We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Leyendas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa De Leyendas
Save Saved
You added Casa De Leyendas to your Saves list
Venustiano Carranza #4 | Centro Historico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is just beautiful! We stayed for two nights at the end of March and had a lovely time. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, and the breakfasts are delicious. The whole building is decorated to a really high standard. Free internet access was a bonus for us as we had to book onward travel from Maz to Los Mochis. The roof terrace was great for chilling out and watching the sunset. We didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs while we were there, preferring instead to go in search of some more local venues, but it was always lively and bustling.

In terms of location, Leyendas is ideal - we wanted to explore the historic centre, and we could see lots within a 10 minute walk. We didn't visit the tourist area which is further north up the coast, but that suited us fine! There are lots of fantastic restaurants and bars nearby and a few lovely shops selling artisan wares.

Sharon was really helpful on our last morning - we had to leave early to catch a bus, and prepared a take-away breakfast for us which was really appreciated.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
119
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Unfortunately we only had a short stay in this beautiful place. This place is really really really nice! Very tastefull renovation, very clean and great hosts.

The rooms are beautifull, a great rooftop teras overlooking the sea, beach around the corner and great fish around the corner. If we ever return to Mazatlan we would stay much longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa De Leyendas for only one night, March 29, 2013. Glen and Sharon who run the B&B make you feel very much at home. In fact, it is just like being in your own home. The food is excellent and always made with fresh ingredients. The live music in the evenings added a wondeful touch. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I plan to go back and stay for a longer period of time and enjoy the homely hospitality of Glen and Sharon. Not to mention the food. Also, the location is great just minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Many thanks to Sharon and Glenn for helping to make our visit to Mazatlan very special.
From initial help with our booking and clear and concise directions, we had a lovely room on the first floor. Excellent internet connection via our iPad, and the breakfast was excellent, the staff happy to meet our requests for a simple omelette and bacon as we had had enough of Mexican beans.....!!

We were especially helped with our ferry booking to La Paz, which a travel agent had made a mess of, and many thanks to Annabel and Sharon for sorting that out.
The location is great, being just minutes walk from the historic centre, and the beach is 5 mins away.

We found the restaurants in the main square very good, and again the owners, at least one of whom was usually on site, very helpful with suggestions.

The house itself is very interesting and has been beautifully renovated in true Mexican style.

Far far better than a large hotel, attentive and personal service. Thanks a lot!!

Room Tip: We had the best suite and it was worth the money, however all the rooms are individually decorated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are a fun loving couple in our twenties, but we are not into the resort/club scene, so we decided to go with a b&b in the historical district. However we were not happy with our experience at casa de leyendas. That being said we did not enjoy mazatlan either...

- EVERYONE HERE IS OLD (apparently mazatlan is a retirement community.. who knew?)
-the rooms are not sound proof and you wake up to the staff banging ice and microwave doors at 6:30am everyday (the microwave actually beeps pretty consistently throughout the day)
- our room had see through curtains so it lacked privacy
- the staff was rude and unfriendly, except for the bartender caesar and one maintenance guy
- One morning it took 20 minutes before anyone would take my breakfast order, I waited over a half hour to get oatmeal!
- the breakfast was pretty blah, the few mexican dishes lacked flavour and spice
- the computer didn't work for most of our trip

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE FUN LOVING UNDER 40
This is a really nicely decorated bed and breakfast with a sweet rooftop view but that is about the only nice thing i have to say about it...

Room Tip: We stayed in the infante room. It was very dark and had no tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We discovered this jewel three years ago while speaking with a couple during the annual art walk. They shared that they were staying upstairs and asked if we would like to see their room. We were blown away!.As we walked up the gorgeous pink-hued marble staircase it seemed as though we were in a private home (which it was at one time) Reaching the top we entered a large open area that was the common room. It contained hundreds of DVDs, books, a TV, comfortable seating and a small balconey which offered a view of the street below and the ocean a few minutes walk away. There are six rooms-all have colorful Mexican furnishings and french doors that open onto a balcony from which one looks down onto the courtyard with its center fountain (hummingbirds come for a drink!) and tables with colorful cushions that beckon one to come down for early coffee and stay for breakfast (included) There is a small pool and pots of flowers and greenery everywhere. The cheerful kitchen staff prepares delicious dishes-both american and mexican. There is a small restaurant-Macaws-attached to the B&B which is a gathering place for the locals and tourists alike. Cesar-the bartender- and Annabelle-the server-are most friendly. The menu offers a nice variety of choices(try the beef sliders made with THE most delicious beef served with creamy horseradish sauce!). The hosts-Glenn and Sharon Sorrie-are , in a word, wonderful!!! They have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. And should you miss the pets you may have left at home there are two friendly and well-behaved dogs for you to play with!!! Restaurants abound just a short walk down the Malacon. Should you be there during the Carnaval (as we were, twice) you will have a front row seat for the festivities as the grandstand is just up at the corner and the band performs well into the wee hours (you didnt REALLY come to mexico to sleep did you?) From the third floor open terrace we enjoyed the passing parade with its myriad of floats and experienced the most lavish fireworks display we have ever seen anywhere!!!.Across the street from the Casa is a narrow boulevard with shady trees and benches, an art gallery, a library, a small gift boutique with unique gifts . The Casa is located in the old historic part of town just a refreshing walk down quiet streets to the Machado where everyone goes to dine, attend the Peralto theater (we enjoyed a Mozart and Vivaldi concert there!) or to just sit and people watch. During Carnaval it is loud and noisy and FUN!! Not to be missed!!!. As you can guess.....we ended up staying at the Casa for a week the year after meeting the nice couple who offered to show us their room and we stayed again this year. Although we have a timeshare in the Golden Zone at one of the finest resorts we have discovered that staying at the Casa before we leave to go home is a wonderful way to unwind and enjoy the hospitality of two of the nicest people in Mazatlan!!. It will be a much anticipated ending to our yearly stay from now on!!!

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the Jardin room.....it has a garden feel to it....the bed is kingsize and oh s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Sharon and Glenn are the best, and their staff is fabulous! Breakfast (included) is ordered from the menu of great selections, and individually prepared. Sunday morning they serve Benedict's of all varieties - my favorite was the Glenny Blenny, with bacon, ham, tomatoes and avocado. The kitchen staff is particularly delightful, and always laughing. They are a half-block to the beach, and just a few blocks to the Theatro Anglea Peralta. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa De Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Leyendas

Address: Venustiano Carranza #4 | Centro Historico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leyendas is a totally refurbished 8,000 square foot hacienda bed & breakfast with over 2,000 square feet of additional outside terrazzo space. Located in the heart of the central historic district and only 200 feet from the ocean, this casa feels like home away from home. Experience the past and enjoy the present. History, culture, arts and music surround this magnificent bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Leyendas Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Leyendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.