We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Save Saved
You added El Cid Granada Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Cid Granada Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free 1-Way Transportation
Ranked #10 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed at the Granada for one week. Liked the quietness of the Granada pool compared to the others. Liked that we had access to all other resorts. Pedro at the Italian restaurant was fabulous.
My complaints were:
1. The vendors on the beach. What is the the point of having it roped up if they are allowed to walk up to my chair and bother me. I could only lay one the beach for half a day before getting annoyed and had to move to the pool.
2. A la Carte restaurants. They said they you had to make reservations 24 hrs in advance. Well we tried for some days in advance and all we could get is a 9:00 sitting.

I would recommend this hotel if you get it at a cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Dear lawgrl08

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the hotel. Anytime we receive positive or negative comments, our management teams uses the information for additional training with the staff. The information that you provide will help us in creating a better team and provide superior service for our next guest.

Please consider our resort for your future vacations and festivities since we hope to host you soon again.

Sincerely,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    105
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
88
83
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were only staying there for three days and then moving to our time share. We arrived and checked in which took about 20 minutes, we were asked if we would like to pay an additional $25 per night to move to the El Morro tower and we declined. We went to our room to discover directly across the hall were the propane tanks and motors for all the air conditioning units for the hotel. We told the bell boy no way so we went back to the front desk and told the gal it was unacceptable. She spent another 30 minutes finding another room, all the while answering phones, visiting with other employees etc. we didn't get ten steps from the front desk when she motioned us back and said that the room she had given us was filled. Then she got on the phone again and pretty soon we were being moved across the street to El Cid Morro, we checked in there and were taken to our room which we are pretty sure it was the bargain basement. It was first floor but we had to go down a floor from the main floor to get to it. It just reeked of mold. I refused to take anything out of our suitcases because I didn't want it to smell of mold. The pool in front of our room was supposed to be the VIP pool and was filthy, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in quite some time. We had the breakfast buffet one morning, very pricey and everything was cold. We were asked one afternoon while sitting by the pool if our room was o.k. and I told her about the mold and mildew smell, she asked if we would like another room and we said that we would be leaving in the morning. When we got back to our room there was a man in there pouring stuff down the drains for the smell, but the smell was coming from the air-conditioning unit. We have no desire to stay at any El Cid again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Dear CheeseheadsII

It was quite unsettling for us to learn of your experience at our resort. At El Cid Resorts we aim for very high standards and it disappoints us terribly that your experience fell short of what we aim to provide.

We find your impressions of our staff especially surprising since more than any other area of our hotel the staff is consistently receiving praises from our guests. We will investigate your claims and follow up with the necessary retraining to prevent a reoccurrence of this nature.

We have noted all your concerns and will address the issues highlighted with the aim of resolving and eliminating these deficiencies.

Thanks for having chosen us and for taking the time to share your concerns.

Best regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed here with the all-inclusive package Feb 17th - 24th. When we booked the hotel we were looking for an economical all-inclusive that we could just relax at, and this was great for us. We didn't mind being a block off the beach as there was a walk way over to the Castilla. We usually just packed up our beach bag in the morning and headed over the pool for the rest of the day. The pools very nice and comfortably warm and they kept the pool/beach area very clean. We also enjoyed walking miles up and down the beach in both directions. The Granada is an older hotel, but overall kept up and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at all the restaurants multiple times. Our favorite was Argentina one that was located in the Granada. We thought of it more as a steak house and their fillet is wonderful. My daughter thought the burgers that were served at lunch around the pool and at the Patio Restaurant were the best she ever ate. We saw most of the shows and they were ok and did a good job at involving the audience. Our favorite was the Aladin show. Aladin is very funny.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Dear sljce

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review of our hotel. We value our guest's opinion of our hotel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that the next time you are in Mazatlan you come stay with us or just say hi.
We value all of our guests and love to see familiar faces pop in. Again I want to thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you have a wonderful day.

Thank you again.

Regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

When we booked with travel agent, we requested an ocean view room. Paid for ticket receipt arrived and said ocean view. When we checked into El Cid Granda, realized the this hotel was a block away from the ocean. Too tired to deal with that night, went to front desk in the AM and asked to change. They booked us into a room with pool and ocean view on the sixth floor, of the EL Cid Castilla. Were quoted one price but paid different when time for check out MORE. The staff in the resort were great, but the ladies behind the info desk pestered you to sit in on the time share meeting, hated to make eye contact for fear to have to say no again, surely the resort should be a safe place. I hate to be rude to people, no means no.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Dear Phoneguywayne

We take the feedback from each guest very seriously and appreciate your candid comments.

