We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change of pace.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lauren's Restaurant

Lauren's Restaurant
Carnaval 1205, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
915 6360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 223 restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“A nice change of pace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lauren's Restaurant is in the Historic Center of Mazatlan, Mexico. It is in a fairly new Boutique Hotel called The Jonathan. The Hotel was in construction last year when we visited the Plaza Machado, and the owners have done a nice job. The interior is modern, and very smart. The steaks were very good, and the presentation was beautiful. The staff worked hard to provide a comfortable dinning experience. I would have given 5 stars, but the menu lacked any real vegitarian options other than salad. However, they did prepare a beautiful salad for the one person in our party who did not eat any type of flesh. I will certainly return there to eat again as soon as I reurn to Mazatlan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First Rate Mexican Style Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped into Lauren's Restaurant at Jonathan's Boutique Hotel in Plazuela Machado for breakfast prior to touring the Performing Arts Center & Opera House across the way, on Tuesday, January 22, 2013. Great decision on our part.

Lauren's is a beautiful restaurant that attains a contemporary yet comfortable atmosphere. The wait staff is very professional and not intrusive. The food is absolutely excellent.

My wife went for the Lengua (beef Tongue) In Red Sauce, with a side of country style potatoes and a sunny-side egg. It was a substantial portion. Our expectations were exceeded. It was tender, flavorful yet not overwhelmed by the sauce.

I chose the Lauren's Combo which included strips of beef sauteed in a red sauce with onions, peppers and spices, green chiliquiles, scrambled eggs with diced ham and as spectacular a serving of black beans that I have ever experienced. Yes, they were that good. The beef was very good but stood little chance juxtaposed with the Lengua. Everything was delightful including our coffees.

What added that special touch is the Soprano practicing maybe 75 feet away from our table. It was a breakfast that we will never forget.

There is one problem that is very fixable which would make it much more likely that we will return. The female restroom is a disaster. We have been to Jonathan's three times on this trip, to tour the hotel, have a drink in the Sky Bar and for breakfast at Lauren's. All are first rate facilities that would hold up in any city that we have visited, but the woman's restroom in the lobby, just outside the restaurant is a disgrace at this time. It has been this way for over a week.

Please management, do yourself a favor and fix the damned plumbing. I love your restaurant, your bar and your hotel but my wife has her priorities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a small communication issue, we enjoyed a delicious dinner at Lauren's. The waiter's did not speak much
English but we were able to order what we wanted and were pleasantly surprised. The Mahi-Mahi with shrimp was tremendous. Try the Chocolate crepes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great american breakfast near Machado Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant is located in the Jonathan Hotel. We had a fantastic breakfast here consisting of poached eggs, bacon, sausage and toast. The prices are reasonable, the coffee excellent and the staff incredibly friendly. The bartender spoke very good English and helped explain "poached eggs" to our waiter. Next trip to Mazatlan, we intend to stay at this hotel - the rooms look beautiful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatlan mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Lauren's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although reviews for this restaurant for dinner have been very mixed, I had a surprisingly good breakfast there with a friend. The setting, of course, is very elegant and the service was prompt, friendly and helpful. There is an extensive menu with some unusual items and some expected offerings with a twist. As I usually choose salty over sweet, I decided to be different and had their cinnamon apple waffle. The waffle was cooked perfectly - crisp outside and fluffy inside and was served with a drizzle of local honey. A friend had eggs cooked as ordered with several sauces over tortillas. They offer espresso drinks and their house coffee is acceptable. The cost was no more than good local specialty breakfast places,
Several tables were occupied but the atmosphere was calm and relaxed. Well worth another visit

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauren's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lauren's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauren's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.