We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hostel, great people and excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Funky Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
Funky Monkey Hostel
Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Sayulita, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hostel, great people and excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this spot online and the directions given on website were very useful since taxi drivers do not know the side streets well. We arrived at the hostel and were welcomed with open arms at the gate by the owner, Salem, who showed us around and let us choose our spot. We went for 1 of the private bungalow rooms next to the pool, it was clean, spacious and private. Salem was an amazing host, he took us all the have a cookout on the beach, out to nightclubs, to meet friends and showed us all around town. The only downside was the water issues at the house which have since been taken care of but Salem went out of his way to get us all a hot shower and make sure we were all as comfortable as possible. Great central location in safe neighborhood, great family meals available and enough to do within walking distance to keep you busy for weeks. We have recommended it to all other travelers we have come across and everyone has loved it, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It was such a pleasure having you guys stay with us and thank you so much for all the people you brought to the hostel by telling them about your stay. Also thank you for being so understanding about the water issue. It is Mexico and things do happen that we have no control of.
You are missed. I hope you have a great trip and please please come back and visit all your friends at Funky Monkey Hostel soon.

Don Mono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
44
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am a cycling tourist who went through Mazatlan and spent a week staying with Salem at his WONDERFUL hostel there. We went out dancing and to the Mazatlan Festival; I ran barefoot on the sandy beach every other day that is like a 10 minute relaxed stroll away from the hostel; I went swimming in the backyard swimming pool. Salem knows how to run a hostel for the comfort and relaxation of all. Definitely the best place to stay if you are in town!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Lucas :-) We all had a blast meeting you and a few adventures too. Like our adventure finding and trying brain and tongue tacos. Great time. Thanks so much for making those great videos too.
Good luck on your bicycle trip from Mexico to Panama, it sounds epic and I'm sure your going to have a blast and meet lots of cool people.
Come back soon mate.

Don Mono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hostel and it was awesome. I would definitely come back. The people were great and the place was very clean. There was purified water for guests. The owner gave us a personal tour of town and sights. The Hostel was in a great location, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Thanks for the awesome time! Weeble Wobble!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Weeble Wooble right back at you bro.
So glad to have met you and I know we'll see you back here just as soon as you can make it. Funky Monkey Hostel.
That was a fun day out touring the city. I don't get to do it often with our guest but I always have fun when I do.
Thanks for the David Sunflower Seeds :-)

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

To say this place was great is an understatement! I have been coming to Mazatlan for over 10 years and there have never been any real hostels until The Funky Monkey. All the other Hostels are actually hotels clamming to be Hostels. The staff was so friendly, helpful and caring that you feel right at home. The house is amazing with a wonderful pool and waterfall in the back yard with a gate opening to a beautiful local park. the house is very spacious and new with tall ceilings, lots of room, a cozy living room with cable TV and the internet always worked very good which is a pet-peeve of mine. They have a large selection of books that are for everyone's use and a big, overly equipped kitchen. The house was always spotless. There is a wonderful roof top chill area with hanging beds; a wonderful place to sun bath or watch the stars and have a drink. I would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Mazatlan. I had a great time and made lots of good friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your review Bella and for mentioning how much you enjoyed our staff. They are the ones that really make peoples stay at the Funky Monkey Hostel amazing so I love to hear complements about them and they really deserve it. Thank you :-)
We will always have fast wifi, its a pet-peeve of mine too, and now we even have Apple TV so lots of Netflix and youtube options.
I know we'll meet again.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found my stay in Funky Monkey to be one of the best hostels Ive ever been to, and I have ben in quite a few of them.
The atmosphere there was spectacular, both the staff and other guests were friendly, and after just a few minutes I felt like one of the group. There was common cooking, exchanging of stories, and good parties in Mazatlan.

I recommend Funky Monkey to everyone!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the sterling review Pawel.
We really try to make peoples stay as special as possible. After all we may only get one chance and its always a pleasure to make someone happy, especially when they are traveling the world and really are counting on enjoying themselves and the countries they are visiting.
So thank you so much for enjoying your stay with Funky Monkey Hostel and I hope the rest of your trip is even better.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed around 4 nights and I can say it was awesome. The place is really clean, is located near the main street in the city and near the coast so you can have a walk down the beach pretty easy. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable, common areas are big and very clean too. I totally recommend this hostel, mexican or foreign foes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Alex!!!! :-) So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Funky Monkey Hostel.
Thanks for the great review.
Don't be a stranger and please come back and visit us soon. Your not too far away to come more often.
I hope your Semana Santa was epic and maybe you can come for it next time. but please send me a message on our facebook page: Funky Monkey Hostel first because we fill up very fast.
See you soon my friend,

El Destello Blanco (inside joke)
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Talk about a great find!! Salem has an awesome place with a great feel! Just a short walk to everything. In a quiet clean and safe neighbourhood. This is now my destination of choice when I come to Mazatlan! Thanks Salem for everything! You are on to something great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_FunkyMonkey, Owner at Funky Monkey Hostel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Funky Monkey Hostel.
Its always great to read reviews like yours and know that people are enjoying all our hard work.
Please come and visit again soon.

Don Mono
Owner and Operator of the Funky Monkey Hostel in Mazatlan Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Cerro Boludo 112, Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 private rooms with their own kitchens, bathrooms and air conditioning for hot days. 5 dorm rooms Rooftop terrace chill area Gated Parking for Motorcycles Swimming pool with waterfall Communal kitchen Two indoor chill areas Air conditioning in rooms when needed Free cable TV Hot showers Lockers Spanish classes available Located in the best area of Mazatlan, Zona Dorada which means Golden Zone, its only a 15 minute walk to the beach and we are close to lots of amazing restaurants & all the famous clubs and bars. But still far away that you will never hear them from the hostel.There are also lots of smaller & cheaper restaurants within a few mins of the hostel and lots of tendeas or mexican convenience stores like and including OXXO. Mazatlan Has:Huge beaches and smaller hidden ones too Some of the best Marlin fishing A Tequila factory, La Noria, you can tour. They have a good a zipline too Amazing surfing. Quick Silver had their international surfing competition there in 2011 Turtle egg laying tours from June to November each year Whale watching research expeditions from December 15th through April 15th Horseback back beach adventures Great ATV all day tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.