We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jonathon

Save Saved
You added The Jonathon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jonathon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carnaval 1205 Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Jonathon during our recent trip to Mazatlan. It was a lovely and enjoyable experience! The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They all spoke english so there weren't any communication issues. Mostly, I was very happy because they all entertained my millions of silly questions with a smile! We got 2 standard rooms, both which could comfortably accomodate 2 people. It felt very posh and luxurious with its modern and contemporary decor. Everything was very clean and you can tell there was a keen attention by the staff to maintain the cleanliness and upscale nature of the hotel. Also, after a long day out, the bed was just heavenly! We dined at the Lauren restaurant (in the hotel) one of the nights, and the meal was good - but definitely with an American twist. But after being out in the sun all day, we really enjoyed hanging out up on the terrace bar looking out over the city. The restaurant and bar seem to be popular with the locals, which adds tons of credibility to the experience.

My most favorite part of the hotel was its location! While most visitors to MZT likely stay in the Zona Dorada, we actually were much happier staying in the Old City. During the day, we'd grab a pulmonia (little golf cart taxi thing unique to mazatlan!) or walk the long walk up (3-4 miles in total, but flat and easy walk) the malecon (boardwalk along the coast) and head to the beaches in the gold zone (fact: the beaches are gorg in the north). However, the BEST part was leaving the vegas lights and spring break/senor frog crowds in the gold zone and heading back to the old city to experience some real Mexican/Mazatlan culture. The Plaza Machada was beautiful with tons of al fresco dining, and locals attending shows at the Angela Peralta theater or just sitting on a bench and people watching. It is a very warm and welcoming area and we always felt safe and secure, even when returning to the hotel after a late night out.

Highly recommend and if I visit again, I'd definitely stay at the Jonathon again!

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper - on Fri and Sat night, the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of my favorite places in Mazatlan Mexico is Machodo (probably spelled wrong) It is like being in Europe. This is just off Old Mazatlan where the market is. It is a big square with restaurants all around. Just off the square is a brand new building that is really kind of art deco. This is a boutique Hotel with a rooftop lounge. The restaurant in the Hotel is called Laurens. It had one of the better meals that we enjoyed during our stay. This location isn't on the ocean but we found ourselves coming here most at night. You can always spend your days at the Malecon or on the beach. If you like little boutique hotels in great little corners of interest this is it. Prices are fair

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was initially concerned about staying at the Jonathan because there weren't any reviews when I booked the trip, but I decided to take a chance because the rates were good. I am so glad that I did! First, the neighborhood was ideal; right in the heart of Old Town and away from the tourist traps and neon lights I despise. The Jonathan is right across from the theatre and maybe 30 meters from Machado Square. The rooms are small and the furnature sparse, but the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom, especially the shower, was delightful. The pictures are an accurate reflection of the layout though. I do have a couple of issues with the Jonathan however. First, the "pool" isn't a pool as much as it is a fountain without shooting water :) I expected honestly to see coins in the bottom! Next, there are no amenities to speak of (i.e. hot tub, fitness equip, business center, etc), but I didn't come to Mazatlan for that and if you're like me and use a hotel for sleep and down time, then this place is perfect! The marina to Stone Island is close, museums and great restaurants are easily within walking distance, the shopping is epic (real boutiques with local artist's work, and 3 blocks from the beach! The hotel's restaurant, The Lauren, was fabulous. We had breakfast there most mornings, and their staff, too, was wonderful. A couple of things to mention: Old Town in the evenings is noisy, so bring some earplugs if you like to crash early, and (2) there's no parking. Overall, I loved the hotel!

Some tips: (1) Eat at Topolo and Pauline's. They are each very close. (2) Have a taxi take you to the top of that hill next to the old town beach. The views are incredible. (3) Go to Stone Island and rent 4 wheelers. (5) Go to the Central Market

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to one of the suites. They're MUCH larger and have actual furnature (other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I planned my wife birthday at the Jonathon. The manger Raymond and his staff were outstanding in every way. The Cheif Sam made her day very special with a great dinner and birthday cake. We stayed in there master suite and they way they did the room with rose peddles and candles was just some of the small details they did . Thank you to all
at the Jonathon hotel.
Great time and a great sleep.
Randy & Fernanda

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jonathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jonathon

Address: Carnaval 1205 Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jonathon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Jonathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jonathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.