We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Save Saved
You added El Cid Granada Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid Granada Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #13 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“First time and very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our first time in Mazatlan and we were very satisfied with our experience at the El Cid Granada. We found the staff at the front desk and restaurants very helpful and friendly. Two bellboys in particular, Audomaro and Israel provided us with everything we needed especially when it came to helping us find and get to a local school which we visited. When we go back to Mazatlan, hopefully soon, we will stay at the El Cid Granada again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear, Slavo F

What a pleasant review! I´m feel proud in among options you choose El Cid Granada for have your first experience in our beautiful port of Mazatlan.

I will share your comments with Audomaro , Israel and the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts.

We value you as a guest and look forward to seeing you again very soon for your next stay at El Cid Granada. Please let us know next time you are coming so we can make it even more extra special for you!

Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    104
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
88
83
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've stayed at El Cid a few times and each time I'm always disappointed. When I first checked in, my friend and I arrived at 4:30pm, well after the check in time and when we were given our key to the suite overlooking the street, we came across a filthy room that had not been cleaned up. In fact, there were used diapers on display for us to see. While I do not envy the housekeepers and am embarrassed for the folks staying in the room before us as they obviously have terrible manners, my experience was ruined from the moment I stepped in. The best thing about the hotel was the room service as I love room service and am critical about the hotel's food service to the rooms.
Would not recommend this hotel unless it was absolutely necessary. Mazatlan is filled with excellent places to stay and with better service. Won't be making the same mistake twice.

Room Tip: If you like suites but hate hearing car traffic, don't stay in the suite overlooking the streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear, sb_loves…
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at El Cid Granada Country Club.

I sincerely appreciate that you enjoyed the quality and service of room service that you enjoyed during your stay this gets closer to what the Cid has to offer.

We have addressed the maid service difficulties you had so will not see this on your next visit. We continue to make updates and adjustments to the hotel and value the feedback.

Comments may not always be positive but allow us to evaluate and make decisions based on our guest’s feedback.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, I’m sure you do not be disappointing.

Warmest regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Granada March 19th to April 2nd. This was our second trip to this resort and it was even more amazing than the last. The rooms are very spacious with very comfy beds. Its great to have a fridge in your room. The staff at this hotel are fantastic. Ceaser and Noe at the Italian restaurant make our stay very special. Francisco at the pool is extremely attentive and fun. Frank and all the activity staff play all kinds of tasteful fun games perfect for families. The lifeguards at the pool are top notch especially my favourite Carlos he is truly exceptional. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear, France C

Thank you so much for trust in us and give us the opportunity to serve you for second time. We are more than grateful in among options at Mazatlan you choosing El Cid Granada.

It’s pleasant to read that you had the opportunity to visit our 3 hotels, two of them on your last visit, for the I can read the staff work hard to met your expectations, I'm proud to them to know that each of them take care of each detail during your stay, and make you feel at home, that is the true aim of our Resort.

We hope to keep continue with your preference, be assure that I will share your nice words with front desk, Cesar, Adam, en the rest of the staff.

My best wishes,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were at El Cid Castilla in Feb/14 for one week. We loved it so much my daughter and I went back for 2 weeks and just got back April 4th. Our room was at Granada, it was very nice and clean but was too much walking back and forth for us. The guys at the front desk worked very hard and upgraded us to El Moro tower. Ocean view 12th floor it was great. Frank that does the entertainment did a great job they are a lot of fun the pool is bigger on that side and great for the kids. We do prefer the Castilla side so that is where we sat most of the time. Just like our previous trip Cesar and his team were great and the water balloon fight was a lot of fun. I don't know what to say anymore we just love the place,,,clean,,very good food,,,the staff is the best,,beach is great,,,very safe place to go on vacation. We are actually planning our 3rd trip at the same place for December. The outside restaurant is now finish,,can't wait to go back and eat by the ocean. When you go eat at the Pergola ask for Adam,,what ever it is you need he will get for you,,such great service and when you sit outside by the pool, sit in Enrique's section you won't go thirsty and you will always be served with a smile. I guess you would say El Cid is our home away from home,,without the work!!! and going from Edmonton you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: If you find that walking from Granada is too much just ask the guys at the front desk to upgrade you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear France C,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us as a place to stay during their trip to Mazatlan and also for your nice and encouraging comments about our staff that made your stay more pleasant.

I will let them know about your good comments because this is the only effective way to learn, from a guests’ perspective, our strong, but also our weak points and to improve our service.
I'm very happy to hear that you spent 2 vacations here and you are making plans for next holidays.

We will make sure you and your family have a good time for third time.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sánchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from two weeks at the Granada. We were there with two other family members from March 8 - 21 and stayed in a one bedroom with attached studio. The hotel is older but very clean. We arrived on an early flight expecting to wait for our room but the room was ready and the staff very welcoming. Throughout our stay the staff was outstanding. Everyone was always smiling and ready to help you with any questions or concerns though we had none.
There are only two negatives with our stay. First was the cost of WIFI and the internet. It was expensive 330 pesos per week for one WIFI connection. The second was the lack of shade at the beach. We had to walk a short distance across the street to the beach which was fine but there was a definite lack of palapas on the beach and guests would put towels on the chairs under them and never show up during the day. There was a private company on the beach for sports and they would rent an umbrella for about $13.00 US. Check out was easy. We were told a taxi to the airport was $30.00 US but the driver insisted on $40.00.
All-in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We went to a timeshare meeting and received four free passes to the Mexican Fiesta which we really enjoyed. The food was delicious and the drinks flowed. I would visit this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Carol Anne M,

Thank you off your time to write your recent stay. We appreciate that you share your comments with us. I am happy to hear that you received good service from our staff who was always smiling and ready to help and also that you and your husband enjoyed our Mexican Fiesta and exceeded their expectations.

