We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

Save Saved
You added Funky Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Hostel
Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went Mazatlan on a fishing trip and found the expensive Hotels not necessary. A friend recommended the Funky Monkey so we went to check it out not knowing what to expect. Needless to say we fit right in with the group of people already there from all over the world. Stayed the rest of our trip (5 days). The owner was very insightful and helpful, I will be forever grateful, he even gave us a ride to the airport. Went above and beyond!
I will never forget my experiences in Mazatlan and especially the Funky Monkey. What a fantastic place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothic, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went to the Monkey 'cause it was late and I didn't have time to make it to Stone Island. I was pleasantly surprised- the owner is a lot of fun and he makes sure everyone else is having a good time too. Lots of great people to hang out with, and it was nice to see some Gringos after being in the Mexican heartland for a few weeks. Good home-base for any surfers out there, and the guys at the hostel are active in street art and creative cuisine as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Funky Monkey hostel is a very comfy, yet cheap place. As the owner likes to say, it's a hostel made by a backpacker for packpackers. No matter from where you come or where you go, you'll feel just like if you were at home and surrounded by your friends. Great vibe, great people and great environment, It's definetely the place to be in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hostel is rated #1 in Mazatlan for a reason. All I can say is check it out yourself, and be prepared to be inspired, impressed, mesmerized, spellbound, captivated and charmed by Salem and his crew.

Honestly one of the best hostel experiences of my life, and that is coming from someone who has traveled 40 countries and lived in hostels on and off over the past 5 years.

Well done and keep up the good work Funky Monkey !!! :)

Room Tip: The private room is great for couples otherwise you can't go wrong with any of the dorm beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived in Mazatlan after a long and crazy trip in bus from Durango. It was so good to arrive in the Funky Monky hostel and slow down, relaxing next to the swimming pool. The hostel is an awsome house, very clean and comfortable! The people, specially Salem, were very kind and did everything to make us feel home! Tnx again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I'm so glad we were able to have you stay with us. It was a supper busy time here.
Its a shame you were only here for one night but hopefully we will see you again soon.
Thanks for the review and I hope your still enjoying Mexico.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After trepidation about whether driving to Mexico in the first place was a good idea and then finding the drive was much longer than I'd imagined, I arrived at the Funky Monkey hostel around 10:30pm - an hour earlier than expected. Guests let me in to the hostel and made me feel at home immediately - even invited me over for a drink and a game after I got settled in.
Salem, owner, arrived shortly thereafter, after having dinner out with several other guests. He proved generous, kind, funny, and outgoing. I immediately fell in love with the place.
I've been to Mexico on two previous vacations - the first in a palacial hotel in Playa del Carmen and the second in a resort in Puerto Vallarta. These first two trips pale in comparison immensely with this last trip.
Staying at the hostel was a thousand times more inspiring, relaxing, and colorful than any hotel experience could have been. I made friends, became part of the community for my week-long stay, and had travel / fun buddies every day. The hostel atmosphere was so welcoming that I actually spent two of my days just hanging out there all day - maybe just a run to the supermarket to plan the communal dinner for the night.
I felt very safe not having to lock up my things during the day or walking away from the patio table and leaving my phone on it for a while. Not recommending you do this, yourself, but the caliber of people that stay at this hostel is such that I was never worried about losing a thing while I was there.
Don't miss out on this experience thinking that a hotel will be more comfortable. You'll thank yourself (and hopefully me and the other folks that have rated the Funky Monkey) for making the decision to stay at the most amazing place in Mazatlan! And don't forget - you'll have SO much more travel money by not wasting it on a resort hotel.

Room Tip: Get the private room if you're a couple, for certain. If it's not available right away, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I'm so glad you came Erin and I know it will not be the last time we see you.
It was amazing meeting you. You are a great person and we all miss you. Hurry back soon please.
Thank you very much for your sterling review.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, México
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

is the best place around mazatlan, great to party, to spend an amazing time with ur friends ... hosts treat u like they know u lifelong, DON mascot is a real case, the pool is great, everything is relatively close to u ... n to be honest once u arrive u will not want to ever ... n if u once were n believe me will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. We all had such a good time with you and your group and thanks you everyone it was my best Semana Santa every. let do it again next time too.
Please come back a visit us soon.
Thank you :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico

Muchas gracias por haber elegido quedarse con nosotros. Todos nos lo pasamos tan bien con usted y su grupo y le da las gracias a todos que era mi mejor Semana Santa todos. hagámoslo de nuevo la próxima vez también.
Por favor vuelva a visitarnos pronto.
Gracias :-)

Don Mono
Propietario y Operador de Funky Monkey Hostel en Mazatlán México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 5 dorm rooms Rooftop terrace chill area Gated Parking for Motorcycles Swimming pool with waterfall Communal kitchen Two indoor chill areas Air conditioning in rooms when needed Free cable TV Hot showers Lockers Spanish classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, its only a 15 minute walk to the beach and we are close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous clubs and bars. But still far away that you will never hear them from the hostel.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Mazatlan Has:Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best Marlin fishing A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a zipline too Amazing surfing. Quick Silver had their international surfing competition there in 2011 Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th Horseback back beach adventures Great ATV all day tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.