We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tequila cheese!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho's

Pancho's
Cameron Sabalo, Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 248 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Try the tequila cheese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The coconut shrimp is delightful. Each shrimp at least 3 bites big Excellent flavour. The tequila cheese is a great taste treat and performance. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worland, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poncho's across from pueblo bonito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Been here 4Days and have eaten here 3 times! I can not get enough of the fresh sea bass or dorado! The vegetables are fresh and cooked perfect! Many places in Mexico over cook vegetables and they are watery. Service is friendly and great! Have had good California wine here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Pancho's (across the street from Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan) is an excellent restaurant - exceptional service, nice extras, delicious food and two eating areas that offer different experiences. Eating outside is more like a typical Mexican restaurant experience - a lovely patio setting. Inside, the atmosphere is more upscale with hacienda colors on the walls, nice art work, high ceilings and lighting that makes for a lovely ambiance.
The service is wonderful - attentive but not intrusive - and they offer some nice (gratis) extras such as several sauces for the chips - a Texas caviar-type pico de gallo and a really nice salsa that is smoky and delicious. They also gave us a small tequila drink pre dinner and a post dinner kahlua type drink that was a nice way to end the meal.
I loved the marlin tacos at Arre Lulu (by La Playa) but it closed a while back, sadly. I looked for them everywhere we went but no one served them. They are not on Pancho's menu but they had another marlin dish, had the ingredients and made the marlin tacos for me. They were excellent! My husband loves queso fundito (heart attack in a bowl) and Pancho's was the best he's ever had (and he is a bit of a connoisseur of the stuff). The menu has selections that would appeal to everyone - vegetarian, seafood lover, meat lover, traditional Mexican food. We went twice on our last trip and will definitely be back many more times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“good food...great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Food was great and reasonably priced. The carne asada was wonderful. Desserts left a bit to be desired, but the kaulua afterwards was a nice touch

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Panchos on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great food & service. Lots of little "extras" like appetizers, shots of their own special hooch, and kahlua & cream after dinner. Very clean, great view. We met Pancho personally, and he is often available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Pancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.