About your inconveniences that you had with the guests whom put towels on the chairs, I will check with the security staff to take more care about this situation so the people don't reserve the beach chairs and not show up during all the day. In fact now this information is showing up at our Cid News every day.

Regarding about the price of the Wi-Fi, it is because we have an external company that personally check every inconvenient you may have with internet service, that's why we charge for it.

I am glad to receive your comments to improve our services and to take as an area for improvements as you are the most important factor for us. We are hoping that you decide to come back very soon and see our hard efforts in providing the best service.

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sánchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

very accomadating. We love the atmosphere at Granada and find that are needs are fully taken care of. We will most certainly go back next year if health permits us to travel. Daniel and Pedro took good care of our wishes and we only had to ask and we got our wishes fully satisfied. THe Mex Fiesta on Wed Eve was very entertaining. Keep up the good work. One thing is needed arailing going dowwn to the pool area on the rt hand side. Perfecto Juanita and Riccardo from Pennsylvania. See you all next year.

Room Tip: Keep up what you do best assist people with their wishes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear, Blonddoll

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. It sounds like you were really able to relax and enjoy our property and Mazatlan as a whole. We are so pleased that you found our hotel perfect for your needs and our location was ideal for you. We are so happy to read that you found our staff to be all that you were expecting and always there to help with a recommendation or suggestion.

Please do come and see us again.

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the El Cid Granada for 2 weeks, 4 adults in a 1 bedroom, room 3022 & 3023.
The room faced the parking lot on the pool side, was very quiet , clean & comfortable with lots of storage. We arrived on March 08, 2014 @ 12:30 PM, our room was ready, check in was a breeze, changed & headed to the Mega for groceries as we did not take the AI, we were sitting @ the pool by 3:PM. I can't say enough about the staff @ this hotel they were great, if you had questions or needed something they were only too pleased to help you, we were treated like guests should be treated. We went to the Mexican Fiesta on Wednesday night, really worth attending, our waiters were excellent & also lots of fun; the food was really good & lots of it, so were the Margaritas. We went to beach a lot which is across the street just a short walk, the beach is beautiful you can walk out for a long ways before it gets deep, there are lots of vendors on the beach you just have to say no thanks & they move on.
The negative: if you want shade @ the beach be prepared to get up as early as 4:AM to get a palapa, some days the palapas had towels on them when we arrived and were empty all day; if you want you can rent an umbrella for $13.00 US per day, we chose not too, there are not nearly enough palapas for the amount of EL Cid Hotels that use that beach.
The internet wifi @ the hotel is very expensive $330.00 pesos per week ($30.00) CDN for 1 connection, if you have 2 or 3 devices it is more, the internet was very slow & would shut down a lot, was not too happy after paying that much for 1 week.
I would definitely return to La Granada, it is not a big hotel , so its easy to get around, also very quiet, we felt really safe there., would prefer Granada to other El Cid's as they were very busy and noisy.
Thank You to all the staff who made us feel so welcomed, we look forward to seeing you all again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear tbirdmama,

Many thanks for taking time and effort to share your wonderful experiences to the readers of the Trip Advisor. I am very glad to read about your kind review and charming words about the facilities, beautiful beach, rooms, beverage, food, and that you enjoyed our Mexican Fiesta.

I apologize about the inconvinces you had with the Wi-Fi connection, the reason why we charge for it, is because we count with an external company that personally take care of any problems that you can have with the connection so I will make sure with them everything is working in the correct way.

And regarding about the palapas at the beach, we are taking care about this situation with the security staff to improve this situation with the guest in let them know the rules that they can reserve the beach chairs if they are not using them. In fact, this information is now showing up at the Cid News so the guest will know about it.

Once again I will like to thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback because each guest comment is without a doubt an opportunity to all the team members, as this will tremendously help us in continuously and consistently improve on our services.

We hope to see you back next year, I know you will have a good time again.

Best Regards,

Salvatore Sánchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Granada Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Granada Country Club

Address: Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cid Granada Country Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty, warmth and tranquility of Mazatlan and experience "Real Mexico" at our welcoming El Cid Granada Country Club. This intimate Mexican-style retreat offers the idyllic blend of pleasure and relaxation making it the ideal hideaway in the heart of the convenient and highly popular Golden Zone.Only steps away from world-class golf, spa and tennis facilities along with the sun-splashed restaurants, beach, and pools of El Cid Castilla Beach, just a stroll away. • Ideal for seniors and guests seeking solitude • Secluded area for relaxing, reading and sunbathing • Garden courtyard swimming pool • Easy access to El Cid Castilla Beach facilities via sky bridge • In walking distance from El Cid Golf and Country Club offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center and access to restaurants, including the Prime Grill restaurant, Sushi Bar and Villa Italia. • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Inviting El Patio restaurant serving delicious Argentinean cuisine • WIFI Internet Access • Pronatours Tour Desk at nearby El Cid hotels • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your El Cid Granada Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Granada Country Club Hotel Mazatlan
El Cid Granada Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Granada Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.