We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mazatlan's Backpacker Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Funky Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
Funky Monkey Hostel
Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mazatlan's Backpacker Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Definitely stay here. Great staff, awesome vibe, comfy and clean accommodations. Fun activities. Perfect location, laid back atmosphere. Safe! Not to be missed. Like staying with family. I highly recommend staying here if you want to experience the real Mazatlan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
44
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I flew into Mexico solo and was picked up at the airport by Salem (owner). After 4 hours I randomly met the guys I'd be spending the next 3 months with. Super fun hostel with a really friendly atmosphere. Salem could not possibly have been more helpful. Couldn't have been a better way to start my trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Road tripping down from California into Mexico. Made this our first real stop. Loved it. Great atmosphere. Really felt like a home away from home. The hostel itself is actually a done up apartment with bunks, a pool, two kitchens, plenty of bathrooms and a great common area. Great crew. Very helpful. May take you a little while to find but completely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stopped by this establishment twice on my motorcycle trip through Mexico and Central America. The first time, it was a little hard to find, but when I finally arrived I was greeted by a very friendly staff and an awesome vibe. The place is pretty much the perfect hostel designed by an experienced traveler that knows what travelers are looking for. The second time I was passing through on my way home and knew I had to stop in. This time the owner was there and he is one cool guy! I arrived to a festive pool party and was immediately greeted with a drink and smiling faces. Loved it. Couldn't recommend it any higher.

Room Tip: There's a pool, and often a party to go with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great pool to chill out in, really friendly staff, amazing roof terrace. Great social / party vibe or can chill if want.

Bikes for rent for $4 USD. Recommend cycling down to the lighthouse. Good work out in the heat. 5-10 min walk from the hostel the beach and loads of restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the private room on ground floor next to pool, a/c, fan, private bathroom, fridge and small k...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We came for 2 nights and ended up staying a week. It's a beautiful place and we felt like we were staying at a friends house. Air con at night is great and cheapest hostel I've found. Great value for money. Owner and staff are awesome! Can't recommend this place enough. You must stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The best hostel i have ever stayed at. Very clean , comfortable , great swimming pool , friendly staff , cool people and close to the beach . Solo or with friends it s the place to be in mazatlan !!!!
I will definitely comeback to F-M.



thank you Salem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 5 dorm rooms Rooftop terrace chill area Gated Parking for Motorcycles Swimming pool with waterfall Communal kitchen Two indoor chill areas Air conditioning in rooms when needed Free cable TV Hot showers Lockers Spanish classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, its only a 15 minute walk to the beach and we are close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous clubs and bars. But still far away that you will never hear them from the hostel.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Mazatlan Has:Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best Marlin fishing A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a zipline too Amazing surfing. Quick Silver had their international surfing competition there in 2011 Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th Horseback back beach adventures Great ATV all day tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.