We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Save Saved
You added El Cid Granada Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
El Cid Granada Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in a studio with kitchenette. Having the fridge and stove was very convenient in putting together some meals in our room with the seafood and produce we picked up at the market. NIce clean room just steps from the pool. Very quiet which was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear sir or lady let me thank you for selecting our hotel to stay. I am so glad to know you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, that is our commitment, to make our guests go back home with wonderful memories of the stay.

We hope to see you again!!!

Sincerely,

Salvador Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    98
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
83
82
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Granada is well priced for the size of the rooms, the pool is beautiful and quiet. The location is seconds from everything, Right in the middle of the Golden Zone, close to shopping, buses and the beach. Christian the activity director is the best. He is there every day to help you speak Spanish, play bingo, watch movies and list of other things.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear frien, thank you for sharing your comments! As you mention, we are in located just in the heart of the golden zone, what makes it easy to walk everywhere.

We agree with you, Christian is a very part of our staff, he is always willing to help you and assist you, and for that we are very proud of him.

We hope to have you with us very soon.

Hasta pronto!!!

Salvador Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, british columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from a fun and relaxing trip to Mazatlan with our 14 year old sons. A large reason for the success of the trip was the El Cid Granada. Everything about this hotel suited our needs perfectly! The staff is excellent and it is well serviced. Everyone was very helpful and went out of their way to do so. Chairs were pulled out at for us at the restaurant and dishes cleared away immediately. Also, when I was at the beach one afternoon looking for loungers, a staff member came to my assistance and moved loungers for me and my family and created spots for us. Upon arrival, we were dropped off at the Castilla Beach Hotel which is a short covered walkway away from the Granada. The boys were initially disappointed that we were not staying there as it was much larger, right on the beach, and closer to the buffets. However, after a couple of days, we all agreed that we were lucky to be at the Granada. First of all, all the amenities at the Castilla were available to Granada guests, there were no line ups ever at the reception desk (speedy check in and check out), there was a lovely, quiet pool at the Granada right by our room and THE best a la carte restaurant, El Patio, is located on the premises. The food at the buffets was excellent, especially the outdoor one right by the beach. The beach was amazing and the boys enjoyed the free boogie board rentals offered to hotel guests. We also took advantage of the parasailing offered by a local Mexican company on the beach. There was never a problem finding a spot on the beach because it is very long and the staff is extremely helpful in this regard. I am a gym rat and the fitness facility at the Granada is pretty decently equipped with three well working treadmills and other cardio machines, as as well as free weights and machines. The hours of the gym are good, too. There was also daily beach volleyball. We had a wonderful vacation and would definitely go to the El Cid again!

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms facing the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear kacey66

Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at this your home. We are so proud to know that you found our products and services up to the mark. I am glad to read as well that you and your family took advantage of the services offered at El Cid Castilla and had a great time. We work very hard in order to offer memorable vacation to our beloved guests, so can be sure that we will continue delivering enjoyable vacation.

If for your next visit there is anything else we can do to make your time with us more memorable, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Warmest regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have stayed at three of the El Cid Resort properties in Mazatlan: El Moro, Castilla and Granada. Of the three, Granada is the most laid back and peaceful. It is the oldest part of the resort but, I think, the best - primarily because of the staff. What lovely people. Thanks to Daniel, Pedro, Juan Carlos, Ellie, Alex, Nestor, Francisco and (last but not least) Christian - the Activities Manager. We had a great time. El Cid offers many diverse activities and dining choices and several small and inexpensive restaurants within easy walking distance. There is also a stage show every night with some very talented people. My favorite activities were was just laying about at the heated pool , catching up on my reading and soaking in the rays. I know that I and my family and friends will be back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, ask for a room or suite on the 1st floor. This will give you ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear anneevanega

Thank you so much for selecting El Cid Granada to stay, your loyalty to El Cid Resorts is much appreciated. It is really glad to know that once more you had a great vacation with us and to hear that you already has experienced some of our sister hotels like Castilla and Moro, each one of them offers different activities and entertainment to our beloved guests.

I am happy to share your comments with the staff you mention by name motivating them to excel further in our service belief, be feel greatly proud having them as part of El Cid´s family.

We will be grateful to have your family and you as our guests again, rest assure that we will pamper you again.

Kind regards,
Raul Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the Granada for 1 week. Our first time to an El Cid & first time to Mazatlan. We stayed there in March. We had a great time. The staff was great & friendly & spoke english. A must see is the Central Market down-town. You will have to take a cab. There is flea markets about 2 blocks up. Also, a must is going to Marys burgers. Its a block up on the same side.THE BEST BURGERS. There is a walk-way bridge which joins the Castilla, which is also included. Be sure to ask though cause a couple arent. Also a must is take advantage of the ala carte restaurants, as there also included. You have to make reservations though. Our last night there we ate at the Sushi restaurant. The food & beverage manager Yaid, put on a show of flaming drinks & desserts for us WOW. We also had a fruit,cheese & wine basket sent up to our room by Jorge WOW. We will be back. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Our room was big & spacious & above the pool. It was quiet. Be sure you ask for a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Maureen h

We are thrilled to read that you have selected El Cid Granada to stay in this your visit to Mazatlan. Secondly, I love to read that you have had a perfect vacation and enjoyed of our facilities, service and food. We work very hard to achieve our goal in order you have a wonderful vacation. I am glad as well that you explored our beautiful city and had a great time visiting town.

I will make sure to share your encouraging words with all the staff of the Granada hotel and the Japanese restaurant of course. by the way Yahig Gurrola and Jorge Rangel are glad to know that you felt pampered with attentions to your person.

We will be more than happy having you with us again

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

this is for christian, the one person that made our holiday at the granada most enjoyable. he entertained, made us laugh alot and was very helpful in every respect plus he spoke and understood english perfectly. great food at both hotels and the staff were excellent....shall return next year...thanks for everything. ron & bonnie winnipeg march 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear ron m

Thank you for choosing El Cid to spent your vacation with us. We want you to know that is very importante for us know that you appreciate Christian´s job, he is a very valuable staff member for us, and we are very proud to have him on our staff.

Hopefully we will see you next year.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Once again we had a great time while we stayed at the Granada. We would like to thank, the front desk staff, the restaurant staff and our room staff for a job well done. They were always professional, friendly and helpful. They spoke English very well and smiled when we tried our very bad Spanish! We lacked for nothing the full 4 weeks we were there. I agree with Bandolie the side street noise was noticeable, but with the fan running in the room it helped to block it out. The Granada is a great place to stay and Mazatlan is a safe holiday to consider. Daniel and his staff make a long stay very enjoyable and go by to quickly!

Room Tip: If you take a room on the top floor the vaulted ceilings are a nice touch. The further back you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear got2travelsoon

First of all, let me thank you for your loyalty. We greatly appreciate your compliments in regards to the excellent service delivered by the staff and our property. I can assure you that our staff was happy taking care of you, by the way, I already shared your review with them.

For your next visit, I would appreciate if you contact me to assign you a quieter room, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Your friend,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Granada Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Granada Country Club

Also Known As:
El Cid Granada Country Club Hotel
El Cid Granada Country Club Hotel Mazatlan
El Cid Granada Country Hotel
El Cid Granada
Address: Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cid Granada Country Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Cid Granada Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Granada Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.