We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checks all the Boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Leyendas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa De Leyendas
Save Saved
You added Casa De Leyendas to your Saves list
Venustiano Carranza #4 | Centro Historico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Checks all the Boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Not much more can be said about Casa De Leyendas as all the good reviews are true. This B&B checks all the boxes.
Fantastic Hosts and staff
Well Apointed Guest rooms, common area and everything is spotless
Purified water system in the B&B
Delicious Breakfasts (order off a menu)
Numerous outdoor sitting areas/patios, rooftop with sea view and kitchen
Cold drinks at Macaws
My only comment is the neighboring pub has a loud rock band on Friday, Sat and Sunday, so depending on your room, and if you are a light sleeper you may need ear plugs, or leave the air-con on for background noise or use their sound machine in the room. Yes, there is a sound machine in your room. They think of everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
120
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Everything you read in the other reviews sounds too good to be true, but isn't: Beautiful restored historic home, great rooms, most comfortable beds, excellent hosts, fine variety of breakfasts, friendly staff, affordable rates, balconies with views of sunrises and sunsets. In two previous visit to Mazatlan, we've stayed in the Golden Zone. No more! The Casa puts you right on the edge of the lovely historic zone with winding streets that (safely) lead to museums, artist studios, craft shops, bakeries and the Plaza Machado, which surrounded by a dozen restaurants, most of them open air. The Olas Altas beach and Malecon are a block away in the other direction. Two minor caveats: The small in-house pool is unheated, and the waves on the beach appeal more to surfers than paddlers. But we'd return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the start-of-the day street noises and evening jazz at McCaw's in our window; if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovingly individually decorated rooms. Feels like a small private house with very attentive service. If you take over all seven rooms as a group, even small children are welcome. Otherwise, the rooms are not suitable for small children.
The hotel and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included, plentiful and freshly cooked.
The location is in the beautiful historic center.
The hosts are friendly and helpful. They have always helped us organize our activities (surfing, restaurants, rollerblading ...).
We can recommend the Casa de Leyendas to anyone who wants to spend a relaxing time in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Sharon and Glenn are amazing hosts within wonderful Old Mazatlan. We were looking for a change from the 'all inclusive' experience and got the mexican culture, local fare, and community feel we were seeking. The breakfast and weekend brunch was amazing! We had a gorgeous sunset cruise and a super-fun shrimp/Pacifico lunch at one of the neighborhood BBQ joints. Don't forget to ask about the music!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

On a previous trip to Mazatlan we happened topass by the Casa de Leyendas and met with Sharon and Glenn, who were then working hard to get the Macaw Cafe up and running. They were very friendly and helpful so we decided that the next time we visited Mazatlan we would stay at the Casa. The opportunity arose in February and so we booked and even though Carnivale was in full swing we were n ot disappointed. The old town is a fascinating area to visit and as the Casa is right in the middle of it we immediately felt at home. Sharon and Glenn are wonderful hosts and their staff are equally accomodating. Our room was spotless and the meals were also excellent and we were always made to feel that we were special. The only drawback was the bedlam coming from the festivities. It made it very hard to sleep the first night but after that we felt we could sleep through anything, and we did. On the final night of Carnivale everthing wrapped up at about 3:00 a,m, and at about 4:00 a.m. I woke up with a start wondering What was wrong: Everything was so quiet! Seriously Carnivale is great fun and staying there while it was on was truly a wonderful experience.
I absolutely recommend the Casa de Leyendas as a great place to stay. We will dfefinitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Mazatlan, where we spent half our time in the historic center at the Casa de Leyendas and half our time on the beach in the Golden Zone. We couldn't have been happier with our selection of hotels on either count. Glenn and Sharon were wonderful hosts! The day we arrived they hosted a party for guests and friends to watch the Carnaval fireworks from the roof of the B&B. This was SPECTACULAR!! Probably the most dramatic fireworks display I've ever witnessed, particularly because on the roof we were right in the middle of the action!

The room was marvelous. We stayed in #4, the Peralta Room, and I would definitely recommend it. It is bigger than most rooms (and costs a touch more), but you get an extra sitting room (which we loved) and a giant bathroom with double sinks. Plus, you get a partial ocean view from the sitting room window! The bed was extremely comfy, the decor was lovely, and the room had nice little touches like a sound machine to block out noise (which we put to good use since the hotel is right in the middle of the Carnaval action, which meant live music until the wee hours!) and an in-room safe.

The shared spaces are excellent, too. There's a giant TV with cable, so when we were taking a break from the live music of Carnaval, we got to catch up on a few NBA games. The rooftop deck is a great place to watch the ocean or, during Carnaval, watch the parade and live music.

If you are traveling to Mazatlan, and staying in the historic center, you should absolutely stay here. You will not be disappointed!

The breakfasts were a delight -- lots of different items to choose from, and all delicious

Room Tip: Room #4 (Peralta Room) is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Before we booked our reservations, I checked out all the reviews and thought it sounded too good to be true. I mean, it's impossible to please everyone, yet it sounded like they do. We needed a place to stay for the last 4 days of our trip so we booked a room and were NOT disappointed. This place is great and Glenn and Sharon are the perfect hosts. They recommended several restaurants and things to do, provided maps and directions to places we wanted to go, booked on-site massages and were able to arrange a private sunset cruise for us at a discounted price. Our room was adorable and cozy and the beds were very comfortable. We were there during Carnival and loved watching the fireworks and parade from the roof. If our travels ever lead us back to Mazatlan, we'll definitely stay at Casa de Leyendas again.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa De Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Leyendas

Address: Venustiano Carranza #4 | Centro Historico, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leyendas is a totally refurbished 8,000 square foot hacienda bed & breakfast with over 2,000 square feet of additional outside terrazzo space. Located in the heart of the central historic district and only 200 feet from the ocean, this casa feels like home away from home. Experience the past and enjoy the present. History, culture, arts and music surround this magnificent bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Leyendas Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Leyendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.