We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough reviews out of line” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Sea Garden Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rough reviews out of line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just back from a 1-week stay with wife and 3 kids under 5. Our experience was nothing short of excellent, with a couple of comments. The Good: super-friendly staff (Hola Manny!), excellent housekeeping, fun pools (yes, multiple), quiet stretch of beach, 2-for-1 happy hour, fun games room for all ages. The average: sure, the resort's not the newest, but it's clean and well maintained. The bad: I would have liked a more active kids' club so the parents could catch a break for a while, but I love my kids and don't avoid spending time with them. Biggest complaint would be the beach could be a little cleaner, especially for a private section, and the beach vendors, while polite and not pushy, are always lingering. Oh, and clean the bird poop off some of the pool lounge chairs (there were tons of empty spots to choose from, so not a show-stopper). Now to set the record straight on a few things: there was absolutely no mold (I'm allergic, I would know), the staff were all excellent, and the on-premise market has everything you need to feed a family, including a vegan. Sure, it's more expensive than a supermarket, but by Canadian standards it's not outrageous. If you're looking to save money on food while on vacation, I suggest you adjust your priorities. As for internet, there's no wi-fi and I didn't check out the cost at the computer centre, but I'M ON VACATION AND DON'T WANT TO BE ONLINE!! Again, check your priorities. Bottom line: know that Sea Garden is well north of the main strip with no supermarket nearby, and know that it's not a shiny new resort. With that in mind, have the right expectations on price and amenities and you'll enjoy thoroughly, as we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    85
    62
    37
    49
See reviews for
62
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

lucky for us, I read the reviews that are posted here!
Best tip that was shared...leave your luggage where it is...
tell them you want to see the room first...chances are good your going to want to see another!
The restaurant has a buffet on Saturday nite from 6-10
still not sure what it was...thought it was seafood...
we arrived at 7:00 put our drink orders in..
was at least 10 min. till they showed up!

we finally get our drinks ..go to the buffet
and its empty!

we went back to the table and thought we'd wait..
and wait...and wait...

got a bit of attitude from the waiter
when we complained!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

First, the fact that this facility is removed from the Golden Zone and its services seems puts its guests at some disadvantage. This fact seems to drive prices and policies at Sea Garden. The restaurant pricing is high relative to quality. The daily cost for internet service is outrageous ..... the highest I've ever experienced anywhere. There is no wireless service available.
This was the third room of my second stay in my second building of this resort. While better than my first experience a number of years ago, there was still a low but pervasive evidence of mildew in the bathroom. Those with respiratory problems should avoid this resort.
Finally, in a resort city which is generally very welcoming and friendly, this facility continues to employ a large number of staff who are not friendly, not accomodating in any way and simply would rather ignore you than deal with you. Sad, but true.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Wow This place takes the cake for the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in as an adult. If you are a spring breaker you might think its cool, but I doubt it. Fire all the hostile employees and get rid of the mold problem for a start. No just implode it, horrible..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear veryscary :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay at Sea Garden.
Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guest feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success. Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.
Warm regards,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

What a disappointment!!!- the rooms made my eyes swell they were so moldy & damp - there was construction racket from a high rise next door all day long - one of the two elevators was out of service, here was 1 expensive & not very good restaurant, staff were NOT pleasant - not worth the $$ and hassle of the flight there. The time share pushers were out of hand.....YUCK!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear farmgirl06702 :
We very much appreciate our guests' reviews and opinions about their stay at the Sea Garden.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. For that reason, our resorts are constantly being refurbished; to have them in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.

Your comments are always welcomed.

Yours sincerely,
Sea Garden Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We just returned last night from a week at the Mayan Regency in Mazatlan, the trip was awesome!! I had read the rviews other people were leaving and upgraded from Sea Garden too the Regency... Boy glad I did!!!!! The Sea Garden is old and needs a total upgrade, even going as far as asking the sales guy, why if we are paying maintanence every 5 years that it still looks like it is stuck in a time warp, as per usual a shrug of his shoulders and back to the sales pitch.... frustrating..... What made this a great vacation was the people who work there, especially all the bellboys (shout out to Raymundo) We had a friend break her leg upon arriving in Mazatlan and the boys helped us by calling the hospital and giving us updated info on her condition (BEWARE the Sharpe hospital near the Home Depot, they will not let you leave without paying evem though you have insurance, our friends were literally held hostage until they used their credit card to pay) But back to the resort, people who were staying at the Sea Garden all looked happy because after all you have the ability to change the outcome of your vacation. The Sea Garden is old, old, and needs to be torn down and rebuilt, because we can't keep paying for the richer peoples vacation in the Regency's and Grand Mayan's and get nothing in return. Basically when you purchase a time share with the Mayan that is what we are doing, management needs to step up and make our vacations just as grand as those who own other than the Sea Garden, if they cleaned it up they could make a lot of money DUH!!! so why are they not cleaning up the Sea Gardens. Who knows???? Next time I will only stay at the Regency or Grand Mayan. So buyer beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do Not buy at the Sea Garden, you will live to regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

DO NOT GO TO SEA GARDEN... DO NOT EVEN GO TO MAZATLAN... DON'T BOTHER. We were robbed at the front lobby desk while checking in. It was a scam by the front desk employees. The employes gather around you to get you checked in and when they lean WAY over to put on your wrist band... your bill fold, which had been placed on the counter magically disappears... and no one has any idea what happened. Oh, and the security camera is not functioning... or takes too long to check. Management really doesn't care although they put on a front that they do. I would only recommend to someone who can only afford the Ymca...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Address: Calz. Sabalo Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.