pools were lovely, the staff friendly. But just say NO to their pressure for a "short" sales pitch....they take 3 hours! And the discount, or the city tour, are not worth your time! Unless you want to buy in to this industry. They keep pressing you, lowering the price, just like the walking jewelry vendors, push push, not at al relaxing! The acre-wide King Sized bed was wonderful. The van tour of a nearby village was lovely, and the hotel staff can organize tours, etc.

Room Tip: High up, ocean view, with balcony in Sea Garden was choice. We turned off air conditioning, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    83
    62
    36
    49
See reviews for
61
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warm friendly people, beautiful beach, beautiful pool and grounds. Shopping is great and I love the pulmonias... The converted golf carts that act as taxis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the best week vacation at the mayan sea garden. Clean rooms, large pool, great beach. You must try this place. Great location from town, 10 min bus ride from town. No wi-fi but not a deal breaker. My experience with the mayan was a good one. Thank you mayan palace for makeing my vacation experience enjoyeble.

Room Tip: A must,Stay in the newer tower, Clean, new, third floor and above great vews of the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Well, first time we've ever been to Mazatlan for Holy Week, and we won't do it again! Crazy crazy busy with young ones partying on the beach. Local families flock to Mazatlan for Holy Week and all hotels are filled to capacity. Hard to find room at the pool at the Mayan as they allow people to put down towels at 7:00 in the morning to reserve for the day - sometimes the people don't show up until after supper becasue they've been at the ocean for the day! And, can't get a chair on the beach as the grandmas and grandpas are there before 7:00 am reserving every single chair (and there are over 100)! So unfair.

Food is mediocre at best, and pricey because there really is no competition close by. First room we stayed in was not nice. Overtop the laundry and parking lot. I did not feel safe in this room, and I ALWAYS feel safe in Mazatlan! Had problems with the safe, the coffee maker, the room keys, the towel card keys. After 2 days they did move us to a palatial room on the 12th floor. Thank you!

Staff were all wonderful. I did have issues with a 15% tip being added on automatically, when we ordered food while around the pool. I didn't like that. We always tip well, but I resent it being added onto the bill.

Room Tip: Insist on ocean view or you'll end up over the laundry like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from our first ever visit to Mazatlan. We stayed at the Sea Garden, the grounds were great, the one thing we found while staying there was a great little massage place just a short bus ride from the resort. Marina Massage is located in the Golden Zone just across the street from Pueblo Bonito. Very clean, and great price. $20 an hour for a massage. The owner has been a massage therapist for 15 years and has just recently opened her own shop. The therapists she has working for her are wonderful. We had two appointments and would have made more if we had the time. If you get a chance check it out. Marina Massage is on the same side of the street as the Fish Market and the Meat Market. Wonderful way to spend part of your vacation!!!!

Room Tip: When checking in and you have reservations for the Mayan Palace have them show you the room prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our recent stay at the Mayan Sea Garden was better than we initially expected. The Hotel has closed about half of their older buildings and is continuing with the Main and newer buildings. Being one of the older hotels in Mazatlan they have focused their attention and much of that is in the beutiful grounds and pool areas. The Concierge desk was an asset for things like booking a tour outside tour desk hours, and supply info on restaurants and attractions. Bus to town from the bus stop at the Hotel Entrance is 9.5 pesos or taxi fares like 100 pesos to the Gold Zone or 140 to downtown and the Green Bus is air conditioned. Hotel food is good and restaurants like Playa Bruga is down the beach or Tacos Escorpio by Henry is just across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view on checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have just read a few of the reviews for the Sea Garden and I was shocked to see complaints about the staff being unfriendly. My experience has been very different. I make it a point to remember the staffs names and amazingly they remember mine from year to year. I can only suppose that you receive the treatment from them that you give out.

One person recommended not buying into the Sea Garden, impossible to do as it has not been sold for years and the information that most of it is being demolished and rebuilt in the near future is readily available. I don't go there for the newness of the buildings but the wonderful atmosphere.

The only improvement needed very badly is the restaurant and lounge. The prices are definitely too costly, which is why they are not fun places to go as they are almost always empty. However, there are a few good restaurants in the area and cabs and buses are cheap.

Final word, relax and have fun there and don't expect 5 star rooms, because you aren't paying for 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Address: Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.