We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Funky Monkey Hostel
Save
You added Funky Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Culiacan, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Style!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

best desition ever!
confortable! nice! clean! service!
you gotta know it!!
it is easy to go to the beach and the touristic zone, you can even have fun in the hostel, there is a great pool, tv living room, wi-fi, and great people ;)
super recomendable ;)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Laid back place not far from the beach. The ladies running the place (Katrina and Chelsea) were legit and kept the place cozy and clean. Highly recommend your time in Mazatlan be spent at the Funky Monkey.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Very special hostel, it is more remind friend's house! I had a lot fun and you know what, I could not leave this place for a month!!!! Time just runned there! It is always something to do there: camping, fishing, surfing, pool parties, dinners cooked by hostel manager :)
I guess in this hostel there is a special atmosphere because of very special person, Salem! He is owner of this places and makes everyone feels like at home, he is organizing crazy parties and all fun! Thank you so much, please keep this way, you makes people happy in your place!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at Funky Monkey for 10 days. Initially the plan was to keep searching for waves south of Mazatlan but my first few days at FM were so much fun that I decided to stay there for the whole of my vacation. On arrival at FM I was impressed with the hospitality of the manager (Taylor) and of the owner (Salem). He was a great host and concierge as well. Enjoyed meeting people at the hostel from all over the world. Germany, Russia, England, Australia, Austria, Mexico,Israel , USA and the Puerto Rican (me) were all well represented by the guests travelers. Great group of people. We made great dinners, multiple beer runs, game night, party nights, salsa nights and more as a group. The pool at FM is the frosting on the cake. So freakin' refreshing and relaxing with the loungy beats by DJ Taylor (the manager). More importantly the price was right for my great experience at the FM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The funky monkey hostel is the bees knees. From the moment you walk in you can tell your going to have a good time. Relaxed and safe vibe with great staff and a really helpful and friendly owner. The pool is the icing on the cake so to say and that rooftop chill/grill area really just finishes it off! Recommend staying here hands down. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hostel is a super fun place. It is very clean and safe place. Hostel located at peaceful area. Beds are very comfortable, and not all of them are rocking. There are even orthopedic mattresses there and air conditioning.
Owner Salem is great, he takes care of all his guests. This hostel is not just a beds. Salem is backpacker, so he knows what backpackers need. He makes people’s stay at hostel very interesting. All people in hostel are very close to each other, so you will never feel alone, but at the same time you have a lot private space. Guests come here for a one day and stay for a week.
I stayed there for a one months and enjoyed it a lot. This hostel is just like a home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending Boxing Day and New Years at Funky Monkey! It's hard to explain, but it;s an amazing place where if you're not a dick, you'll make friends for life. It's really clean, the pool is amazing, Nigel and Salem are amazing--we miss being there.

We got one of the little apartments that was up on the second floor. The kitchen was the perfect size for us to make some amazing meals, and it had everything we needed. If not, just pop downstairs to the main house. The staff (your friends) are very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. Just ask if you have any questions, and they give surf lessons and have bikes for rent. When you're there you feel like you're hanging out at your homie's house, not at a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 4 dorm rooms, 2 of which have in-room bathrooms Rooftop terrace & lounge area Gated Parking for Motorcycles and adventure cyclist Swimming pool with waterfall 2 Communal kitchens Two indoor common rooms or living rooms Air conditioning in rooms durning summer Free cable TV, Hot showers, Lockers, On site dentist Seasonal massage therapists Spanish, yoga classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach. Close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous night clubs and bars.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Located in a quite and safe neighborhood = Lomas Mazatlan Has: Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best big game sport fishing is found right off our shores. A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a Zipline too. Amazing surfing. Quick Silver, Reef and other international surfing competitions happen here. Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year. Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th. Horseback back beach adventures and great ATV beach & street tours, ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.