We are sorry to hear about the service issues with the information desk staff. We take all of our guest issues very seriously and have already addressed these with our the department director and all appropriate staff to be sure they have been making the necessary adjustments to correct these issues These are very important areas to us and we want to be sure that we offer the best possible service to ensure that our guests receive the value, the condition and promptness that our guest find appropriate.

Again thank you for your comments as our entire staff use these to continually strive to make our guest stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.

We regret any inconvenience caused to our guests and welcome their return at any time.
.
My best regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Granada is definetly dated in decor but the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. El Patio was our favorite of all the El Cid restaurants.

We spent most of our time over at the Castillo pool, but the Granada was a nice break from the activity of the El Cid complex.

The check in at the spa is a little confusing, but the services were good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Dear Chicag0Sunseeker

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at El Cid Granada Country Club. We value our customers and want everyone to have a pleasurable experience as guests of our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your comments. We are focusing on completing all of our renovations as quickly as possible. We have been able to complete the 50% of our total renovation project.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in our newly renovated look property. We strive to give our entire guest a personal touch and our staff makes every effort to assure our guest of that.

See you soon!

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

El Cid Granada is an older resort, offering respite from normal bustle of Mazatlan. Unit amenities are somewhat dated but satisfy all needs. Staff, especially Front Desk Manager Daniel Cazares Medina, are extremely helpful, courteous and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear PoLoBoise_ID

I have read your recent review and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your positive feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

This kind of comments inspired me and our staff to commit to excellence in order to satisfy the expectations of well educated travelers like you.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hospitality in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed at El Cid Granada as I had a wedding to attend (held at El Cid Castilla). The Granada was fantastic!

Our room was nothing special, as expected with a 3-star hotel, but it had a kitchenette which was a plus. The beds were comfortable; we awoke to the sound of doves every morning. There was a little street noise, but nothing that required earplugs. Everyday, the cleaning staff left chocolates on our pillows - something our family at Castilla did not experience. The room also had a hairdryer, which was an unexpected bonus.

As we had the all-inclusive package, we had access to all the restaurants and amenities of the entire resort. El Patio was a little gem - it was never busy for breakfast or lunch (I didn't eat there for dinner) and the staff, especially Cesar, was fantastic. I dined alone a few times and Cesar always made sure I was well looked after and then my drink was never empty. El patio is located by a quiet, heated pool - my favorite as the weather was a little cooler when I visited.

For dinner most nights, we ate at the buffet and stayed for the spectacular 8pm show. Each night the buffet had a different feature ranging from shrimp to pizza - something for everyone. The buffet was also a nice breakfast choice. La Cascada was my favorite restaurant - a great selection of Mexican food.

I had a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear AlbertaRee

Thank you for such a great review which reflects your personal impressions and at the same time is very objective.

Our experienced team will always try doing extra to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. It might be something like an early check-in, a warm smile, the way we really listen to our guests and try to meet all their needs. Because we know, a satisfied customer will come back.

Our customers (you) are amazing and they are the reason for our success. In such a competitive market we are continually reinventing ourselves to stay afloat. That is why your feedback is an important learning tool for us.

In the hope to be able to host you again in the near future we remain in the meantime with

Kind regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Granada Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Granada Country Club

Address: Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cid Granada Country Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty, warmth and tranquility of Mazatlan and experience "Real Mexico" at our welcoming El Cid Granada Country Club. This intimate Mexican-style retreat offers the idyllic blend of pleasure and relaxation making it the ideal hideaway in the heart of the convenient and highly popular Golden Zone.Only steps away from world-class golf, spa and tennis facilities along with the sun-splashed restaurants, beach, and pools of El Cid Castilla Beach, just a stroll away. • Ideal for seniors and guests seeking solitude • Secluded area for relaxing, reading and sunbathing • Garden courtyard swimming pool • Easy access to El Cid Castilla Beach facilities via sky bridge • In walking distance from El Cid Golf and Country Club offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center and access to restaurants, including the Prime Grill restaurant, Sushi Bar and Villa Italia. • European & All-Inclusive Plans • Inviting El Patio restaurant serving delicious Argentinean cuisine • WIFI Internet Access • Pronatours Tour Desk at nearby El Cid hotels • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid Granada Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Granada Country Club Hotel Mazatlan
El Cid Granada Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Granada Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;